about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 93222 May 24, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
65% of reviewers $790.48
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.24
8.81
7.8
145_small_1_

Specifications:
Focal Length: 70-200mm
Minimum Aperture: F22
Lens Construction: 18 Elements in 15 Groups
Angle of View: 34.3 - 12.3 degrees
Number of Diaphragm Blades: 9 Blades
Minimum Focusing Distance: 100cm/39.4 in.
Maximum Magnification: 1:3.5
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions Diameter: 86.6mm X Length 184.4mm
3.4 in. X 7.3 in.
Weight: 1,380g/48.7 oz.
Corresponding AF Mounts: SIGMA, CANON, NIKON (D)



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
jcw1982
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Sep 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1522
Review Date: Aug 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $889.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: nice build, good finish, overall very well made
Cons:
lens cap, would not focus

I bought this lens after debating Canon-Sigma for a long time. When I got the lens I was very happy with it........until I placed it on my camera. It focused one time and that was it. I tried numerous things trying to get it working--changed camera batteries, took lens off and put it back on, cleaned contacts, put it on a different camera body, etc, etc. Not only did the autofocus not work, the manual focus mode was out also. Sent lens back for refund.

Aug 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jcw1982 to your Buddy List  
Patrick Miao
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 4, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 4, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: $900.00

 
Pros: The lens feels real nice in your hands and the rings move smoothly. I also liked the fast focus and the sharpness of the image
Cons:
The lense focus locked up on me the day after I brought the lense.

I brought the lense yesterday to use it at the Hong Kong Dragon Boat Race in NYC. For the first hour, the lense worked beautifully, the focus was fast, the image was sharp and it was a pleasure to use. Then I experience the same problem that 450yamaha reported. The lense focus ring locked up on me. I could focus at all. I took off the lense and put it back on, I tried moving the zoom and focus rings, I turned the camera off and then on... nothing. I switched lens and finished the day with different Nikon zoom. When I got home, I tried the lense again and it worked fine. I don't know the reason for the problem (design issue or quality control) but I am returning the lense and sticking with Nikon. I can't take a chance with a zoom like this at a important event.

Aug 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Patrick Miao to your Buddy List  
Patrick Miao
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 4, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 4, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Well, I purchased the lens yesterday and used it today at the Hong Kong Dragon Boat Races in NYC. The lense was a pleasure to use for the first hour that I had it out but I experienced the same problem that 450yamaha had. The lens locked up in infinity mode and I could take any more pictures. I took off the lens and put it back on, I turned off my camera and turned it on, I turned the zoom ring and the manual ring several times to see if I could unlock it, nothing worked. I ended up taking it off and using another lense. When I got home later, I tried it again and this time it worked.
I love the way the lens feels and turns but I can't take a chance with it locking up on me again at a important shoot. I plan on returning the lense and buying a Nikon lense, I rather pay the extra money on a piece of equipment that I know will work when I need it. Sigma has to do a better job (I don't know if this is a quality control issue or a design issue).
From now on, I sticking to Nikon lenses.


Aug 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Patrick Miao to your Buddy List  
firewireguy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 20, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1436
Review Date: Jul 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Picture quality - great contrast and colours, build, fast focusing, internal zoom and focusing, weight, constant f/2.8
Cons:
none

I love this lens. I moved to it from a Sigma 70-300 F/4-5.6 DG Macro and it's just a world of difference.

The contrast and colours that come out of this lens are great and the constant f/2.8 is wonderful. It is sharp throughout the range too, even wide open. The build quality is top notch with a quality Sigma EX finish. It's reasonably heavy, but I find that it's easier to hand hold because of that. The focusing is very fast on my D50, as good as the Nikon AFS lens I own.

The lens cap is rubbish, but I can easily live with it for the quality of this glass and the images it produces.

The "macro" ability throughout the zoom range is great too, I love using this for picture of flowers.

Some examples:

http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=1735&g2_enterAlbum=0
http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=1733&g2_enterAlbum=0
http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=1742&g2_enterAlbum=0
http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=3455&g2_enterAlbum=0
http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=3487&g2_enterAlbum=0

and some portraits:

http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=2035&g2_enterAlbum=0
http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=2025&g2_enterAlbum=0
http://gallery.fwgx.co.uk/main.php?g2_itemId=2103&g2_enterAlbum=0


Jul 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add firewireguy to your Buddy List  
450yamaha
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 19, 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 20, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: update
Cons:
update

Well, and my Sigma drives me mad. I discovered, that it blocks focus on infinity whenever it wants. The only way to unlock it is to turn it firmly clockwise, and just after that counter-clockwise. It really works. I will wait till my guarantee ends, then I will send it to a shop where I bought it. However, it is still good enought to take pictures with it. These are just some of them:
http://tinyurl.com/36uvc8
http://tinyurl.com/3y2l9m
http://tinyurl.com/2qzkqu
http://tinyurl.com/38jlpe
http://tinyurl.com/3ced97


Jul 20, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add 450yamaha to your Buddy List  
TONY MARTIN
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 14, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: BUILD QUALITY, BOKEH, SIZE, WEIGHT OK FOR HAND HELD, QUALITY OF PICS WITH A 1.4X CONVERTER
Cons:
SLIGHT YELLOW TINGE TO COLOUR CAST SPECTRUM, MACRO NOT A TRUE MACRO AND MISSLEADING TO SOME MAYBE, COATING ON LENS PEELS AND MARKS TOO EASILY.

Nice lens with a good optical performance although the colour cast shows a yellow tinge.
Coating of lens is so thin it peels and marks far to easily along with the hood.
lens cap is the worst i have ever used and has already broke a pl-c
if you want a lens at a fair price with an above average picture quality and can live with the little higgles mentioned then go for it, i will be keeping mine mainly because nobody will want it second hand with the coating peeling.


Jul 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add TONY MARTIN to your Buddy List  
incdigital
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: Jun 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $735.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great price and value...its a sigma after all... Color and Contrast are excellent. Sharpness wide open is more than acceptable @ any focal length. Closer working distance is very nice compared to other 70-200 offerings. HSM AF is spot on with my 5D/1D.
Cons:
Build quality is very good but still not L quality...cant win em all. Focus and Zoom ring are a bit stiff compared to canon...have to use my whole hand to rotate vs canon where i can use a single finger to move the rings. Rings may loosen up after more use...only time will tell.

Got this on sale locally for a good price , so i bought it for my other camera body. I own the canon 70-200L 2.8 as well but wanted the closer focusing distance so i wouldn't have to switch lenses as much for a really tight close up. After a month of testing im more than happy. Overall much better than the older sigma 70-200mm models IMO which I have all tried at one time or another. *HIGHLY RECOMMENDED*

Jun 22, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List  
450yamaha
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 19, 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: built like a tank, HSM motor, manual override, sharp from F2.8, it comes with a nice pouch, excellent hood, great tripod mount (I can take it off when I dont need it), front does not rotate when focusing, it doesnt change its size when zooming, minimal focus distance 1 meter, EX series - I love da million little shining things :)
Cons:
the damn front CAP!! 77 mm, for some people weight

I purchased this lens as my telezoom for sport shooting (in general quads) for (in recount) about $900. When the nice red and black box came to me, I was very happy. When you open it, a proper black pouch shows up. Certainly, in it you'll find a lense (and a strap to the pouch).

My first sensation was like "wow, what a great piece of lens!". It is really well built, and in its casing youll find a millions of little shiny things. I just love the effect!

In some minutes Ive made some shots of my dog. I was just amazed how good this lens is! Here
you have two examples: http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/image/80875822
http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/image/80875824

AF works perfectly accurate and it's almost silent. It doesn't hunt in low light or so. Of course you can override it whenever you want.

The next day I went to a quadcross race. I took off my D70s and Sigma 70-200 and made some shots before the start. Everything is clear. I went to a start stretch, took off my camera again. they started. I had made some shots, then I started watching it. And what? First one was overexposed like I set +6 EV or so, and aparat of that one every pictures was horribly blurred! I started looking if I set everything as it had to be set. everything was ok. Than I looked at my lens. The Focus was locked on absolute infinity! I couldnt unlock it. Even when I half-pressed shutter, it was possible to hear, that HSM works. I couldnt unlock it also on manual focus. So I had to pack and come back. When I came back to home, and took out my lens.. it was fine! Everything was ok. I was so mad at it. I phoned to service and they said me they had not ever heard about similar accident........

Oh, and one more thing, I lost the front cap on the second race, it had to pop out when I was taking it off from my backpack. Shame that Sigma have't improved that thing.

At the second race, everything was just ok. Here are some samples:
http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/image/80740120
http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/image/80740121
http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/image/80740124
http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/image/80740136

Here is the rest:
http://www.pbase.com/norbert06/mx_wiecbork_17062007

Hope you like it.

Apart of the one accident and my lost front cap, I just love this lens Smile


Jun 22, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add 450yamaha to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG APO MACRO HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
40 93222 May 24, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
65% of reviewers $790.48
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.24
8.81
7.8
145_small_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3