about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 70mm F2.8 EX DG MACRO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 68757 Jun 8, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $438.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.24
9.55
9.7
139_small_1_

Specifications:
Lens Construction 10 Elements in 9 Groups
Angle of View 34.3 degrees
Number of Diaphragm Blades 9 Blades
Minimum Aperture F22
Minimum Focusing Distance 25.7cm/10.1 in.
Maximum Magnification 1:1
Filter Size Diameter 62mm
Dimensions Diameter 76mm X Length 95mm
29.9 in. X 37.4 in.
Weight 525g / 18.5 oz.
Corresponding AF Mounts SIGMA, CANON, NIKON (D), SONY, PENTAX


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
nivenu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 16, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10
Review Date: Feb 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb contrast and excellent sharpness Bokeh superb at full aperture
Cons:
None

Bought this lens to use mostly for close-ups of small products,
therefore, it is used under good lighting conditions. I also use
it outdoors for nature photography and it is equally as good.
I do not miss HSM as a lot of my work is MF.
The build quality is excellent and it comes with a lens hood]and lens case.
Cannot think of any bad points for this lens and it deserves a 10 imho.



Feb 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nivenu to your Buddy List  
Sprout Crumble
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 5, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 444
Review Date: Feb 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, comes with hood, value and the real killer;image quality thats just phenomenal
Cons:
Not internal focusing

What a lens! Just sublime quality and probably head and shoulders above anything else remotely in competition with it.

Yes, its not the quickest focusing lens in the world, like most other macros and internal focusing would be nice but only if it didn't compromise the optics.
Truth is, its designed to do a job and it does it perfectly. The 150/2.8 is a real standout macro lens but this tops even that. Canons 60/2.8 is also excellent and has IF, but its not as good optically and its crop only.

Congrats to Sigma on another winner. Standout product from a standout manufacturer.


Feb 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sprout Crumble to your Buddy List  
Andro Lesaca
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 26, 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Hyper sharp, beautiful color and bokeh, the focus limiter is very helpful.
Cons:
the AF when on full vibrates. There's a need to shift to MF to be able to make minor adjustments in focus. The barrel extends.

I love this lens because it works very well for the purpose I bought it for; and that is macro photography, mostly nature shots and wedding detail shots. It's marvelously sharp. The color is great. And the bokeh is nice and creamy.

On the downside, it's AF is really slow as it's not an HSM. Further, it's AF vibrates when it focuses from the longest end all the way to it's shortest extension. I notice that this usaully happens when I switch from shooting macro shots to normal range. But if I put the focus limiter on, the problem no longer arises. This problem doesn't really bother me as I use this lens 98% of the time for macro and in this mode I use MF most of the time.

In spite of the minor issue, I totally enjoy using this lens. It's output never ceases to stun, both myself and my friends.

I'm a Canon shooter and up until this lens, have purchased and used only Canon lenses. Although I have my reservations about this lens, it has definitely opened my mind to the fact that Canon does not have a monopoly on good glass.


Nov 26, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Andro Lesaca to your Buddy List  
JessicaLuchesi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 4, 2005
Location: Brazil
Posts: 337
Review Date: Sep 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Sharpness, very smooth bokeh, good construction, great for products and portraits. I found it to be very much equivalent to any good Canon L lenses.
Cons:
This lens is suberb, and should have HSM. It's not really needed for the Macro side of work, with products or food which stand still on the table, but since it's a great lens, and I also use it for fashion and portraits, I'd like it to have USM/HSM focus speed.

I purchased this lens, as a complementary lens for shooting food, and also, as a macro lens for still and jewelry shots. Well, after researching, I went to a store, and compared it to the Canon Macro 60mm f2.8 USM (EF-S) and Sigma 50mm Macro f2.8, and it won, hands down. The only close competitor on this comparison was the 60mm Canon EF-S, but being EF-S, it's restricted on a long term use.

But I was surprised to see this lens, not only performs beyond my expectations as a lens for food and still photos, but it also excels on portraits and fashion. The only downside, is that it lacks high speed autofocus, but it would add too much to the price tag. I honestly have no complaints, and I can feel the quality diference on my work already.

And I have handled some L quality lenses before. 70-200L f2.8 non-IS, 24-70L f2.8 and 16-35L f2.8, and this lens is pretty much on their league. Ok, it's a fixed prime lens, but from the idea I have been seeded around Sigma, that their quality is lower than Canon's L glass, I have to say, I'm mesmerized by the output I get from the investment. I guess I'll stick with this lens as one of my main work lenses for years to come.


Sep 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JessicaLuchesi to your Buddy List  
daliangr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 16, 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp,natural color,build guality
Cons:
none

excellent performance, IQ like leica lens

Aug 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add daliangr to your Buddy List  
b.castelli
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 14, 2007
Location: France
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: ultra-sharp, contrast, colors
Cons:
not HSM -> AF noisy

I put only 9 because of the AF (not HSM), but it's a macro lens, mostly used in manual focus. The long distance between 0.25m and 1.5m on the focusing ring permits very precise adjustments.

Aug 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add b.castelli to your Buddy List  
chickpiper
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 838
Review Date: Jun 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, colors are excellent, lightweight.
Cons:
none

This is a super lens for portraits. On a DX camera the effective length is 105. It is a macro and shows no distortion. My personal favorite.

Jun 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chickpiper to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 70mm F2.8 EX DG MACRO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
23 68757 Jun 8, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $438.50
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.24
9.55
9.7
139_small_1_


Page:  1 · 2