about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D Mark III

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
140 186674 Mar 27, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $3,709.91
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.73
8.63
9.3
1DmkIII

Specifications:
Canon's flagship EOS-1D Mark III is the most advanced EOS Digital SLR ever produced. It has a new 10.1 megapixel CMOS sensor (APS-H size) with Canon's EOS Integrated Cleaning System and a 3.0-inch LCD monitor with Canon's Live View technology. The 1D Mark III has a redesigned 100% viewfinder, a new 45-point AF system, and can shoot up to 10 fps continuously with a maximum burst of 110 shots. Dual "DIGIC III" Image Processors work in tandem to speed up every process while refining image quality; a new, lighter body has improved weather sealing and shutter durability. Every facet of the EOS experience has been enhanced with the 1D Mark III. It's the new standard.

- Entirely new 10.1 Megapixel Canon CMOS Sensor (APS-H size, 1.3x lens conversion factor), featuring the EOS Integrated Cleaning System

- World's fastest digital SLR: shooting up to 10 fps, with a burst rate up to 110 full-resolution JPEG images or 30 RAW images
- All new high-precision AF system with 19 user-selectable AF points and 26 additional "assist points"; superior low-light performance and faster operation

- New lighter body with enhanced weather resistance and outstanding reliability: featuring a shutter that's durability-tested to 300,000 exposures

- Dual "DIGIC III" Image Processors work with new CMOS sensors to produce superb image quality; new Highlight Tone Priority option adds control of bright highlights

- Large 3.0-inch LCD monitor, featuring Live View function

- Fully compatible with over 50 EF lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next
          
dallvr
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 84
Review Date: Aug 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best 1 series DSLR that I have owned. Better menus, easier and more logical controls. Great image quality and color fidelity compared to my 1DM2. I will spend much less time post processing with 1DM3 files. Better AF than my 1DM2. AIServo much better than 1DM2
Cons:
Would like to be able to easily save at least 3 sets of registered settings in camera.

I love this camera! I had an original 1D, sold it when I got the 1DM2. Had a 10D, then a 20D as smaller, lighter backup. When shooting both the 1DM2 and the 20D, I got better color with the 20, and had to work hard fussing with white balance of the 1DM2 raws to get the images to look like they came from the same shoot. Also, the 1DM2 gave me a fair number of OOF images even in 1-shot.

I've had no AF problems with the 1DM3. AIServo is fast and accurate. ISO 6400 is amazingly good. I am considering buying another 1DM3 and selling the 20D.


Aug 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dallvr to your Buddy List  
stelin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 22, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Review Date: Aug 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ especially on highlights Live view Ease of Use
Cons:
None other than price and weight

The IQ is noticeably better than my 1D2 especially the way it can handle highlights (with the highlight tone priority), and the general ease of use is much better too.
RAW shots straight out of the camera require much less adjustment too.
Live view makes architecture and landscapes much easier (as well as macros)

Other than price and weight (which to be fair are comparable to the 1D2 when I bought that) nothing negative to say.


Aug 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stelin to your Buddy List  
mervifwdc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 18, 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2095
Review Date: Aug 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Voice recording is now instant, regardless of how many images are in the buffer, battery life, low light iso noise (or lack of), and low light focusing seems better too.
Cons:
Would have liked to be able to pick the autofocus point using the joystick.

This is a super camera. I've been using a 1dMII for over a year, and have a 5d as a second body. I'm now thinking of getting a second MIII and selling the other 2 bodies.

I've been using the voice recorder to record player numbers in field sports, and previously would have to stop shooting for up to a minute if the buffer was full on the MII to let the buffer empty before it would record. On the MIII it will record instantly. I'm getting more shots per match because of this.

The new menu system is good too. Also the "My menu" where you can put your most regular bits, and quickly access them.

At a recent wedding, I shot all my raw's on multiple CF cards, and wrote small JPG's onto an SD card that I left in there all day. So nice!

I did'nt think the large screen would make much of a difference, but I have to admit that it does. You can see the image beside the histogram way clearer, and it's much quicker to steal a glance at.

Very Very happy customer.
Merv.


Aug 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mervifwdc to your Buddy List  
DonM2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 297
Review Date: Aug 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This camera could have been named EOS 2D for all its enhancements over the 1DXX series. I'm not a pro and don't even shoot hundreds of frames a week. But having an excess investment in Canon both film and digital for years as an amateur, including from the original 1D, 1D2, etc., the 1D3 is more than an incremental jump in the series. The high-ISO performance and battery improvements are alone enough to have given this machine a new model name. Lastly, the ability to make micro-focus compensation for up to 20 pieces of glass IN THE CAMERA is just --- well, what can I say. I saved the useful life of my EF 50mm f/1.4 with this feature!!
Cons:
AI-static is a non-issue. Brief diddling with AI-servo has given some 'tossers' but not enough that I'm calling my lawyer.

Sure, it would be keen if this cam cost half as much, weighed half as much, did everything but brush our teeth and tuck us in. We all said the same about computers back in mid-eighties.

Finally, I have shot stuff at ISO 6400 that is totally useful for record purposes. A year ago such a sensitivity rating by any vendor would be just, 'yeah, right!'

Don M


Aug 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DonM2 to your Buddy List  
IFeito
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2006
Location: Mexico
Posts: 124
Review Date: Jul 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image quality, Built like a tank, lighting fast shooting rate and AF, great high ISO, Live view is nice, micro af for lenses also good.
Cons:
Having to worry about AF issues, mine seems to work fine. Slightly heavy, but nothing major.

First of all a big thank you to the guys at Fotomecánica in Mexico City who managed to smuggle my order with all the big orders from news agencies and to the guys at Canon México who supported them.

Being my first 1 series I cannot really compare it with the previous ones, but I cannot imagine a camera working any better than this.

In a way it is the ultimate point and shoot camera; of course it does not have a "green rectangle", but in some modes it would seem like it does.

I've had no problems with the AF so far, if firmware 1.1.0 is supposed to fix them then I will probably never face one.

High ISO works amazingly well, it's amazing where you can shoot with a f1.4 lens and ISO 6400.

I haven't timed the 10 FPS, but it certainly would seem like you can achieve it with this camera, it's just fast, and like I said, the AF seems more than able to cope with that rate.

What else can I say? Live view works, specially with my TS-E 24 f/3.5, great for product and still life. Micro AF adjustment also seems like a very nice option.

All in all I cannot fault this great camera, sure seems like Canon have got themselves a winner.

Ignacio


Jul 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add IFeito to your Buddy List  
Mark Mervich
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 10, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Review Date: Jul 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 1.3 crop, high IQ, Lots of contol, high burst speed, large buffer, AF Microadj of lenses, high ISO shooting
Cons:
Large camera, high cost, possible AI servo hi burst speed focus problems

1D MkIII is a wonderful camera(at the price, that is to be expected). Image quality is more than can be expected from 10 mpix. High ISO works very well. Large LCD is useful. There are many ways to adj lots of things.

Jul 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mark Mervich to your Buddy List  
Hammerli
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1914
Review Date: Jul 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Upgraded battery system, typical 1 series build quality, improved spread of cross type sensors, much easier to navigate and read menus, overall speed. Canon truly has updated nearly every component, so in that respect I guess one could refer to the new model as evolutionary; of course in that same respect a P-51 was just an evolution of the Sopwith Camel. The totality of all the "incremental updates" results in a body that to me is a significant improvement. I'm glad they kept the 1.3x crop.
Cons:
No way to switch to home focusing point in portrait grip, similarly, no way to reconfigure "AF-ON" button to function as on the II/II N as a "switch to registered AF" button. Multi-controller can't be used to navigate AF points as on 5D/30D. No way to display a full image on playback with a histogram overlay.

I purchased mine over 6 weeks ago now, and wanted to wait until I'd had considerable field experience before giving my review.

First, as this seems to be the current hot topic, I have had absolutely no issues with AF on my 503xxx body. This includes about 50/50 AI Servo and One Shot usage in a myriad of conditions from several 100 degree blazing sun days to 50 degrees and heavily overcast. I've shot equestrian events, canine events, nature shots, family photos, macro; pretty much a little bit of a lot of scenarios. When reviewing sequences in AI Servo and comparing them to my MKII, MKII N and DsMKII sequences, I actually believe I have a greater keeper rate from the MK III. I must admit I have absolutely zero cat photos, no brick walls, and no postage stamps propped on a 2 liter bottle shot at an angle in mixed incandescent/fluorescent lighting, so maybe that is part of the reason I haven't had any AF issues. That isn't to discount the fact that some people do seem to genuinely be having AF issues, but as I said, I am not one of them, and I can't help but wonder how many of the problems are those coming from a Rebel/20D/etc. and aren't up to speed on the learning curve of the AF system the MK III employs.

I've been extremely happy with the IQ from the MKIII. While my 1DsII files obviously have a sheer numbers advantage in the resolution dept., I feel the MKIII files are better in every other respect. Colors, in particular fine tonal gradations, have better definition from the MKIII, and I don't feel the MKIII needs the expose to the right technique many seem to use with Canon DSLRs. I shoot RAW only, and the out of camera sharpness is slightly better than the IIN. Fine shadow detail is also held much better on the MKIII than any other Canon body. I chalk that up to the 14 bit capture as there are simply more tones within the small ranges one captures in the shadow areas.

Coming from a IIN and 1DsII, the handling is similar, although the weight loss, due primarily to the battery, is noticeable. The larger screen coupled with the redesigned UI means navigating the menus and effecting changes is now much easier. I've never been a fan of the AF-On functionality on the rear buttons, so it is disappointing that Canon has chosen to not allow the buttons to be configured as on previous models. There is no way to make the AF-On button a "return to home AF point" button, and the result is that in portrait mode one must reach across the body to the multi-controller for that function.

The new viewfinder/focusing screen definitely seems brighter than the IIN. I only wish they offered the grid screen in the new surface as well.

Overall I am extremely pleased with the MKIII. It is not without fault, but then it is unrealistic to assume Canon would make the perfect camera for everyone. The issues I have are minor and the general performance is the best of what is currently available. My other half has the 5D, and with the 5D and the 1DIII, we have what for us is the perfect(or as close to it as is currently possible) combination. I thought I wanted to get a 1DsIII, but after seeing the 16x24 prints from the 1DIII, I just don't see that need anymore. If I didn't already have the 1DIII, I'd get on a months long waiting list for one knowing that it performs as advertised.


Jul 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hammerli to your Buddy List  
uz2work
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 11682
Review Date: Jul 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best AF, in both servo and one shot, that I've ever used. Fantastic high ISO performance. Improved dynamic range. Beautiful files with need for minimal post work. More user friendly menus and controls
Cons:
none

I couldn't be more pleased than I am with the 1DIII. The files are beautiful. Whether it is the result of more pixels or the 14 bit files, there is noticeable improvement in dynamic range, and the need for post-processing is minimal.

In spite of problems reported by others, I find the AF system to be the best I've used and a significant improvement over previous 1-series AF, which I thought were great in their own right. Much of my shooting involves shooting fast moving action. I've shot birds in flight, running mammals, running humans, speeding autos, and jet planes flying at the speed of sound. They've been moving in every possible direction relative to the camera, and I've shot them in hot, humid, sunny conditions, and low light. Regardless of the situation, the 1DIII has performed flawlessly. I've generally preferred, in the past, using a manually selected focus point, and I've had more confidence in my ability to keep the focus point on the subject than I've had in the camera's ability to guess where it should focus. With the 1DIII, however, it does better, by far, in 45 point mode than any other camera I've used. Also, regardless of mode, if contact with the subject and focus are lost, it recovers focus better and more quickly than any camera I've used.

With the 1DIII, it is important to understand that settings and use do not transfer directly from those for previous 1-series bodies, and some settings that worked with, say, a 1DII, won't do well with the 1DIII. I've spent many hours doing controlled testing with various settings on the 1DIII. I've had others test those that seem to do best for my needs, and they concur that they work well. For those interested, I have an explanation of those settings posted on my website.
http://www.wildlifeimagesbyles.net/Technique/1DIII_guide/1diii_guide.html
Also, all of the pictures currently on the "what's new" page of my webiste were taken with the 1DIII.
http://www.wildlifeimagesbyles.net/What_s_New/what_s_new.html

In addition to image quality and AF capabilities, Canon has done a fantastic job in listening to what photographers want and how photographers wanted to see the 1DII (N) improved. The little touches, controls, menus, etc. make the camera a joy to use. And features such as the LiveView and ability to microadjust for each lens are just a bonus.

Les
www.wildlifeimagesbyles.net


Jul 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add uz2work to your Buddy List  
GarySteven
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Jul 10, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $4,750.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: It looks good. The advertisiments sound great.
Cons:
I feel the ISO seems to be false. 400 on the 5d is 800 on the Mark III. It is too quick to focus on low contrast areas rather than high contrast. Major focus and speed issues.

50% of the shots are out of focus. As compared to maybe .5% on my ID Mark ii, 5d or 20d. At 4.0 1/160 100 iso to 500 ISO (objects not moving) it looks like you are shooting at 2 seconds and 1.2. Not only do the images look blurry but they are double imaging. The worst part is now the weight has been reduced so as a boat anchor it is useless also.

Jul 10, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GarySteven to your Buddy List  
cocasana
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 1, 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 307
Review Date: Jul 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything! Iso, low light, speed, build, colors!!! Never had "err". Never had focusing problems with static or moving subjects. No AlServo problems at all!
Cons:
None so far. I would probably preferred the price to be lower

At least my copy is flawless. My previous camera, that I really loved, was 1DMKII.

Jul 7, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cocasana to your Buddy List  
graybeard
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 73
Review Date: Jul 6, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $4,449.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Stunning high is performace. One shot is spot on.
Cons:
AF AI Servo is useless. Backfocuses 90% of the time.

A professional photographer, sportsshooter member. Shot 2 events in one shot with jpegs (a flag dedication for a fallen soldier, and a July 4th parade). Turned out absolutelly great. Repeat absolutely great in One Shot. More than 905% keeper rate. High iso performance is where this camera really excels. Better than my backup 5D. Shot a sporting event in AI Servo (Rugby Sevens Tourney in 90F temp, overcast and 80% humidity). Experienced severe back focus issues and jumpiness of AF in general. AF Servo was unable to pick up and track subject from the git go. Used automatic point selection as I always did with my MIIN. A complete waste of time and money for sports. Sent camera to Irvine to adjust and will not accept AI Servo in this condition. Serial number 501xxx.

If you are stepping up from a lesser model P&S, be careful not to be overwhelmed by the other waspects of this camera. Make sure your AF Servo works as it is advertised. Mine did not and it went back to Canon until they get it right.


Jul 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add graybeard to your Buddy List  
Chris Radley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 5, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 45
Review Date: Jul 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, image quality, feel, anti-dust, lcd size, battery life
Cons:
None really

I bought this approximately 1 week ago as I was becoming slightly disillusioned with my previous Canon, an EOS 5D. The 5D was capable of really beautiful images but I've become really in need of a much more rugged camera which can shoot at high rates and also I was getting sick of vignetting on wide angle lenses and dust on the sensor.

I figured if I really need wide angle images I'll just use my Hasselblad film camera, which for me still knocks the hell out of digital and I wanted a rugged camera for travelling around China, where I am at the moment. Luckily my order came through the day before departing and after taking around 3000 shots so far all I can say is the camera is way way better than the 5D. Images are so noise free, I've shot from ISO 100 to 1600 and the noise at 1600 is similar to 200/320 on my 5D... astonishing.

The speed is incredible, autofocus is absolutely amazing, metering nigh on perfect each time and it feels correct in my hand. Ergonomics are superb and in my opinion the menu system is much easier than the mk2 generation of EOS 1 cameras and if anything much more logical than the 5D.

Can't recommend this enough. If you want the best in 35mm digital technology, this is right now the best by far. Just looking forward to checking out the 1DS mk3.


Jul 5, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Chris Radley to your Buddy List  
ckw
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 4, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 32
Review Date: Jul 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, build, performance - basically I'm not aware of anything better in any aspect (except size & weight - but even that's improved over the MkII
Cons:
One niggle - as one of the few who actually liked the joystick on 20D/5D as a way of selecting focus points, I was a little disappointed to see this functionality removed.

OK, its a lot of money. But you get a lot, and for anyone who earns money from photography this should be a sound investment. IQ is fantastic, the best I have seen straight out the camera. The time saved in post-processing alone make this a good buy.

Performance and build have been raved about already. Its all true, and I've not experienced any AF issues.

Battery life - remarkable. I let mine run to 3200 frames before charging (down to last bar, but not flat) - and with LOTS of chimping.

Best feature - 14bit images ... now I have had some time to experiment with the RAW files, I'm beginning to understand that this is a huge step forward. Its not just the out of camera quality - there is so much more scope for post processing.

This camera is much more than a makeover - I'm surprised Canon
did not release it under a new name. It takes digital photography to a new level, and there is simply nothing else in its class.


Jul 5, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ckw to your Buddy List  
Studio58
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 21, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 862
Review Date: Jul 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality,Preview screen, 14 bit, amazing AF, IQ, IQ, IQ, menu system, speed of all functions, ease of use.
Cons:
none

Incredible. As soon as I saw the white paper I got excited. Despite the negative AF reports I went straight out & bought one without even trying it. Canon have exceeded their previous models by a long shot. The image quality is amazing & the overall handling is fantastic.
I bought this as a backup to my 1DSMK2 but the MK3 will now be my main camera unless I need to go wide angle.


Jul 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Studio58 to your Buddy List  
RFMSports
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 11, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 426
Review Date: Jul 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: First off this camera is NOT an upgrade to any previous 1-series cameras. This is a new design from the ground up. Incredible speed and AF accuracy. My first shoot was a boat race and I shot well over 3000 photos and the keeper rate was the best of ANY camera I have ever owned. I was shocked and awed!! Menu navigation and camera setup is much easier than the MKII. Menu options and user control over the camera and what it does/doesn't do is unprecedented. There is nothing close to the MKIII.
Cons:
I find the grip design a bit "sharper" than my MKII. After 6 hours of shooting my had a bit tired, but I will get used to it. LCD resolution should have been increased along with the size, but again, very minor. I never judge my photos by the LCD anyway.

Incredible. Breathtaking. My first shoot with this new machine produced some of the best photos I have shot in my life. Yes, I read all the negative statements regarding the AF and was a bit nervous first time out. I found myself "chimping" much more often than I usually do.

The results are stunning. I can hardly wait to see prints from these 14-bit files! Out of over 3,000 photos there were less than 200 rejected due to focus issues. And 99% of those were attributed to me, not the camera.

One of the biggest plusses of the MKIII is the control the photographer has over the camera! Absolutely amazing. Canon really pulled out all the stops on the MKIII and answered with a camera with features we have always been asking for.

Color accuracy is stunning. Clarity, sharpness and focus accuracy is second to none.


Jul 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add RFMSports to your Buddy List  
susi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2584
Review Date: Jun 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Noticably lighter than the MKII and feels good in my hands. Excellent ISO performance! Love the silent shutter feature, large LCD and superb images right outta the camera!
Cons:
None that I have encountered

I shot a family shoot the day after I got the camera with the 24-105 lens and there were 197 keeps out of 210 taken and most of the images did not require any editing which was a nice surprise. The color and sharpness were splendid! The client is very happy with the gallery I posted.
Take a peek if interested in the shots.
http://susilawsonphotography.biz/layout/0001/gallery_view.cfm?g=104
I look forward to testing this action ability with an upcoming horse show.
Conclusion, I LOVE this camera!!


Jun 24, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add susi to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D Mark III

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
140 186674 Mar 27, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $3,709.91
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.73
8.63
9.3
1DmkIII


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next