about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D Mark III

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
140 187430 Mar 27, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $3,709.91
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.73
8.63
9.3
1DmkIII

Specifications:
Canon's flagship EOS-1D Mark III is the most advanced EOS Digital SLR ever produced. It has a new 10.1 megapixel CMOS sensor (APS-H size) with Canon's EOS Integrated Cleaning System and a 3.0-inch LCD monitor with Canon's Live View technology. The 1D Mark III has a redesigned 100% viewfinder, a new 45-point AF system, and can shoot up to 10 fps continuously with a maximum burst of 110 shots. Dual "DIGIC III" Image Processors work in tandem to speed up every process while refining image quality; a new, lighter body has improved weather sealing and shutter durability. Every facet of the EOS experience has been enhanced with the 1D Mark III. It's the new standard.

- Entirely new 10.1 Megapixel Canon CMOS Sensor (APS-H size, 1.3x lens conversion factor), featuring the EOS Integrated Cleaning System

- World's fastest digital SLR: shooting up to 10 fps, with a burst rate up to 110 full-resolution JPEG images or 30 RAW images
- All new high-precision AF system with 19 user-selectable AF points and 26 additional "assist points"; superior low-light performance and faster operation

- New lighter body with enhanced weather resistance and outstanding reliability: featuring a shutter that's durability-tested to 300,000 exposures

- Dual "DIGIC III" Image Processors work with new CMOS sensors to produce superb image quality; new Highlight Tone Priority option adds control of bright highlights

- Large 3.0-inch LCD monitor, featuring Live View function

- Fully compatible with over 50 EF lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next
          
2pio
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 10, 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 10
Review Date: Oct 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I love the speed, reactions, AF, ISO and build =) especialy with tokina lenses... Battery after 3300shots was at 33%... =)
Cons:
I will be concerned about Your nikon friends ;P

Built Quality is awesome... U don't care what are the circumstances... IT will survive it:

Woodstock Stop 1.08.2008, Kostrzyna nad Odra, Poland.
http://www.photojournalist.pl/photos/misc/photojournalist.pl_polish_photo_agency_press_0001.jpg
Tokina 12-24/f4 with 1D3 15mm/f4 x1.3 prime after U'll weatherseal it with tape... ;D

It is a masterpiece :D
I'v been using it since end of May... My girlfriend started to be jealous =) ^^ that I spend more time with camera sometimes not even working :P When U have it It's a pity that It isn't used 25H/7 (not 24 :P)...

The only disadvantage is that when it comes to speed Ur nikon friends (D3) will be always few shots behind... even in singe or silent shot...

Best Regarts and fun with it
Peter Dyba / photojournalist.pl
dyba.com.pl

ps. I'v changed the girlfriend ^^


Oct 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add 2pio to your Buddy List  
Psychic1
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 4508
Review Date: Sep 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,999.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lowlight Af, high ISO capability and silent shutter were major selling points, in addition to the dual cards and long battery life when compared to the 1D.
Cons:
The other photographers won't speak to me and I haven't touched the 1D, 5D and 10D since the 1DIII's arrival.

I called 1-800-OK-CANON five or six times during the first week of ownership because their is so much in this camera that one can adjust and tailor to ones needs.
I tested the AF system in 100+ degree beating Sun at the NY Jets training camp, a baseball game, a hockey game and a wedding and decided Canon had fixed any AF problems previously reported to my satisfaction.
I am beginning a new venture and all my photographers will be issued the Canon 1DIII and 24-70L.
The 1DIII is a great tool.







Sep 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Psychic1 to your Buddy List  
cdryall
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 19, 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great IQ from images even at higher ISO's,speed of operation, accuracy of AF, build, comfort in hand, incredible battery life, ability to customise
Cons:
Quality and sharpness of LCD, cant hide....

Perhaps I have been very fortunate as I bought this body some time back second hand, serial no 529XXX, upgraded the firmware to 1.2.3 and to be honest am blown away by the quality of the images I get from the camera and the speed and accuracy of the AF (and this is without any sub-mirror fix).

Admittedly I am just an enthusiast and no working Pro but living in a desert region and operating in very hot and challenging conditions I find the AF far, far better than anything I have ever used before. It makes my old 30D seem very pedestrian. Coupled with L lenses like the 300 2.8 IS with the 1.3X conversion, one gets a superb wildlife and sporting combo.

What I have noticed however is that my 3rd party lenses, even my very good ones like my 100-300 F4 Sigma just could not cope with this body's demands - and so all of them have now gone and replaced with genuine USM based OEM lenses. The only aspect I personally can fault is the LCD screen which is disappointing for a quality system like this. Often when I have reviewed photos in the field they appear soft but when I download these, it is virtually never actually the case!

One last issue which unfortunately can happen when you use such a body - you may find security personnel looking to limit usage as it is often assumed (well at least here it does) that you may be a Pro working without permission ;-)..

Some may say resale value could be an issue ahead. Maybe, but for me I am going to have this stunning body for a long time to come, its been a wonderful purchase I can recommend without hesitation...................


Sep 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cdryall to your Buddy List  
Dely
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 381
Review Date: Sep 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,399.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: New Menu System, High ISO, Improved handling (one hand), Incredible IQ, highly configurable (Custom Functions), new AF-On button, battery last FoRever, My Menu
Cons:
Perception which will affect resale value...

The 1DMKIII is one of the best DSLRs on the market today. Don't let anyone tell you any different. The IQ and High ISO capabilities are incredible. Canon also greatly improved the menu system and access to the most used functions compared to the prior models (IDMKII an 1D). I was hesitant because of the bad perception this camera has received due to much debated AF issues. However, I was able to buy locally at camera store so I was able to test my copy and put those fears to rest very quickly.

This camera probably will never get its due respect, but I am not concerned about that. I will be too busy using the camera for its intended purpose.


Sep 4, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Dely to your Buddy List  
nazdravanul
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 170
Review Date: Sep 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ ; build quality ; superb high ISO noise abilities ; amazing color
Cons:
1d series is heavy and cumbersome for a newcomer to the pack. But the IQ makes it all worthwhile. No Quick AF in LiveView Mode.

All I can say is WOW. It's amazing what this camera can do. First of all it will seriously kick 5D - 40D butt. And I mean seriously. 2 main things in terms of pure IQ : 1. the 14 bit RAWs from the 40D and this camera are simply not the same thing, even if they shouldn't be so far apart, they simply aren't in the same league 2. even though the 5d is an amazing camera, in terms of pure color rendition it doesn't stand a chance, and in terms of ISO performance, the 1d is definitely 1 1/2 stop better.
If you're a jpeg shooter, you cannot afford to miss on this camera : the 2 slot recording abilities means a smoother, quicker, more effective workflow, with constant raw backup. And the jpegs themselves, are incredible. If you're a clean, technical shooter, 85% of your photos are superb, out of the camera (with personal or camera Picture Styles, it doesn't really matter (:).
Mine is a 56xxx series, and it doesn't have (for the moment (: ) any static focus shifts, other AF issues or lens compatibility problems (my 35 1.4 L is not in yet, but with the 16-35 2.8 mk2 L, 85 1.2 mk2 L, 135 2.0 L , and 70-200 4 IS L it shows no problems whatsoever). Ok, I'm not much of an action shooter so I don't think I'll put the AF in AI Servo mode through the paces anytime soon.
But that's not why I bought the camera. The IQ is simply amazing, multizone metering coupled with spot on AF point is excellent, and ISO safety shift is what Auto ISO should be on the other EOS cameras with this feature.
I'm so sorry for the early (and not so early) adopters of this camera, it's not at all ok what happened to them . I wish they could all enjoy this camera as much as I do.


Sep 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nazdravanul to your Buddy List  
J. Allen
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 157
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Raw image quality is excellent in terms of dynamic range, color rendition and contrast. The files take a lot of post processing for various effects. 2 passes of low radius sharpening at .2 results in very crisp images. AF Servo is amazingly accurate. Extremely long battery life. Price was terrific $3,650 US delivered overnight.
Cons:
Complex interrelationship between several of the cfn settings and poor quality of documentation in the manual.



Aug 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add J. Allen to your Buddy List  
Caet49
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 6, 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 13
Review Date: Jul 27, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Image Quality Super Fast Construction - rock solid Ease of use - new buttom layout Cn funtions - easy as to customise
Cons:
pro grade camera so its expensive

This is a update

So now im been useing this camera for a while now and most say that im still impressed over it.

There has been many artikels about the fokus system, but Canon seems to have dealt with the issues and has cleaned the market for bad cameras.

What i realy love about it is the endless possibilitys to customise the camera for your personal needs.

Also the more i use it the more i realise just how nice it feels - the ergonomics of this thing is awsome, Button layout is in my opinion the best EOS 1D body ever - its just so simple and it feels natuale when taking pictures too ajust shutter etc wihtout the need for me to stop up and look where to press.





Jul 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Caet49 to your Buddy List  
JustForFun
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 23, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build Quality, Speed and Price
Cons:
Only have Manual Focus mode for Live View

I really thought long and hard on this purchase but when I was offered a brand new with serial no “57xxx” (firmware 1.2.3 installed) at refurbished prices, I just had to go for it.

This is an impeccably crafted piece of hardware that surprisingly feels lighter than it looks. For me, this DSLR is very intuitive (I have used both Canon and Nikon) and there is a good selection of custom functions to tailor for the shooting requirement.

First thing I tested was AI Servo and although I would not say that I have tested it rigorously, it’s so far, so good. No horror stories about AI Servo hunting on static objects here. The 19 selectable AF points are very logically located and it allows me to focus and frame subjects slightly off to the left or right, higher or lower. Also, I generally prefer to use the cross sensor as the focus point in AI Servo and have 19 of them all selectable is simply great. Speed is it greatest Asset and if this is what you need, this is the DSLR for you.

Image Quality for me is just slightly better to the EOS 40D but that is really good enough for most applications. Yet to begin with, the EOS 40D Image Quality is probably the best in its class. For my workflow, having the ability to write JPEG and RAW on 2 separate cards separately is really useful.

Overall, I am very please I made the decision to take the risk and I must really thank all the forums for blowing up on the AF issue and massive speculation on the “5D MkII”. I do think it’s hurting some Canon sales or otherwise, I don’t think some retailers will let go a new 1 series for US$3,200. (Only $300 more than a EOS 5D when it first launched). Unfortunately, with limited finances, I had to bypass a brand new EOS 5D that was also going for US$1,400.

Some lament that Canon users are having a hard time. I think otherwise I have never gotten so much “bang for bucks” for my camera gear.


Jul 24, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JustForFun to your Buddy List  
AdamHoej
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 18, 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 135
Review Date: Jul 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Quality
Cons:
People look alot at it!

I went from 40D to this badboy, and im already in love! Nothing more to say!

Jul 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AdamHoej to your Buddy List  
Len Scover
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 19, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8
Review Date: Jul 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
Dioptre adjustment range.

Been shooting Nikon 18 yrs, but not anymore! Traded a D3 for this monster.
Whoohah!! what can i say about this baby, i picked it up from the mail depot last night and havent put it down.
Focus problems? No way hozay. Its incredible, im looking for ways to fool it and it just knows what i want it to focus on, how does it do that????
Ive still got a lot to learn with this new layout and custom functions so will post a real review after im familiar with everything.
Auto ISO like D3 is a god send, probably the best custom fuction available, its something once youve had you could never do without. Never miss a shot having to change ISO
Nikon D3 maybe ISO king until 5D mk2 comes out but you need more than that!
Bought the 24-105 and the 70-200f2.8 IS to go with this machine gun, what can i say? I'm in image making heaven, ive seen the light, hallelullea!!!
Will keep y'all posted gotta go.


Jul 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Len Scover to your Buddy List  
feharmat
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 28
Review Date: Jul 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautifully designed, quality-oozing body, excellent .JPG/RAW image quality, very responsive and accurate in every step of the way.
Cons:
You can not store (on-board) live-view video, limited on-board NR user-settings, LCD color-reproduction is not accurate enough for deep/tough color evaluation.


After owning and operating two (2) bodies for over 7 months (blue-dot and non-blue dot), below is a summary of these bodies' performance:

1. Image quality: the cam's imaging engine produces vivid, contrasty and sharp .JPGs all the way up to ISO3200, albeit with slightly more conservative sharpening and a slight decrease in saturation as you reach ISO3200 (it is the way it has been implemented, though). However, detail is very well conserved, and you can pull out tons of it from ISO3200 on your post-processing bench. Now, from .CR2 raw files, you can extract all the detail and color you want, at any ISO speed, especially if you profile your cam correctly (in Lightroom/ACR, for instance).

2. Responsiveness/Speed/Focusing: This camera clearly performs better than my previous (and wonderful) 1D2/1D2n bodies. Focusing speeds are *dramatically* increased, specially in OneShot mode, where the cam will travel all the way from focus-acquisition to focus-lock in basically no time (accurately), allowing you to capture scenes that will take you completely off-guard, even if you forgot to set servo. Now, in AI-SERVO, these 1D3 bodies operate with clearly more precision than our 1D2/1D2n, based on the increase of keeper-rates that we have experienced on equivalent scenarios. On simple, static subjects, our former bodies' AI-SERVO seemed a bit more erratic/jumpy, whereas the 1D3's focus just stays put and locked. Focusing-and-tracking on a dark-subject against a bright-background, as well as low-light focusing, are two key areas that have been significantly improved with respect to our 1D2/n.

3. Body design and operation: this cam just looks beautiful from every angle, it handles wonderfully, it is easy to use, button layout is simple, the weather-sealed Joystick is a WONDERFUL feature during OneShot or AI-Servo operation, and menus are very well organized. In contrast with the 1D2/n, the custom-menu functions allows us to group some key functions such as AF control, battery, dynamic range control, exposure and sensor cleaning, allowing you to immediately prepare or adapt the cam. to any shooting circumstances and forgetting, for the most part, about everything else. Combine this menu, with AutoISO on TV mode, as well as Aperture Value Range, and you have a perfect "PJ" mode that you can control at will (perfect for street/social/events and unpredictable indoor/outdoor lighting changes).

In summary, this is the very best all-round 1-series we have owned, to date. The only thing that this cam needs is more granularity on its NR engine configuration (for outputting .JPGs that may require so), and on-board capture of LiveVideo, which would allow you to bring the best out of everything this camera already has to offer).

Load any (and wonderful) EF 24-105 f/4L IS, EF 70-200 L IS (f/2.8 or f/4) or longer, and get ready for some serious fun!

Enjoy!




Jul 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add feharmat to your Buddy List  
genefixer
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 22, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 6419
Review Date: Jul 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,049.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: built like a brick s@#$house! AF is rapid and accurate including for those elusive soaring birds. Battery like excellent. Colors dead on and so realistic.
Cons:
none that are worth mentioning

I have had the 30D and 40D and now after only a weeks or so and 550 clicks I can see why those that have had the 1D experience state that they will never go back. I was concerned that the camera would seem bulky and heavy compared to the 40D. Wrong it just feels right and the shooting vertical is now not an issue. The layout of the buttons is excellent. The noise at high ISO even 2000 is not readily apparent with a bit of light. It grabs on focus wonderfully even using the 1.4X extender on my 400mm DO IS. And be careful setting it on rapid fire. one little touch and you have taken 3 frames. LOL. If you have heard about AF problems well I have experience nothing. There is a ton of flexibility in terms of setting up custom functions and the ability to lock in these settings in My Settings is great. Well read other reviews by those more experienced than I and then go out an get one!

Jul 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add genefixer to your Buddy List  
James_R
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Jun 12, 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jul 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fastest AF currently available, incredible low light AF, crystal clean ISO's, incredibly configurable, bright color correct LCD, super battery life
Cons:
None

in 6 years of shooting digital, this is the best DSLR ever made, and I've used many.

Nothing touches this camera for low light af speed. ISO is super clean across the board, and colors are incredible! 14 bit really does help.

Built like a tank with superb button layout and no button clutter like other brands (that start with N *cough*), and the LCD is the best I've used on any Canon camera. Finally, color accurate and useable in daylight. LOVE IT!

I challenged my friend to bring his D3 out for a day of shooting, and it almost kept up except for a couple of problems. When doing bursts, he kept running into the end of the buffer, while the MKIII kept on shooting. Also, in low light, the MKIII would focus so fast that I would often swear I missed a shot.... but didn't. Here is where my friends D3 failed miserably. It would hunt, and quickly just give up!

Anyway, I'm super excited about this camera, and can't wait to use it more. I do wish it was 12MP instead of 10MP though. It won't make difference in print, but for things such as stock, and cropping, that extra 2MP sometimes is a nice extra.


Jul 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add James_R to your Buddy List  
luke.price
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 12, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 41
Review Date: Jun 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Autofocus, burst speed, build quality, my menu, viewfinder..... the list goes on
Cons:
None so far. Fingers crossed for the future.

Coming from 30D then 5D. I finally made the step up to a 1 series!
I used to run a battery grip on the 5D so the size was comparable, but the build quality is on a whole new level with the 1 series.
The AF is the biggest change, I initially thought that it was a little more limiting on the 'auto' autofocus i.e. all points available, you basically get a ring, but actually all points are there when you focus. The camera actually seems to be more intelligent than the 5D too. Almost always opting to select focus on animals eyes rather than their noses.
The high speed burst is great too, but I think its going to be the amazing autofocus that will keep me happy for the longest time.
The high ISO noise is so much better than the 5D also, I would very rarely shoot higher than ISO200 on the 5D... but I actually spent a reasonable portion of yesterday shooting at 400ISO with quality akin to 125ISO on the 5D. I've certainly no complaints when it comes to image quality.
Another quick mention is the viewfinder - to my uncalibrated eye it appears to be even larger and certainly brighter than the 5D with its full frame.


Jun 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add luke.price to your Buddy List  
Caet49
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 6, 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 13
Review Date: Jun 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intuitiv, build Quality, processesing Speed, New Fokus system, Custom settings.
Cons:

Comming from my Old Eos 10D to this model has been mindblowing! The way this thing can process a picture while still giving me the possibility of taking a new picture is stunning compered to the Eos 10D.

Picture wise - it a Canon, it will give you vidvid pictures out of the box, the Quality is stunning and there is significant more pictures that i keep when shooting with a high ISO setting.

Overall its a really expensive camera - but now about a Week aften purcase i can see that it is all the money worht.

YEs Nikon does make a superb camera "D3" but so does Canon so there is no reason for me to leave.



Jun 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Caet49 to your Buddy List  
scjurgen
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 18, 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 2
Review Date: May 18, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Very versatile software, enhancing with WI-FI without problems. Excellent battery life, viewfinder top. Quick start up. Optimum usability for all functions you need during a shooting session.
Cons:
Reliability (2 repairs in 3 month because of shutter failures)

My second repair, shutter blocking after 7000 shots with an ERR99 (Error 99 is a generic error). It's the second repair now and that p*** me really off. I really CAN NOT recommend this body because for that price tag I expect real perfection. I can forgive a first problem. But not a second. 2 shooting sessions aborted, what will be next?

Anyway, when it works it is awesome to work with.


May 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scjurgen to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D Mark III

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
140 187430 Mar 27, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $3,709.91
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.73
8.63
9.3
1DmkIII


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next