about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon D200

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 81941 Nov 25, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $1,504.25
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
9.21
9.1
NikonD200

Specifications:
10.2 effective megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD image sensor

Image sensor features high-speed 4-channel data output and a newly developed Optical Low Pass Filter

Advanced imaging processing engine with color-independent pre-conditioning and digital image processing algorithms that achieve fine color gradations with exceptionally smooth, consistent transitions

Newly developed 11-area AF system with selectable 7 wide-area AF mode and effective new focus area options

3D Color Matrix Metering II with 1,005-pixel RGB sensor ensures accurate exposure control and white balance

New image optimization modes help produce results more closely matching the intended results

Near-instant response with 0.15 sec. power-up, 50-millisecond shutter time lag and 105-millisecond viewfinder blackout

Fast 5 frames per second in bursts of up to 22 consecutive NEF (RAW) or 37 JPEG (Fine-Large) images

Shutter speeds ranging from 30 to 1/8,000 sec. for full creative control

Creative in-camera Image Overlay and Multiple Exposure effects

GPS support for recording location-specific information along with shooting data

Large 2.5" LCD monitor with ultra-wide 170į viewing angle for clear image preview and easy access to settings and information, including new RGB Histograms and the new Recent Settings list

Large new top LCD panel displays a wealth of information on settings and shooting status

Lightweight, durable magnesium alloy body protected by enhanced sealing system

Large, bright viewfinder offering 0.94x magnification

New high-energy EN-EL3e rechargeable lithium-ion battery delivers the power to shoot up to 1,800 pictures on a single charge, and provides detailed battery status information (Battery life figure determined by in-house test parameters)

Optional MB-D200 battery pack extends shooting capability, enhances stability, and provides the further shooting potential of added controls

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL flash control and full support for Nikon's Creative Lighting System

Support for the Wireless Transmitter WT-3 enables direct cable-free image transfer to a compatible computer

Includes Nikonís PictureProject software for easy control over image adjustment and management

Supported by Nikon Capture 4 (version 4.4) software, which fully unlocks the extensive potential of NEF (Nikon Electronic Format)

(more...)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
       †††
Drax240z
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 28, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 76
Review Date: May 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,625.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solid feel, tons of features, ergonomics are supurb, weather sealing, button layout, excellent LCD, and bang for buck. All hard to beat. It takes some nice shots too!
Cons:
Hard to say anything bad about it... in camera stock sharpness is a bit soft, but it's adjustable?... Kindof reaching here.

It's the camera I've been dreaming about for years. Seriously. Affordable, and capable of everything I want and need. I have a hard time saying anything bad about this camera. It's potential far exceeds my skills, and I think that will always be the case, even as I improve with it. It just has that much potential.

The ergonomics and button layout just blow me away. It feels like it was made for my hand, it feels solid, professional, and robust. The LCD is fantastic. The features are very wide spread and comprehensive. The image quality is what you'd expect from a professional digital SLR... because that is really what you are getting.


May 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Drax240z to your Buddy List  
tmozey
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 256
Review Date: May 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: 5fps, intuitive controls, build, and much more
Cons:
Noise at high ISO, but this is my first real digital, so I have nothing to compare with except the film I've shot at high ISO.



May 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tmozey to your Buddy List  
chickpiper
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 838
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Ergonomics is great. Plenty of menu options for all types of shooting. A versatile battery pack that will accept AA batteries of all types. One of the big surprises for me was the purity of the colors with no fringing, possibly due to the CCD design.
Cons:
Viewfinder is not 100% coverage.

A beautifully crafted camera full of options.

May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chickpiper to your Buddy List  
gatchaman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 4, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 271
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sturdy/Strong build. Feels good in hands. Wireless flash capabilities. Excellent price for "pro-quality" 5 FPS.
Cons:
battery life a little heavy, but one adapts easily

Best camera I have ever used or had.
Great for outdoors work. You can rely on the weather seals.
White balance is almost perfect--I don't even mess with it.
Metering is almost perfect also. Which, in turn produces some great real-to-life colors.
Battery life is decent, I get about 1000 images on a full charge.
I'm confident that this DSLR will be the first and last camera that I will ever have to buy.


May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gatchaman to your Buddy List  
paulboes
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 13, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 94
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,699.99

Pros: Sealed body, Great Colors, Fast Auto Focus, and Big LCD
Cons:
Plastic cap for the remote trigger and Battery Life

Build like a tank and having a sealed body is a great deal for $1700.00 USD. Fast auto focus, great colors, and lots of features for the buck. I bought the grip with it, and it is a well fit grip unlike the Canon 20D which was my previous camera. I love the grids in the viewfinder which helps keep everything level to the horizon. The big bright LCD is a big bonus. Overall the camera is a great buy, and I switch from the Canon 20D to the Nikon D200 for a couple of reason. One reason is GLASS. I think Nikon still has better glass than Canon. Second reason is itís sealed body for all weather conditions you may face. I take a lot of pictures outside, so I want something that will hold up.

The plastic cap for the remote trigger gets lost easily. Nikon says you get 1800 shots on a set of batteries, but I donít know where they got that figure from. You must have to shut- off the feedback from the LCD and illumination on the top screen. 10.2mp creates a big dust vacuum collector on the CCD, but not as much as the CMOS senors.


May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add paulboes to your Buddy List  
paulboes
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 13, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 94
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.99 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build like a tank and having a sealed body is a great deal for $1700.00 USD. Fast auto focus, great colors, and lots of features for the buck. I bought the grip with it, and it is a well fit grip unlike the Canon 20D which was my previous camera. I love the grids in the viewfinder which helps keep everything level to the horizon. The big bright LCD is a big bonus. Overall the camera is a great buy, and I switch from the Canon 20D to the Nikon D200 for a couple of reason. One reason is GLASS. I think Nikon still has better glass than Canon. Second reason is itís sealed body for all weather conditions you may face. I take a lot of pictures outside, so I want something that will hold up.
Cons:
The plastic cap for the remote trigger gets lost easily. Nikon says you get 1800 shots on a set of batteries, but I donít know where they got that figure from. You must have to shut- off the feedback from the LCD and illumination on the top screen. 10.2mp creates a big dust vacuum collector on the CCD, but not as much as the CMOS senors.



May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add paulboes to your Buddy List  
sonton2003
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 145
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fantastic camera
Cons:
none

Fantastic camera, I sold my canon gear and bought this with the 18-200mm. Skin tones are wonderful and focusing is fast and sharp, I couldn't ask for any more.

May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sonton2003 to your Buddy List  
virtuamike
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 328
Review Date: May 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: It's built solid. I love the viewfinder compared to the D70, and the image quality is a huge jump in quality. Highlights hold together great and tones are very deep and accurate. The camera itself handles smoothly and the AF is responsive. It's not quite as fast as the D2h/x but at least it doesn't feel sluggish like the D70. The feature set is massive (memory banks are great), and you get almost the same functionality as the SU-800 with the built-in flash.
Cons:
Nit picks really. The AF sensors are oriented too close to the center. Also the far sensors aren't as accurate as the centor sensor. The rubber on the front sometimes causes the sub dial to stick. The viewfinder doesn't provide full 100% coverage, and you'll probably need at least 2 batteries to get through a full shoot.



May 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add virtuamike to your Buddy List  
andylaiphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2871
Review Date: May 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Large viewfinder, great ergos, huge LCD, almost all the pro features for much less money.
Cons:
Battery Life, sensor issues, AF point layout, AF hunts in lowlight.

This is a good alternative for those that long for a camera with a "pro" build on a budget. Although this camera on paper is almost everything the D2X is for much less money, I personally don't feel it's even that much of an upgrade from the D70s in use. The only difference to me is the obvious build difference and ability to focus manually via the nice large viewfinder. Although it's a great camera I never have the feeling of excitment when using it like some other cameras.

For those looking to upgrade from the D70s think hard before you do it. For those in need of a backup for their D2X it's not a shabby piece of kit.
As a first camera it's a hell of a deal.


May 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add andylaiphoto to your Buddy List  

†††



Nikon D200

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
41 81941 Nov 25, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $1,504.25
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
9.21
9.1
NikonD200


Page:  1 · 2 · 3