about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
349 542798 Feb 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.88
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  20 · 21 · 22  next
          
spawnofbill
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jan 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp, bokeh is very nice, cheap as hell! great color, 1.8 is incredibly useful in low light, did I mention it was cheap!
Cons:
narrow DOF, doesn't track moving objects very well, plastic mount, no distance window, flare (ok, I was shooting in a theater straight up into the lights, but hey)

One of Canon's best bang for your buck, this lens is a great portrait lens on a 1.6 body, providing an exquivalent of 80mm. Really glad I got this lens since I do a lot of low light work with fast moving people. (theater, indoor sports)

Jan 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add spawnofbill to your Buddy List  
CurtPick
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3260
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light , compact, cheap in price, sharp as sharp can get
Cons:
Plastic body, no range window like the Mark 1, plastic mount

I would rate this lens an equal to the USM 1.4. I could see no difference in quality of shots and sharpness. The bokeh is awe inspiring. At $69.00 U.S. this will please all who buy it. Although its made of plastic, the glass is outstanding. This little baby is close if not equal to an L lens. Buy it ! You will not be dissapointed !

Jan 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CurtPick to your Buddy List  
mateo_
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 27, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 688
Review Date: Jan 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent optical performance for the price, good focal on 1.6x sensors
Cons:
LENS HOOD, AF, focus ring, very cheap build

I have very mixed feelings about this lens. Everything's pretty much been said about this lens already- great optics, crap build. Some of my best shots have come from this lens, and it has been an invaluable learning tool for getting my "feet wet" in photography. The optics are great, and it may be a little soft wide open but it's not that big a deal. @ 2.8 or above it's as sharp as can be. The bokeh is bad, but that's only because I own the 135 f/2L and so I've become a bokeh snob Wink.

What aggravates me to no end about this lens, and why I'll be happy when I get rid of it, is the build. I guess I'm anal when it comes to this sort of thing, but I can't help noticing how bad this thing is put together. The body and mount are plastic; I don't mind this part too much. The AF is loud and somewhat high-pitched, the focus ring and switch so small, and the movement of the focus ring really gritty. The kicker is the lens hood- you need an adapter ring for an awkward hood that kind of clips on. This clipping mechanism is so poor that it's nearly impossible to easily reverse the hood if you need to. My biggest pet peeve is that the hood adapter is made of some metal, I think, well something different than the plastic- when the hood rotates, rubbing against the adapter, or when you go to screw in the adapter, you can easily make a sound like that of nails on a chalkboard. I just really don't like the whole set-up.

Final thought: this is an optically great lens, but do what you can to swing for a 50/1.4, or one of the 35's. You probably will love using it a whole lot more, and physical usability is IMHO just as important, if not more important, as optical usability. Whichever one you get, stick it on your camera and keep it there for a while.


Jan 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mateo_ to your Buddy List  
chounchai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 9, 2005
Location: Thailand
Posts: 13
Review Date: Jan 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $98.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very valuable when compare the result with price. Sharpness is good @ wide open and better stop down.
Cons:
Look cheap (which better to forget about it), fair boken

This is a lens that I just bought it because it so cheap, very rare to use it but every time I use it always got good result.
Just see some interesting here.
http://www.pbase.com/chounws3/mural_painting_in_thai_temple


Jan 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chounchai to your Buddy List  
armbrust
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Review Date: Jan 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cost, sharp, fast, weight
Cons:
Plastic and flimsy, MF ring, AF noise, bokeh, contrast

This lens is a must have for a starter kit. It is fast, sharp, it doesn't weigh much, and it is super SUPER cheap. You can't buy anything cheaper...and this lens will serve you well. If you are thinking of doing any low light photography indoors, this lens is a champ. The pictures require a bit of post processing from my 20D to get the POP factor..but that aspect is waiting in every picture. One gripe is that the bokeh can get "clumpy" at times which can be somewhat unattractive in pictures.

Jan 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add armbrust to your Buddy List  
vk2109
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 5, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 151
Review Date: Jan 5, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Cheap, light, fast lens
Cons:
Noisy, Very Slow, medium bokeh at F1.8 and a bit soft

This a nice lens, which might help you in low light situation.
It's priced at a vert good price but don't expect from that lens, amazing results. For 70$ you get good shots. Nevertheless it is quite slow to focus and it's really annoying. Very soft from 1.8-2.8 unfortunately


Jan 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vk2109 to your Buddy List  
Koontsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 24, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 142
Review Date: Dec 26, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight, Sharp, Fast
Cons:
Build Quality(Plastic)

This is a great lens. Probably one of the sharpest that I have. The 1.8 aperture is also great for holiday shooting without a flash and other indoor work. I am very pleased and would recommend this lens to anyone.

Dec 26, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Koontsa to your Buddy List  
Alex53
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 6, 2004
Location: Gibraltar
Posts: 1583
Review Date: Nov 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Sharpness (f/2.4 onwards), weights nothing.
Cons:
Plastic mount, but what do you expect for $70!

There are better lenses than this, but all of them cost five times more at least. At this price it is a 'must try' before getting anything else, because if it does the job for you, you will have saved a buck.

Makes a good portrait lens on 1.6x crop cameras.

Wish Canon made a mark 3, exactly the same but with a metal mount and a slightly better focusing ring.



Nov 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alex53 to your Buddy List  
dennislrz
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 9, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 209
Review Date: Nov 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, sharp, price and price again...and weight.
Cons:
None, considering the money spent.

This lens produces very sharp pictures! Great for portraits. The plastic build doesn't bother much, as this lens is very small and lightweight. Build acctually feels decent.
The background blur is of course not of the same 'creamy' quality as lets say that of the 24-70L, but still for the low price you can't ask for more.
Everyone should have one!

Dennis L.


Nov 10, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dennislrz to your Buddy List  
choochoo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 483
Review Date: Oct 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $65.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, small, compact, lightweight, fast, very inexpensive (cheap), good AF speed
Cons:
Cheap plastic build, cheap plastic mount, buzzy AF motor, focus ring very cheap feel and bad ergonomics, slightly clumpy bokeh

Excellent cheap lens to have around, especially for street shooting. You dont' have to worry about it attracting attention. The buzzy AF motor is a little annoying, but nothing terrible. Sharp lens, f1.8 a little soft, f2.8 and on very sharp. On a 1.6X crop camera, you can use it as a head&shoulders portrait lens. Bokeh not as smooth as the 50mm f1.4. But, with photoshop, you can smooth it out. Very high performance:price ratio. Wish Canon would just build it with a little higher quality platic and a metal mount. The Minolta and Nikon cheapo 50mm lenses blow this out of the water in this respect even though they're only slightly more expensive. But in the end, this is a good lens at a great price.

Oct 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add choochoo to your Buddy List  
mjmetts
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 3, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1516
Review Date: Oct 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even wide open for such a cheap lens. I really can't find much to complain about. Most reviewers complain of the build quality but it exceeded my expectations for the price.
Cons:
None, considering the price.



Oct 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mjmetts to your Buddy List  
dlselvidge
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 186
Review Date: Oct 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp, light, fast, inexpensive
Cons:
no USM, cheap construction, no DOF scale

For the price, this is a must have lens.

It doesn't have USM, so the focus can be slow and it does hunt occasionally in very low light. The motor noise can be obtrusive at times. From the look and feel of it, the lens might fall apart if you lok at it wrong, but I have had no problems so far.

If you want USM, solid feel, extra 2/3 stop, etc. by all means spend the extra money and get the f1.4 .


Oct 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dlselvidge to your Buddy List  
sweyand
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Oct 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $83.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap f-stop, best buy for the price
Cons:
none for the price

A must

Oct 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sweyand to your Buddy List  
njezzo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 16, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 23
Review Date: Sep 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: PRICE and QUALITY
Cons:
no USM

This lens is just awesome !!

One of many fave pictures taken with this lens (PS used for crop and image resizing only): http://gallery1905.com/details.php?image_id=332


Sep 6, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add njezzo to your Buddy List  
JLavino
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 272
Review Date: Aug 16, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $60.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All around great lens, performs on par. PRICE.
Cons:
Cheapness.

It does feel cheap, but the crisp pictures and awesome bokeh are unbelievable. Its insane what this 70$ lens can do.....

Aug 16, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JLavino to your Buddy List  
corgiwcn
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Review Date: Aug 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good sharpness, contrast, and color. Lightweight.
Cons:
The build quality is cheap. Alas, it a $70 lens.

This is probably the best $70 you will ever spend in photography. This is my first lens for my Canon 300D.

Wide open, it's not really usable because the autofocus is so erratic under my 300D that, even using tripod with MLU, continuous shots on the same subject will have blurred to tack sharp images.

From f/2.5 and down, my copy shows increasing improvement until f/8.0. It's excellent to outstanding between f/4 and f/8. This lens is basically distortion-free, a big plus. If you always use a lens hood to protect it from flare, it will produce very contrasty images with nice colors. Even though the autofocus is noisy, my copy never misfocuses, unlike the notorious 70-200 f/4.

I am not going to upgrade to the current version of 50mm f/1.4 unless it is revised to have the same build quality (and ring USM) as the 85mmm f/1.8.

Added comment (Jan 01, 2005): I recently tried manual focus as well as the technique of forcing 300D into AI servo to check whether this lens at f/1.8. To my surprise, it is very contrasty and sharp. This confirms my suspicion that most of the "softness" complaints against this (and possibly the 50mm f/1.4) originated from bad autofocus instead of bad optics. It is therefore suggested that you use the same technique when the DOF is very small.


Aug 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add corgiwcn to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
349 542798 Feb 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.88
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  20 · 21 · 22  next