about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
349 543483 Feb 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.88
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_

Specifications:
This is the lightest EF lens of all at a mere 4.6 oz. (130g). Compact and high-performance, standard lens. Its Gaussian optics provide sharp delineation from near to far focusing distances. The color balance is excellent for a standard lens.


 


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next
          
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7392
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp wide open, light and did I say sharp.
Cons:
Not L, but just as good

Great lens for portrait work and great for anyone on a budget but wants to get super quality picks that pop.

Mar 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  
grassley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 18, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 16
Review Date: Mar 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Low low cost. Quick to focus. Likely a good value as it is the old standby/kit lens for the 35mm film body.
Cons:
f/1.8 up through the 3's are all soft. Fianlly at f/4 the thing sharpens up. Not much use to have such a fast lens if you don't get truly sharp images at lower f's.



Mar 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add grassley to your Buddy List  
f_cottet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, light and sharp
Cons:
I can't find any...

Mounted on a EOS 20D, it makes a very good 80mm, sharp, fast and for a very good price.

Mar 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add f_cottet to your Buddy List  
Gossamer266
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 1, 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Price, fast aperture, weight, good for portraits with 1.6x crop on 300D
Cons:
Build quality

I got this lens after reading many reviews and comments praising this lens (and most primes in general) for its sharpness. It was the first lens I got to compliment the 300D's kit lens as it was frequently recommended and cheap.

Perhaps I got a bad copy, but it is not much sharper than the kit lens or the 75-300 (at 75mm) I borrowed from my brother. Where it does clearly come in handy (and makes it clearly worth the purchase) is when I take photos inside without a flash at fast apertures. Under those circumstances it beats everything else I had at the time.

A little disappointed by the unconvincing "clear advantages of primes", I still convinced myself to get a Canon 35/2 to serve as a pseudo-normal lens on my Digital Rebel. Well, the first picture I took with the 35/2, which was wide-open and handheld blew the 50/1.8 out of the water. I was stunned. In this case, I can say hands down that the 35/2 is the sharpest lens I have (I have also added a 24-85/3.5-4.5 to my collection).

So perhaps I got lucky with the 35/2 and got a good copy and was unlucky and got a bad copy of the 50/1.8, but to me the price difference between the two is justified by the extra sharpness of the 35/2.

In summary, the 50/1.8 is a very useful lens for indoor photography using available light, and for its price, is worth it for those who want to try primes and have a limited budget. As for its reputed sharpness, perhaps I was unlucky...


Mar 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gossamer266 to your Buddy List  
zwartjea
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 19, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Review Date: Mar 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It is cheap and sharp. So a (very) good price/quality ratio.
Cons:
Plastic mount (but hey it is cheap) AF/MF switch feels a bit wacky.



Mar 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add zwartjea to your Buddy List  
stowman2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 13, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast, Fun, and Sharp
Cons:
For $80 nothing

I love this lens. It is just fun to use this lens on both my DRebel and Elan 7. Yes it does feel cheap, but it is cheap. It is great if you are learning about photography.

Mar 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stowman2 to your Buddy List  
stephenmak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 16, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Review Date: Feb 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $111.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, light, great resolution. Did I say already say cheap?
Cons:
What everyone else says -- cheap feeling -- but that's because it's cheap.

Cheap lens.

Lousy build quality.

Great optical quality.

It's a snack given the price/performance ratio. It's a must have.

The bokeh is not the best, but it's sharp, it's fast, and it's cheap.


Feb 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stephenmak to your Buddy List  
Areta
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 19, 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 334
Review Date: Feb 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, weight, value for money
Cons:
build quality, AF

A must have

Feb 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Areta to your Buddy List  
coreypolis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1754
Review Date: Feb 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Leight, sharp and dirt cheep
Cons:
Build quality and manual focusing

First one I had I dropped from about 3 feet, it broke in two. But its so useful that I had to re-buy it

Feb 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add coreypolis to your Buddy List  
judhi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 9, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, cheap.
Cons:
less saturated color

A must have for SLR/DSLR user, unless you have extra budget for 50mm f/1.4 which cost 4 times of this glass.

Color photo might not be as good as the 50mm f/1.4 but the sharpness I get is incredible. Very good for BW photo with my 20D.


Feb 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add judhi to your Buddy List  
CanonB
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Jan 6, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Review Date: Feb 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, cheap, small. Amazing lens for the price.
Cons:
None

Everytime I get a new lens, Im never sure its a good copy. But this time, Im sure I have a good one, a perfect one actually.
My 50mm 1.8 is giving me the sharpest images I never had. Simply amazing. Even at 1.8, its sharper than many lenses I had in the past.

Im now considering to get 2 more primes now. The 85 1.8 and probably the 28 or the 35mm.




Feb 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add CanonB to your Buddy List  
walter23
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 30, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2686
Review Date: Feb 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, good optics, very lightweight, useful focal length.
Cons:
Feels like a toy, useless manual focus ring, slightly noisy autofocus motor.

I really can't say much that hasn't been said about this lens. I bought it because it was a very cheap way to get a fast maximum aperture of f/1.8. The depth of field is, of course, amazingly tiny at that aperture, which in practice means you have to be careful with focus if you use it. I love the low light capabilities of this lens and the ability to get such a narrow DOF.

Honestly I can't see any major improvements in optical quality over my 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM zoom (at this focal length) though. It might be slightly better, but that's really not why I use it. For me, it's mainly a low light or dramatically small-DOF tool.



Feb 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add walter23 to your Buddy List  
adamp88
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 27, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 668
Review Date: Feb 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, extremely lightweight, best bang for the buck in the Canon lineup
Cons:
Build quality, zoom noise, a little bit soft wide open

Yes, the build quality is cheap, but you know what? Even with the cheapo build quality I've had absolutely no issues with it. It's the lightest lens in the Canon line-up, extremely sharp, and extremely useful in low light situations. And at ~$70, a lens that everyone should own.

Feb 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add adamp88 to your Buddy List  
Xevion
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Weight, size, price, sharpness stopped down, F1.8
Cons:
Build quality, focus ring

One can't ask all that much out of a $75 lens, and the 50 1.8 isn't perfect. This is a plastic lens, and it feels plasticky. More importantly, the focusing ring is simply useless, it just feels crude and inaccurate, and it doesn't combine well with the small viewfinder on the 300D, it's just hard to get a good focus at wide aperatures, which is where you'd be using the MF on this lens.

This is a very good snapshot lens for avalible light. Set the ISO to 800 or 1600, and shoot away. As long as shutter speeds are acceptable, you can get very printable results with this lens wide open, although it does gain noticably in sharpness if you close it down a couple stops.

This makes a good AF portrait lens, for the price, but the pricier 50mm F1.4 and 85mm F1.8 will get better results - you do have to be careful with the background a little bit here, as bright lights are poorly represented. The background blur itself could be better, but it isn't bad.

This is a lens that many people will use a lot of the time, and some people will use rarely, but there will usually be some kind of a need for a fast prime lens, and at the price of this, few people have reason to not carry one.


Jan 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Xevion to your Buddy List  
teglis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 31, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1094
Review Date: Jan 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, sharpness, aperture
Cons:
Build quality, bokeh, no distance scale

First, the positive aspects of this lens are far more important than the negative ones. It is an amazing bargain, getting you into the world of sharp, wide-aperture primes for very little money.

On sharpness: it's a little soft wide open, but not intolerable. Indeed, understanding DOF is more important at large apertures. Stopped down, it is excellent, only a little off from my sharpest lens (IMO), the 85mm f/1.8 (see profile for complete list). I have recently upgraded to the 50mm f/1.4 USM and cannot see any difference in sharpness between the two 50s.

On a 1.6 crop camera, this becomes a good portrait lens for small groups (2-4 people), though I prefer the 85/1.8 for head shots.

It's small, light and I have been know to go out with just it on the camera. It's really a no-brainer for someone building a lens collection who doesn't specifically want the 50/1.4.


Jan 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add teglis to your Buddy List  
jbd1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 27, 2004
Location: N/A
Posts: 440
Review Date: Jan 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $80.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Cheap, sharp, good for low light.
Cons:
Feels cheap, focal length on 300D/10D/20D very non-useful to me. Sample focus variation (slight front focus on mine).



Jan 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jbd1 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
349 543483 Feb 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $127.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
5.88
9.56
8.6
ef50mmf_18_1_


Page:  10 · 11 · 12 · 13 · 14 · 15 · 16 · 17 · 18 · 19 · 20>  next