about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 30D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
138 139394 Jul 28, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,229.64
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
9.03
9.4
Canon_30D

Specifications:
Exceptional digital SLR with exclusive 8.2 Megapixel Canon CMOS Sensor and DIGIC II Image Processor

User-selectable high-speed and low-speed continuous shooting at 5 fps or 3 fps – up to 30 (JPEG), 11 (RAW) or 9 (RAW JPEG) consecutive frames when set at 5 fps and fast 0.15-second startup time

Large 2.5 inch LCD monitor that can be viewed at extreme angles up to 170

New and improved features: Picture Style for superior command of in-camera color, contrast and sharpness, spot metering and shutter durability of approximately 100,000 cycles

Impressive 9-point Wide-area AF with a dual precision sensor at the center

One-touch direct printing and improved PictBridge features, including more custom print effects and printing with shooting information

Fully compatible with all EF and EF-S Lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories

(more...)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next
      
Hoan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 3, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build quality, speed (5fps), buffer, AF, high ISO performance, and of course, high image quality
Cons:
AWB??? Sometimes I fell like the AWB of the 20D is better. But I'm not sure.

I bought mine 8 months ago. Before that I used 10D and 20D.

Aside from some small but nice improvements (LCD size, buffer, spot metering, shutter life, ISO settings with 1/3-stop increments ), the 30D is very much the same as the 20D. However, the 30D is more comfortable to use. They both offer excellent image quality at a great price. AF and ISO performance is a big improvement over the 10D. The AF are fast and accurate. The built-in flash is good enough and in some situations it proves to be very useful (as I don't have any external flash). For me, the 30D and 20D are excellent for low light photography (compared to the 10D and some other Nikon bodies that I know).

The pictures from the link below were taken with built-in flash, at mostly ISO 800. No noise reduction, only resize and some sharpening in Photoshop as usual.

http://dongchay.smugmug.com/gallery/4178208#244105867

Other portraits:

http://dongchay.smugmug.com/gallery/3804091#219571197


Jan 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Hoan to your Buddy List  
aVOLanche
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 159
Review Date: Jan 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great ergonomics Well constucted-good"feel" Excellent high ISO performance Excellent image quality Great dslr for the $$$
Cons:
lcd slightly off in color ISO not visible "full time" in lcd

Went from a Panasonic FZ20 to a Canon 350D to a Canon 400D to this 30D.The 30D is a lot more camera than the others.Much more of a "Pro" quality build and feel.Excellent performer and competes well with any crop camera on the market.The 2-wheel system is simple and efficient.I love it!Definitely a best buy.

Jan 11, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aVOLanche to your Buddy List  
DannWunderlich
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2453
Review Date: Oct 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great feel, great IQ, great for sports, screen is nice ... it makes me smile
Cons:
ERR 99 ...

I got this camera with about 7 weeks ago and in that time i put about ... 3000 clicks on it. The camera has performed like a beautiful angel. but now it is acting up ... it is locked up with an ERR 99. Needs to be sent into canon for a check-up

so ... well just be warned... but dont let it hodl you back

it is worth every doller


Oct 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add DannWunderlich to your Buddy List  
Biguns
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 101
Review Date: Sep 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Good camera, worth the money, IMO, the camera is very comfy to hold. Overall, amazing camera.
Cons:
none so far.



Sep 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Biguns to your Buddy List  
Jan Jensen
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 8, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Review Date: Sep 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fantastic well built camera make ultra sharp pics. My best camera until now. Everything works well and offen pictures are keepers. Colours are very good and no further adobe threatment of the pictures.
Cons:
Not sealed for outdoor use.

Can only recommand this camera even to people whom not are familiar with SLR's. Handling is very easy in my opinion, have never taken so many brilliant pictures before. With my 24-105 L, 100-400, it seams that I offen are lucky and come home with nice and sharp colourfull pictures that I dont want to delete none of them.

In door foto I use Sigma 500DG and the same story using 1:50mm 1.4 or 100 mm Macro gives me most of all good in door pictures. I,m impressed and very happy it's a good feeling to know in forehand: "you all the time will take more than average quality pictures"

Jan Jensen
Denmark



Sep 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jan Jensen to your Buddy List  
CountryBob
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Oct 3, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 244
Review Date: Sep 12, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: I liked the features and general use of the camera.
Cons:
Reliability

I had my camera for 10 months, I really liked using it and have had some good shots. Unfortunately it let me down very badly a couple of times and I was quite dissapointed having to take it back to Canon who were definately not that customer focused, that is unless you belonged to CPS, then that was a very different story! (grrrrrrrrrr)
Having spoke to a few Canon dealers I may have been unlucky in having bought a rogue camera, but Canon Australia service needs to REALLY lift it's game.
The net result is I traded the camera and bought a 40D hoping for a better experience! I was tempted to go Nikon after my experience of Canon service attitude but changing all those lenses would have cost ...........a little more of a push and I would have done it!!!!!!!!




Sep 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add CountryBob to your Buddy List  
Fridriksson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 17, 2007
Location: Iceland
Posts: 147
Review Date: Sep 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $995.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Ease of use, build quality, picture quality, settings, high ISO performance and much more!
Cons:
It does not have weather sealing, which the xxD series should have had from the start (now starting with the 40D). Like the on&off button better on the xxxD series.

The Canon 30D is well build and has good ergonomics, ease of use. I just got mine after having used a Rebel XT/350D for a half a year and I had to get used to the body. At first it didn't impress me and I thought I had just spent much money on to little progress. But after a while I got used to the all the settings and functions and now I am really pleased.

The image quality is really good and for me 8 Megapixels is enough, but would like to have a 12 MP FF camera if I could afford it. Combined with L lenses this camera is great and your pictures look great and your ease of use when taking pictures is great as well. This is more of a Semi-Pro camera and big step up from the Rebel XT. Being able to blast 5 fps and with a 11 RAW image buffer makes it a real workhorse for most peoples needs.

The big 2.5" display on the back is nice and I would much more prefer that then the 3" on the 40D, but I would have liked more LCD pixels to display colors better as they don't always represent what I see in reality.

Also last but not least, one of the main reasons I upgraded was the high ISO performance of the 30D which is excellent compared to the xxxD series. You can allow yourself to go all the way to ISO 1600 knowing that you will sacrifice some image quality, but at least you get a usable shot. Also the step program with the ISO is fantastic, you don't have to take those giant leaps like with many other cameras.

Overal: Great camera for those semi-pros on a budget and want a camera that has sturdy build and great ease of use, I would also recommend it to those upgrading from the xxxD series.


Sep 7, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Fridriksson to your Buddy List  
cdryall
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 19, 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 2, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Build quality, speed, wheel adjustment, ease of use and fit - just an extension of my arm..
Cons:
Would have loved weather sealing, in body stabilization, sensor cleaning - but of course thats all for the future - at the time I bought it, this was as good as it gets for the price.

Bought this to replace my 300D - which I loved but handed down to my daughter (so could justify to wife). Soon became apparent that the ease of operation, speed of image processing, LCD, spot metering,AF focus etc. made this a great step up and well worth it.

As I live in a desert and enjoy wildlife shooting bought a 400D as well so I didn't have to switch lenses so often etc. Yes I know its the cheaper, but later model and 10 vs 8 etc. but within a short time realised my 30D was clearly still my No. 1 choice mainly for ergomics, noise, accuracy of exposure and speed but at the end of the day it is just 'a good fit'. ..

To cut a long story short gave the same daughter the 400D and took back 300D as my backup as I knew that the only way I would be happy would be a future move up to a 1D / 5D/ 30D replacement because the XXXD versions just don't do it for me - and they are going to have to be really special. Hmmmmm, have to consider my wife friendly long term upgrade approach soon - but for now old 30D remains my best mate and a great buy.......


Aug 2, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cdryall to your Buddy List  
Christian S.
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 7, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 2, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Cheap (considering), big (feels good, no cramps like 350 / 400), AF is ok, superb handling, 5 fps, Iso in small steps
Cons:
no weather sealing, accessories have been made bigger just for kicks or whatever (cable remote!!)

This really good camera gets quite cheap ATM because it is so greatly underestimated.

Honestly, if you are an intermediate photographer who has grown out of his entry-level dslr, then this might be your choice!

I bought this camera because I wanted to get a little more serious with the whole thing and my 350D just wasn't reliable to produce constant results at all. I decided to try out this one, just in case...

I never sent it back, though:
First thing is, this camera is made for male hands!
And I really dig features like 5fps, small ISO steps, the wheel and the little joystick (this one combined with the AF-Points might save your life!), and overall, I just get a lot more keepers out of this one.


Aug 2, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Christian S. to your Buddy List  
hallbert
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 11, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1088
Review Date: Jul 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: I have owned a lot of Canon digital SLR bodies and I find the 30D to be the best buy for the buck hands down.
Cons:
Absolutely none!!

The AFS is right on and the colors and metering are too.
I use a 1D MarkIIn with L lenses for the grandkids sports and that is one heck of a camera. But for all other uses I like the 30D. I

I recently purchased a 5D with the 24-105 and found the 30D with the 17-55 IS outperforms the 5D. The 30D is not full frame but the amount of "keepers" was much higher with the 30D / 17-55 combination.

I honestly can't say one negative thing about the 30D.


Jul 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hallbert to your Buddy List  
vincent s
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 4, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 110
Review Date: Jun 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: price, easy to use menus, fits in my hand like a glove, IQ..
Cons:
none, except for the fact that I'm going to have to save a lot for lenses because addiction to photography grew a lot with this camera..

This dslr was the transition to digital photo's for me and it has been a nice one! After reading some not so nice things about the D 80 and a lot of good reviews about the 30 D I decided to go for the canon.Well I have been happy with it from day one.For me everything about it is positive.The long accu life, the very low noise, the wonderful image quality.I find the menu very easysily accesible.

The reviews on this site are very useful to me so I felt obligated to help the next one thinking about buyng this baby.
If you are a normal person, financially speaking, this is THE dslr..Don't mean to insult richer people than me, but I thought it was a lot of money for a hobby!Haven't been dissappointed for a moment since I got it.

Only problem now is how to get enough money for the lenses I want..Already made up my mind about the 10-22mm efs,only wondering wich 70-200mm I will get.

excellent camera in my opinion.


Jun 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vincent s to your Buddy List  
Rene Kiesler
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 29, 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 90
Review Date: Jun 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,470.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Important settings can be changed quickly, Thumb-Wheel, Responsive, uncluttered interface, very little noise, quick auto-focus, well-balanced, pleasing surface finish
Cons:
No live-preview, no live-histogram, no swivel-display, no anti-dust system, raw buffer limited to about 11 pictures, no weather-sealing, auto white balance sometimes lacking, no ISO 50, no ISO 6400, no mirror-lockup setting (could complement the drive setting) / button, sometimes shutter does not fire -- would like some kind of "override", no ISO indication in view-finder

The EOS 30D is my first SLR, I bought it in April 2007 after trying a Nikon SLR from a friend first. I still have the camera I had before the EOS 30D, the Canon PowerShot S2. So naturally, I'm comparing those two.

The EOS 30D is really responsive, images made with 5fps are sharp if you take care of the appropriate focus points and af settings. The downside: a 11 frame buffer for RAW is not enough for events like sport-aerobics, where things change all the time quickly. And shooting JPG would mean loosing flexibility for post-processing.

What I'm really missing compared to the PowerShot S2 is the live-preview on the swivel display. On the S2, I immediately see a preview of exposure and focus, even on the display. This is like a angular-finder on drugs, just excellent. A lot of pictures from the weirdest angles I did on the S2 turned out great, I wouldn't be able to repeat them on the EOS 30D.

The Olympus SLRs already seem to have a working live-preview on a tilt-able display -- as oposed to the fixed one on the 1D Mk. III -- combine that with the S2 swivel-display and you have a killer.

For me, this SLR is a luxury item. I'm a hobby shooter, photography is one of many hobbies. While the S2 is with me most of the time, the big SLR pack with the heavy lenses stays home often. Still, the EOS 30D's picture quality (combined with for example the 24-70/2.8L) is amazing, if I don't mess up with exposure. And it's a rather reliable and responsive tool, good for most events where the buffer size is not the limit.


Jun 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rene Kiesler to your Buddy List  
nikon90s
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 279
Review Date: Jun 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Color just pops, sharp, fast and very EZ to use(from a nikon user). LCD can be used outdoors without any problems.
Cons:
I don't have any just yet.

I was a Nikon user for many years but I had to replace all of my equipment and just had to try Canon out and now I don't think I will go back. It is very ease to use when I picked it up it was at most two buttons to do most of what I wanted to do. Great sharpness, the color just pops off the prints I have made. I disliked my Nikon equipment for the lack of sharpness and I am very happy that I mad ethe move to Canon. I have the 24-105 and the 100 macro to start out with and plan on getting the 100-400 is at some point I would recommend Canon to anyone and the 30d is a great start.

Some shots
http://www.pbase.com/jason_lake/30d


Jun 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nikon90s to your Buddy List  
SAUMBI
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jun 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $975.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: LIGHT WELL BUILT FAST MOST OF ALL IT'S A CANON!!
Cons:
DON'T THINK I CAN SAY THERE ARE ANY, MAYBE LACK OF WEATHER SEALING, BUT I KNEW THAT WHEN I BOUGHT IT!

I bought this body 2 weeks ago and can say I am very pleased with my decision to upgrade my 20D, I see no reason to keep the 20D now that I have this and my 1D, the 20D is a fine camera and the image quality can match the 30D but it requires a little more work. I am sure my 30D does a better job with my 580EX flash than the 20D did, could be my particular camera but I get much better results know with the 30D?

I read the reviews and almost didn't try the 30D for fear there was no real benefit in changing, I beg to differ, in the first place the third stop iso settings are very handy, and at my age with my vision the lcd screen is a real plus, you don't have to review your pic's to need a good lcd screen, all custom functions and everything you do to set the camera up is done on the back screen!!! and as I said earlier the flash is better on my copy. This camera is without a doubt the best camera available under $2500.00, regardless of mega-pixel count. ( with the reservation of the original 1D at today's prices, but that camera was sold for $7000.00 when it was new!) See my review for that JEWEL also!

With this said I must dissagree with most, as I feel if you own a 20D now is the time to upgrade it while your 20D is worth more than the 10D. Soon it will not be! So you buy a body only to replace your outdated 20D get a few welcome upgrades a camera that is easier to use, and the best prosumer camera made,even if the flash were not better? and sell your 20D and you only spent around $200.00, plus you now have a new usa warranty again!!!!! I'll make that investment every tiime!!!

I Highly recomend this camera to anyone wanting the finest buy in an 8 mega-pixel camera! You wil not regret it even if you now own the 20D as I did!! JUST DO IT!!


Jun 5, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SAUMBI to your Buddy List  
muevelonyc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 18, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 178
Review Date: May 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,069.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: spot metering, 5fps for 11 fps consecutively (RAW), EF-S allows it to use the really sweet EF-S 10-22mm, build quality, large LCD
Cons:
IR remote sensor like the one in the rebels would've been appreciated, not full frame (but that's ok as the 10-22mm lens makes up for that), doesn't have the XTi cleaning function (although we know it doesn't work anyways so who cares), can only use max of 8gb CF cards

I simply love this camera. Spot metering, 5fps for 11 fps consecutively (RAW), EF-S allows it to use the really sweet EF-S 10-22mm for really wide angle, great build quality, large LCD. I don't really care that it's not full frame as the 10-22mm lens makes up for that, and the lack of the sensor clean is a gimmick anyways. However, with CF card prices dropping like a rock, it can only handle a max of 8gb cards. Granted that you can still shoot 900 shots in RAW on that 8gb card, but it'd be nice to have the 16gb and never worry about storage on a shoot or miss a shot to swap a card. For those who complain about not being 10 MP, I found the images sharper per pixel than those on the XTi. Essentially it's more efficient its use of pixel capture.

May 22, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add muevelonyc to your Buddy List  
Codie M
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 18, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Review Date: Apr 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, well-balanced, comfortable weight, beautiful image quality
Cons:
I wish it was weather sealed!

I absolutely love this camera. The 5 fps make it a good camera for sports, I still feel confident with the speed, even compared to my 1D. Produces really rich colours. I just wish I wasn't scared to take it out when it's drizzling!

Apr 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Codie M to your Buddy List  




Canon EOS 30D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
138 139394 Jul 28, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,229.64
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
9.03
9.4
Canon_30D


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9  next