about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
112 252639 May 29, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $409.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.32
8.80
9.6
efs60_28macro_usm

Specifications:

A thoroughly modern design that's optimized for select Canon EOS digital SLRs. Its angle of view is equivalent to a 96mm lens on a 35mm camera, with a floating optical system that can focus down to full life-size (1:1) magnification. Inner focusing, driven by a silent and powerful ring-type USM, means the lens' overall length never changes during focus. This lens is a wonderful multi-purpose lens that's equally at home shooting macro shots, portraits or available-light photos. Like all Canon EF-S Lenses, its use is restricted to the EOS 20D, EOS Digital Rebel and EOS Digital Rebel XT cameras.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 60mm 1:2.8

Lens Construction: 12 elements in 8 groups

Diagonal Angle of View: 25

Focus Adjustment: Manual

Closest Focusing Distance:0.2m /0.65 ft.

Filter Size: 52mm

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 2.9" x 2.8", 11.8 oz. / 73 x 69.8mm, 335g (lens only)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
      
Nocebo
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 29, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Super sharp images!!! Nice macro lens!!!
Cons:
Focusing in dark suroundings too slow!!! The price!

Best lens I have bought so far - but I'm waiting for a 24-70 L lens I just ordered - so I don't know maybe it will change.

But I don't regret buying this lens - and it's a keeper!

If you can afford - Go buy it!!!

Nocebo


Apr 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Nocebo to your Buddy List  
armedia
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 19, 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nitidezza stupefacente Aberrazioni cromatiche e geometriche inesistenti Costruzione
Cons:
Prezzo leggermente alto

Mi occorreva per un lavoro un ottica macro per la mia 20D e senza nessun dubbio ho acquistato questa lente.
Prestazioni eccellenti superiori anche alla blasonata 70-200 F4 L che posseggo
Nitidezza straordinaria e risposta cromatica neutra da 1:1 a infinito.
Ottima per piccoli still-life e ritratti (consiglio di ammorbidire in post-produzione)
Grande lente


Apr 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add armedia to your Buddy List  
FlyRN
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: Apr 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $360.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp sharp sharp. Did I say sharp?? Color contrast is unbelievable. Really creamy bokeh. 1:1
Cons:
Wish it was a 12-200 zoom. I can dream....

By far the sharpest lens I've used or seen. The color/contrast/sharpness blow away any lens I've ever used. Actually have to knock down the sharpness in portraits. It's that sharp. 1:1 is amazing.

Apr 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add FlyRN to your Buddy List  
Wirelezzz
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 23, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 18
Review Date: Mar 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Really Sharp/Good Color/
Cons:
Slow Focus in darker areas.



Mar 19, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Wirelezzz to your Buddy List  
brasche
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, great for macro and portrait
Cons:
EF-S, cost

I've only had the lens a few days, but based on a variety of tests to date, this is one very nice lens. Very sharp. Wafer think depth of field on some tight macro shots. Very clean portraits, too.

The downside of this lens is that it can't be used on a full frame camera. For now, it sure is a lot of fun.


Mar 19, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brasche to your Buddy List  
darryllessere
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light. Sharp. Fast Focus in good light. Great color & Contrast. Post processing's a breeze in PS. f/5.6 - f/8 is sweet spot.
Cons:
Focus is slow when light levels drop. EF-S was supposed to be cheaper to make but they get the same $$ for this lens as the 100mm.

After using a 70-200F4L with 500D closeup lens, I was tired of lugging around such an awkward rig and was itching to try a real macro.

What a difference. A real pleasure to use. Focus snappy in good light and OMG, is it sharp. As good as the best zooms are, this is better.

It does hunt a bit in low light - if you are using as a portait lens (reccomended if she has good skin or you have good photoshop abilities - it's THAT sharp) make sure you have some light on your subject as well as your strobes - not reccomended for say, a nightclub shoot. You'll just irritate people waiting for the photographer to take the picture.

I sold my 50mm 1.4 and got this to fill in for low light prime work and have not been dissapointed.


Mar 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add darryllessere to your Buddy List  
joeyseager
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 19, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 67
Review Date: Mar 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Pin sharp image quality, sturdy construction, fast and silent focus, USM and full time manual focus, fairly compact, internal focus (no lens extension or rotation)
Cons:
Focus hunts in very low light. High price.

1:1 without accessories, almost perfect image quality, rock-solid construction, what more could you want? Well, it would be nice if it focussed *beyond* 1:1 but I expect that's too much to ask.

This is a wonderful true macro lens but it's not a one-trick pony - it can be used at more normal subject distances and makes a very good portrait lens - it's about equivalent to a 95mm lens on a full-frame camera. Its f/2.8 max aperture is just about wide enough to throw the background nicely out of focus for pleasing portraits and its non-rotating filter thread accepts cokin or other filter systems easily.

Now when are Canon going to release an f/1.4 30mm EF-S lens to complete my wish list??? (Sorry, Sigma, the reviews seem to think yours isn't quite up to the mark...)


Mar 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add joeyseager to your Buddy List  
jadefox
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 23, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Super sharp! Fast and silent focus. Nice build
Cons:
Hunts in low light.



Feb 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jadefox to your Buddy List  
selwynroberts
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 18, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Review Date: Feb 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: This lens is fantastic. It is sharp with good colour rendition andI use it for portraits on my 20d
Cons:
bit expensive



Feb 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add selwynroberts to your Buddy List  
jschulst350d
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 9, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Review Date: Jan 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Superbly sharp, weight, build quality, silent USM, FTM, 52mm filters, portraiture, versatility
Cons:
expensive (but still good value), otherwise none!

The ultimate hand-held macro tool; short enough to use either built-in flash or (better still) my 430EX to give f/16 or higher depth-of-field. Captured winter flowers outdoors on a dull day in high wind with no problems (350D can shoot 1/200th flash sync with AE priority).
If you have problems on the 350D/XT Rebel try custom fct 4 set to * for focussing and 1/2 shutter for exposure lock. AF is problematic sometimes from far distance to macro but focus ring does not turn too far and MF can be achieved very quickly with no need for a focusing screen (not possible on the 350D).
Build quality, versatility (portrait, walk-around, macro) and ring USM/FTM are all big attractions. 52mm filter size makes for affordable extras. 67mm hood is hard to find! Can use also the ET-67 from 100mm f/2 macro.
So sharp can easily use as substitute for longer telephoto and crop down in Photoshop.


Jan 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jschulst350d to your Buddy List  
deansy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very Sharp, Compact, Quite Solid, F2.8, Good AF
Cons:
AF hunts in low light

Just bought this lens today and I have to say I am very, very pleased with it!

I own a 350D (XT) which I got as a kit with the EF-S 17-85 IS USM lens. After just over a months use I was beginning to believe that digital SLR's produced soft pictures. NOT any more!

The EF-S 60mm Macro is really sharp, produces nicely saturated images and opens up creative doors with its F2.8 aperture. Wish I'd had this lens from the start of my digital SLR adventure.

It does show that the lens is king when it comes to pictures. My EF-S 17-85 IS lens is nowhere near as sharp and is (in general) producing pictures inferior to an Olympus C8080 compact I previously owned.

If you want a macro lens then this is brilliant. Nothing else to say!


Dec 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add deansy to your Buddy List  
smac
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Ultra sharp, fast focusing, 1:1
Cons:

This is the perfect macro, bar none! It's the only thing I miss about a crop camera. Compact, light, quality build, excellent optics. Please make one of these for FF. Fantastic!!!

Dec 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add smac to your Buddy List  
qubex
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 8, 2005
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $397.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp, bright (fast), versatile, excellent build quality.
Cons:
AF tends to be dicy in low-light conditions.

I decided to purchase this lens because I was looking for a more "human" perspective than my 10-22mm. I wasn't really looking for macro capability but whenever possible I prefer to mount EF-S lenses on my 350D rather than EF.

Right away I was astonished by the solid build quality of this lens, the pleasant solidity of it. It feels good. The USM ring motor is very silent and pretty fast.

When I started doing some tests I realised how sharp it is. The detail is sharp - almost too sharp - and the colours are vivid. Macro performance is excellent, and now I'm compelled to take on this new kind of photography.

If I must really find a flaw, auto-focus is imprecise in low-low light situations, and the lens basically goes "backwards and forwards" without ever achieving a lock. It's strange because my 10-22mm can focus in similar lighting conditions. Anyway, the annoyance is really very minor, almost insignificant.

An excellent lens that I wholeheartedly recommend.


Dec 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add qubex to your Buddy List  
kendallkoning
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 90
Review Date: Dec 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: SHARP, SHARP, SHARP. No distortion, no CA, optically superb and better
Cons:
EF-S mount. Had to sell it when I upgraded to the 5D.



Dec 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kendallkoning to your Buddy List  
captainatomic
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 335
Review Date: Nov 27, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $684.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very solid build, Internal focusing is fantastic, Produces wonderfully saturated photos and high in contrast, Bokeh is lovely and very smooth, Auto Focus is typical ring-USM with Full Time Manual focus being excellent and smooth. f2.8 Aperture, 52mm Filter Size
Cons:
I do feel Canon could reduce the price, however for this quality I don't mind paying for it.

I purchased this Len's thanks to reading the glowing FM reviews.

The Lens certainly lives up to all the comments, what a pleasure to use!

You notice the quality build straight away, quite solid but to not heavy.

Unlike the Sigma 50mm Macro, the Len's stays the same length regardless of focusing distance. The Sigma extends an incredible amount when getting near 1:1 Macro - which I find a pain to use and hardly convenient.

When I processed the RAW files of my photos, I noticed how wonderfully the colours were saturated. Very natural in colour, but add's the extra punch of colour. Contrast is lovely.

The sharpness is not out of this world, but sharp enough to show all the fine hairs on leaves and insects that you would normally miss.

Having a 'circular' (its not a perfect circle but damn close) aperture really makes those background cream away nicely. You can keep the tip of a flower in dead focus, but have everything else cream away softly.

Being my first ring-USM Lens, I was suprised at how quiet it really is, I never needed a quiet Auto Focus, but when you have it you appreciate not having a funny noise all the time. The speed is great when its somewhat in focus, just snaps into a accurate focus. Its when the Lens comes out from 1:1 to a subject 2 meters away it takes a while to adjust, but I find this acceptable - comming from such a close distance to 2 meters in a few seconds is hardly something to complain about.

I am used to the painfully slow Kit Lens of the EOS 350D, so using a fast 2.8 Aperture really makes a difference in low light. Would be great if it was faster, but 2.8 is great anyway

By having a small filter size of just 52mm, it makes the Lens compact and cheap to buy filters for. I do not know how people can even consider those Lens' with 77-82mm filters, It becomes simply far to large to have hanging off your camera. 52mm is what I am used to (comming from film), and it certainly helps to keep the Lens compact and not overly bulky

I think it is a must buy for anyone with a camera capable of EF-S Lens', I worked hard to buy the Lens but it is worth it!

You cant be disapointed with this Macro Lens!


Nov 27, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add captainatomic to your Buddy List  
Tom Lisciandra
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $399.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great lens. It's light, fast and well built.
Cons:
None

All I can say is "WOW". This is a great lens. I an very happy with it.

Nov 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Tom Lisciandra to your Buddy List  




Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
112 252639 May 29, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $409.23
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.32
8.80
9.6
efs60_28macro_usm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next