about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 70-210mm f/4-5.6D AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 99667 Jun 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $152.92
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.53
9.42
8.9
70-210

Specifications:
This is an all metal prosumer zoom lens that nikon made during the late 90s.

Very good lens, very fast focus, well made and good sharpness and contrast. You get this lens for a steal these days.


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
mctenhov
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 22, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very fast focus, build quality, sharp, price.
Cons:
Hard to find, only F4.0-5.6. So almost useless in low light situations. Images are mostly a bit underexposed, but this can be easily corrected in PS.

I bought this lens for my D50 after I read the reviews here and at kenrockwell.com. It's a surprisingly sharp lens, focusses very fast, and has almost no CA. Highly recommended for outdoor use. Build quality exceeds every new lens in the 200$ range! Why did Nikon discontinue this one?!? Because it's to much for the money?

Mar 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mctenhov to your Buddy List  
Petrus
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 17, 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 160
Review Date: Oct 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price!!! Just as said: you get it for steal... Best compact telephoto zoom! Reasonably sharp wide open, sharp closed down 1 stop, surprisingly sharp at f/8-f/11. Build quality - metal+glass+Made in Japan... good old days... AF speed. If 2.8 pro zooms hurt your neck 70-210 is much lighter and more compact.
Cons:
I wish it could be 80-200 2.8 or 70-210 VR... :-)))... same size, same price... just kiding...: NONE FOR THE PRICE!!!

(This review is for non D version but there is no optical difference).

I used to have it on my F-801s but had sold them both few years ago. After I bought D70 last year I relly missed more range... and just recently managed to buy an almost brand new, unused for ridiculous ~100$(!!!!!!!).
Good things are said on it at kenrockwell and it's just true :-).

If you can't afford or don't need heavy pro league 2.8 zooms and are not satisfied with 70-300 (ED or G) find 70-210, give it a shoot, and never sell like I did...

For the price of a toy you get a real Nikkor.

Highly recommended!!!


Oct 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Petrus to your Buddy List  
chinesestunna
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 4, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 308
Review Date: Sep 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, performance, weight
Cons:
a bit soft wide open, speed even at wide open

I've used this lens for 3-4 months now as my workhorse telezoom, and it has met my expectations as an excellent telezoom for the beginner or someone on a budget.

Distortion: very low at all focal lengths, besides, this is a telephoto, not like we're doing architecture or something.

Focus Speed: very very snappy, for a non AF-S, this is as good as it'll get Smile extremely fast in a way that will make all other non AF-s seem really slow

Flare/Ghosting: very good, I don't have an issue with this unless shooting almost directly at the sun, and I don't have the hood!

Chromatic Aberration: this is non-ED, so you will get some in high contrast shots, but shoot NEF and use Camera Raw or whatever post processor you want and you can get rid of them, I did

Build Quality: Pretty damn good, especially in today's world of plastic (nothing again the material, just the feel of some lenses) lenses, this is metal, so you can beat people with it Wink hehe, j/k

Sharpness: Decent wide open, but stop down to F8 and you'll just make images that cuts through anything, very very sharp

Handeling: I'm not a fan of push-pull zoom, but for the price, what can I say, I'll learn and it is growing on me Smile


***OVERALL***

I like it a lot, don't expect 80-200 F2.8 stuff from it obviously, take care to shot in well lit areas so you can stop down for that sharpness


Sep 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chinesestunna to your Buddy List  
obelix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 194
Review Date: Feb 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, very fast focus, excellent sharpeness and contrast, all metal body
Cons:
Push pull zoom can suck in dust.

The best budget priced telephoto zoom lens out there. Excellent sharpness and contrast. Decent bokeh and very good build quality.

Ken Rockwell swears by this lens. Very rarely does this lens show up in keh.com and it is usually snapped in a day or two.

With a 4 feet minimum focus distance, it can be used for quasi macro photos as well.

Strongly recommended.


Feb 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add obelix to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 70-210mm f/4-5.6D AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 99667 Jun 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $152.92
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.53
9.42
8.9
70-210


Page:  1 · 2