backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 1201215 Apr 18, 2017
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $321.57
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.93
8.71
8.9
ef50mmf_14usm_1_

Specifications:
Standard lens featuring superb quality and portability. Two high-refraction lens elements and new Gaussian optics eliminate astigmatism and suppress astigmatic difference. Crisp images with little flare are obtained even at the maximum aperture.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 50mm 1:1.4
Lens Construction: 7 elements in 6 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 46
Focus Adjustment: Overall linear extension system with USM
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.45m / 1.5 ft.
Filter Size: 58mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 2.9" x 2.0", 10.2 oz. / 73.8 x 50.5mm, 290g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
      
matnen
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 13, 2008
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 108
Review Date: Jul 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp.Sharp.USM.Lightweight.Compact.
Cons:
no hood

Perfect lens for this money.Sharp, nice bokeh, natural colors, clear images.Good for portraits and walkaround shots.Accurate AF.It lives on my XTi.Highly recommended for those who start DSLR photography.This is reference lens.Right choise to replace kit lens.
I've been with it for more then a year-no regrates.Superb lens for good money.


Jul 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add matnen to your Buddy List  
andywang
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 7, 2009
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: Sharp only F2.0 above. Fast focusing, Value Lens
Cons:
Material not strong. internal focusing motor easy having problem



Jul 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add andywang to your Buddy List  
dealaddict
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 11, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jun 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp image at F2 and up, ok and very usable below F2, reasonable price, fast focus, focus is spot on, small and light
Cons:
Focus hunt at low light situation

This lens is very good lens, very sharp and very reasonably priced. highly recommended. But I am surprise with the auto focus hunts too much at low light, even more than my Sigma 28mm.

Jun 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dealaddict to your Buddy List  
MrAdventure
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 12, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2878
Review Date: May 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Small, Light and fast. Very good color and contrast right out of the camera. My copy is sharp wide open and gets a bit better by f/2, especially in the corners. It's actually a bit sharper than the two copies of the 50L that I've borrowed and tried out. AF is very fast, smooth and silent...when it's not broken.
Cons:
The clutch breaks easily. Wish it had a ring type AF motor, but I can't say it's mad a big difference either way. Don't drop it, even on a shag carpet, the AF will go wonky with very little everyday wear and tear.

Can't beat it for the money if you want to step up in focus speed and accuracy from the 50 1.8 model. The color and sharpness of my copy is superb, it needs very little post processing if you nail the exposure right. It will resolve details no prob on everything right up to the new 5D MK2 without a hitch. You might see some issues with the 50D due to the heavier crop sensor demands. You have to really look very closely though. I had to have someone point of the slight noise issue before I noticed. I was going to sell it and try the Sigma, but I couldn't find a copy out of (3) that didn't have focusing issues beyond ten feet.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3255/3511914836_0cb2400d29_o_d.jpg


May 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MrAdventure to your Buddy List  
pauelv
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 11, 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 110
Review Date: May 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light weight, good contrast (but not L contrast), Sharp from f1.6/1.8 and smaller, good AF response, good value for the price
Cons:
Soft wide open, build quality seem fragile, no full-time manual focus

There's not many lenses that performs top-notch when wide open, especially faster prime lenses. With some exceptions, but you have to pay for those.

This lens is a good value lens. The optical quality is good, but the price is compensated by the not so good build quality.

the out of focus part is quite pleasing, and the light weight makes it a good walk-around prime lens. In my opinion the best non-L 50mm prime from Canon. (can't say anything about the 50L's as I have not tried one)

pauelv


May 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pauelv to your Buddy List  
joelypolly
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 29, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Review Date: Apr 18, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast 1.4 aperture which means excellent low light performance Excellent DoF effect Excellent bokeh when focusing on close objects Light and inexpensive Metal Mount
Cons:
50mm on a cropped body is... well weird Shallow DoF means hard to focus at times Plastic body

This is probably one of the most popular primes ever sold. It is inexpensive, light and quite a sharp when stepped down a little. This lens is also about a quarter the price of the f/1.2.
I have owned a copy of this lens since May of last year and it has opened up a whole new dimension of photography that just wouldn't not have been possible on a standard zoom.

The DoF effect is very very shallow, in fact so shallow that I had trouble at the beginning locking focus on what I wanted. You will be using this lens in Manual focus mode much of the time simply because the AF won't always pick the correct thing to be in focus.

Check out sample photos from the lens at http://joelypolly.blogspot.com/search/label/50mm


Apr 18, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add joelypolly to your Buddy List  
colcase
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 6, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Review Date: Mar 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: light, great optics for the price, f1.4
Cons:
Sharpness not that great wide open. Plastic construction

Unless you're willing to pay 5 times that amount to get you the L version and f1.2, this lens is the best deal. It's better than the cheap 1.8 version and won't keep your budget suffering for months.

Good at 1.4, this lens is super sharp at f2 and above. The thin DOF is great producing a very nice bokeh. AF is fast enough but could be faster.

If you want a quality 50mm optic that won't break the bank it is an excellent choice and will produce great pictures.


Mar 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add colcase to your Buddy List  
franzoi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 30, 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $390.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: price, f 1.4, blurred, up f/2.0 is very sharp.
Cons:
plastic body.

This lens I use only for the interior and dimly lit with af/1.4 is really fantastic.
The best quality you have to f / 4 to f / 8.
I used this lens all over the world for me money/quality is 10.


This is the only f/1.4 canon lens-economic.


My web with foto:


http://www.franzoi.eu/index.php/foto/


Feb 21, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add franzoi to your Buddy List  
photosbyjay
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 12, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Price, background blur, colours and saturation comparable to L lenses, less intrusive than the big L zooms
Cons:
Very soft up to about f2.0

Truthfully, this lens was sitting around unused in my bag until I read these reviews. I thought it was a dud because at f1.4 or even 1.8 shots were looking soft (even when I manually focussed) and nothing like the shots I was seeing online taken with the much more expensive 50/1.2 . However when I stopped down to 2.0 or 2.2 on my 5D it made a world of difference. Images are really sharp (but bear in mind you have a very thin depth of field so focus carefully and don't move the camera around too much once you've focussed). Colours and contrast are fantastic our of the camera - even with my experienced eye it's hard to differentiate between shots taken with my 70-200 2.8L and this lens.

I had a pre-wedding photo shoot with a couple yesterday and used this lens for the majority of shots. Check out some of the photos taken with this lens at http://www.photosbyjay.com.au/wedding-photographer-sydney-blog/

I'm starting to fall in love with this lens, now that I know how to use it properly. I love the subtle blurring of foreground subjects, the field of view and the ever so slight perspective distortion. Pictures with this lens have a much more dynamic, edgy feel than with my 70-200 2.8.

I see it as an advantage that you have to get in closer to the subject with this lens because it lets you get more involved with the scene and the subjects, rather than standing way back and zooming in. A steal for the price.


Feb 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add photosbyjay to your Buddy List  
ohcello
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 171
Review Date: Jan 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, build
Cons:
not much...not great at f/1.4, but I don't fault them at this pricepoint. not a zoom? =)

Excellent lens... Respectable at 1.8, but really good at 2.2...

Good build and better than expected AF... feel like ring USM most of the time for me even though its not..

The build is good enough for sure, and the bokeh is nice with the 8-blade aperture design.

I was going to get the nifty fifty, but for $225, I get another full stop of sharpness, better build, better bokeh.

Very happy with this lens.....


Jan 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ohcello to your Buddy List  
st_dimov
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 29, 2005
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 13
Review Date: Jan 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Fast, unobtrusive, really sharp beyond about F2, F2.5 (especially if you are coming from moderately priced zooms), nice portrait lens on a 1.6x crop Canon.
Cons:
A little plasticky, not terribly fastfocusing, hunts sometimes esp. when not using the center point (on 20D & 40D).

A picture's worth a 1000 words. A gallery of images all taken with this lens and Canon 40D, most wide open. F numbers are shown. http://orionlessskies.com/folio/bulgarian-outback/kremikovci/index.html
( its a flash gallery Sad )


Jan 13, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add st_dimov to your Buddy List  
Antony
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 5, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 666
Review Date: Jan 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Inexpensive and fast
Cons:
Build quality not up to my standards

The 50mm f/1.4 is a nice lens, I could just never get past the really lightweight plasticky feel of the construction. Mind you, compared to many off-brand lenses or other consumer lenses it's fine, but I migrated from an old manual focus system where everything was metal, and as a result this just felt lousy. I ended up selling it and use Ls now for the better construction and more solid feel.

Jan 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Antony to your Buddy List  
kengroff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 5, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Lightweight, very useful indoors, sharp from 2.0 and up, great walkaround lens.
Cons:
Fairly soft from 1.4-1.8

Picked this lens up back in the summer, after buying the 100mm macro lens where I have no hesitation to use wide open I was slightly disappointed that its pretty soft from 1.4-1.8. Once I use it at f2 I find it is very sharp and I usually set it at that aperture for available light indoor shooting. Focusing I find is accurate, the lens is nice and light, great for walking around and small group portraits. Overall very happy with the lens and the speed is much appreciated over the kit lens for my 30D(18-55mm 3.5-5.6) and the build quality is better too.

Jan 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kengroff to your Buddy List  
anorphirith
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 13, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1139
Review Date: Nov 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: VERY sharp after f/2.0 , small and portable, very light, 50mm leads to nice compositions
Cons:
you pay to have a f/1.4 lens that you cannot use at 1.4 !!, if you are looking for a low light performer, I'd recommend 85mm 1.2



Nov 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add anorphirith to your Buddy List  
Phast1
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 14, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2082
Review Date: Oct 31, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: compact, cheap, sharp, fast.
Cons:
soft wide open

I've had several copies of this lens over the years but never wrote a review so here it is...

I've used this lens on 20d,30d,40d,5d,1dMkII-n.
The lens is soft at f/1.4-1.8.
From f/2-2.2 is very usable. I'd go so far as to say that this lens is an f/2.2 because from there on in it's wonderful.
This is not to say I don't use this lens at it's widest apertures, I do. Sharpness is subjective. The bokeh is beautiful.

Focus is fast. I've used it for ringside sports without a hitch.
I also use this lens for portraiture on a crop body and it has never let me down. Renders fine detail nicely.

For the price you certainly get your money's worth from the 50 1.4.



Oct 31, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Phast1 to your Buddy List  
skibum5
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 17279
Review Date: Oct 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: exceedingly sharp stopped down, very fast at f/1.4, compact and light
Cons:
very poor build for the cost, terrible AF

every bit as good as the zeiss contax 50mm 1.4

does get some halation from f/1.4-1.8 under certain conditions

abysmal AF accuracy anywhere near wide open (and i've used six different copies, they varied from beyond abysmal to abysmal) for any subject more than like 5' away.

AF clutch a weak point and my first copy was broken right out of the box

they badly need to stick in a proper ring USM!

incredibly sharp corner to corner stopped down and decent bokeh and incredibly low CA

quite prone to PF anywhere near wide open



Oct 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add skibum5 to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
395 1201215 Apr 18, 2017
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $321.57
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.93
8.71
8.9
ef50mmf_14usm_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next