about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 18-125mm F3.5-5.6 DC

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
58 180085 Aug 30, 2008
Recommended By Average Price
76% of reviewers $241.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.17
8.13
7.0
4882618_125dc_1_

Specifications:
Sigma Corporation is pleased to announce the launch of the new 18-125mm F3.5-5.6 DC. This zoom lens was exclusively designed for use with digital Single-Lens Reflex (SLR) cameras and has 6.9 times high magnification zoom ratio. Image circle is designed to match the size of the image sensor of digital SLR cameras. A Special Low Dispersion (SLD) and two pieces of aspherical glass elements produce high level of optical performance through the entire zoom range and also this has resulted in a compact, lightweight lens. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 50cm (19.6in.) at all focal lengths and equipped with inner focusing system. Since the front of the lens does not rotate, "Petal Shaped Hood" and a circular polarizing filter can be easily attached and used. This lens is also equipped with "Zoom Lock Switch" that eliminates "Zoom Creep."



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
          
ToiletDuck
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 37
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent focal range (nothing like it is available from Canon). Reasonably accurate AF. Slide switch to lock the lens at 18MM. Internal focusing. Comes with it's own lens hood.
Cons:
The AF motor is noisy. Supposedly colors are less vibrant, and the lens is contrasty (read text below for my explanation).

I initially purchased this lens (about two weeks ago) to replace the P.O.S. 18-55mm kit lens that came with my Digital Rebel. If you're still using that lens, stop reading this and purchase THIS lens to replace it.

One very annoying "feature" of my old 18-55mm that used to drive me batty was the external focusing of the lens. If I used a circular polarizer (or if I breathed on the lens the wrong way), the lens would go out of focus. With this Sigma 18-125mm, because the focusing is internal, it doesn't suffer from this problem. As such, I've noticed a huge improvement in the sharpness of my photos by using this lens.

Monday I upgraded my camera to the 20D, and I brought along this lens to the camera shop to verify that it would work OK with it (didn't want to take a chance). I had heard a rumor that some Sigma lenses don't work correctly on the 20D when you use an external flash. I can verify that this lens works fine on my 20D with a 550EX flash though.

The store owner scoffed at me for having a Sigma lens, and kept "insisting" that I sell the lens and purchase a Canon 17-85 IS USM. His reasoning was that this Sigma lens produces pictures that are washed out, and are too contrasty. If I was going to be switching between Canon glass and this Sigma, I was going to notice a difference.

To that, I had to remind him that the lens is attached to a DIGITAL CAMERA. Most of these nit-picks can be compensated for either in the camera's settings, or in your workflow after you download the pictures to your computer. Granted, he DID have a point, but for half the price of the Canon 17-85 IS USM, I feel that I have a VERY GOOD walk-about lens that has a higher maximum zoom range. As a bonus, it completely blows away the 18-55mm kit lens that it replaced, offers internal focusing, AND came with a "flower petal" style lens hood.

For the price, you will have a hard time finding a Canon lens that can match it's focal range, and the features it brings to the table. If Canon ever does release a lens with a similar focal range, I'd be the first to buy it over this lens. Until then, I'll happily stay with this lens.


Mar 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ToiletDuck to your Buddy List  
Deorum
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 22, 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 23
Review Date: Mar 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Range, Price
Cons:
Focusing


I have this lens about 3months now. It has given me some great shoots, even wide open. The range for this price is exceptional. The lens is very sharp indeed, contrary to my belief for a consumer zoom of this price. However this is only when it has dead-on focus.


My main concerns (that's why I'm thinking of switching to 18-50/2.8) is its inconsistant focusing. I think I have some frontfocusing issues. Whenever I dont see tacksharp photos it is the frontfocusing, not the optics of the lens.

Would I buy this lens again? Maybe. I'm on the verge of taking photography more seriously this period. So I would most propably build my lens set, more quality orientated. But for an all-around lens I couldn't say that it needs second thinking. The price is very low.


Mar 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Deorum to your Buddy List  
Mike Eckstein
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Mar 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $245.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light weight and excellent zoom range, Very sharp and good color rendition.
Cons:
Auto focus noisier than Canon lenses.

This lens has turned out to be better than I had hoped for. It is so good I have sold Canon 28/135 IS and a Tamron 19/35. It replaces both lenses and produces better results than the pair it replaced. It is all you could hope for in a walk around lens for a 1.6 crop digital camera. Excellent sharpness, detail and color rendition. This is the third Sigma lens I have purchased and I have been pleased with all three.

Mar 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mike Eckstein to your Buddy List  
Zee10Dguy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 4, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Review Date: Feb 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Transforms my 10D into a point and shoot like my Minolta A1. Versatile, good range. Good quality workmanship, 4 year Sigma warranty, Good at both ends when stopped down.
Cons:
AF is a little iffy sometimes. I always take an insurance shot when using this lens but its not an issue since I bracket often but it doesnt AF like an L lens.

I can get tack sharp using this lens stopped down. Its sharper than my friends 18-55 kit lens on his 20D for sure. The range is very useful. This was first lens when I purchased my 10D and love this lens especially for the cost. I also own a Canon 17-40L, Sigma 70-300 APO Super Macro II, Tamron 1.4x Teleconverter, Canon 50MM f/1.8. This lens is on my camera 99% of the time. I use the Canon 17-40L for mainly landscape and wide angle and portrait shots while the Sigma 18-125mm is used for everything else. Like I said just take an insurance shot and your fine. I recently took 300 pics at a corporate event with an old 380EX flash and only 5 came out misfocused, thats not too bad at all.

Feb 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Zee10Dguy to your Buddy List  
fStopJojo
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Jun 4, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 327
Review Date: Feb 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, very versatile and convenient focal range, good image quality, light, good build (for consumer lens), good AF accuracy.
Cons:
AF noise is "acceptable", not FF compatible, not a "low light" lens, some distortion.

It's my most versatile lens, though how I'd love it to be a fixed f2.8. Nonetheless, a cracker of a lens especially for the money. Highly recommend it as a good walk-around lens during the daytime.

Feb 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fStopJojo to your Buddy List  
scwusa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Review Date: Feb 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $265.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price, zoom range, size, performance
Cons:
noisy, AF a bit slow, some distortion

This lens performs admirably well as moderately priced 'walk around' lens. Many other ultra zooms start at 24mm. The range between 18 and 24 is very useful. I've noticed very little CA or vignetting. There is some 'moustache distortion' present at 18-20mm, usually only visible if there are straight horizontal lines in the subject. The AF is a bit slow, but accurate in good light.

Feb 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scwusa to your Buddy List  
lotapixel
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 29, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 7X zoom range. Solid construction. Good value.
Cons:

I have had this lens for about 6 months. I bought it because I was not satisfied with the performance of the 18-55 kit lens that came with my Digital Rebel. I must say that I am completely satisfied with it. It is much, much sharper than the kit lens, and has better contrast and almost no flare even with the sun in the picture.
My copy of this lens is not noisy. I know that many people say that theirs will cause animals to stampede, and whole flocks of birds to suddenly fly away.... I just don't see it. The nose is very low.
I have a 50mm f1.4, and honestly I only use it in very low light. I use this lens 95% of the time. It is a fun lens.
The focus is quite consistent. The bokah is pretty good. If I had one complaint, it would be that the zoom ring is a bit tight, but it has loosened up a nicely since I first got it.
I would definitely recommend it, for the non-professional or anyone on a limited budget.


Feb 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add lotapixel to your Buddy List  
judhi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 9, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: lightweight, wide zoom range
Cons:
suffer of flare problem

I travel a lot but not as a professional photographer so I have only little space for my photo gears.

This lens give me an ideal zoom range for most challenging situation. The 18mm focal for my EOS 20D works nearly as 29mm in normal SLR. Not very wide but good enough for group photo of seminar attendess to landscape and cityscape. Too bad that I always have to put the lens hood on to prevent flare.

At 125mm it works as if I use 200mm lens! That's great for photographing architectural details of old buildings, candid shots of people or shooting birds on a wire.

In bright daylight photos, I can see some vigneting on the corners.

Picture quality is OK but not amazing. Color a bit washed out and sharpness is not great. Those are fixable with PhotoShop though.

For the price I paid, this lens give a just nice value.


Feb 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add judhi to your Buddy List  
rightcharlie
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Review Date: Jan 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Low cost, lightweight, build quality and sharp optics
Cons:
none

This is my first Sigma lens and I nearly didn't buy it because I equated low price with poor quality....WRONG!!
I haven't used an 'L' lens and probably might notice a difference if I had a 1D but with my 10D it's a sharp as I need and what a fantastic range!
Other good thing is that the filter size is same as my 50mm 1.8.
Great lens - great value

Charlie Curtis UK


Jan 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rightcharlie to your Buddy List  
teglis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 31, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1094
Review Date: Jan 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Versatile zoom range, small and light
Cons:
Sigma quality control, maximum aperture, inconsistent focus

You have to keep reminding yourself what you paid for this lens. It is not L glass, nor does it strive to be. But is a good walk-around lens when you want to travel light.

I'm on my second copy. The first had real sharpness problems on the right side of images, especially at the telephoto end. On a Canon 300D, it didn't focus consistently either. I'm now using a 20D and the second copy seems to have more consistent focus.

I'm pleased with the sharpness, considering the price. But I do have to remind myself that it was cheaper than all my primes and shouldn't be expected to provide the same sharpness as they do. Also, it seems there is less colour saturation with the 18-125 than my other lenses.

However, it's range is a valuable asset. I do find myself in situations where I don't want to lug around a lot of equipment and this lens is ideal. Anyone with a 1.5/1.6x DSLR and a desire to travel light should seriously consider the 18-125.


Jan 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add teglis to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 18-125mm F3.5-5.6 DC

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
58 180085 Aug 30, 2008
Recommended By Average Price
76% of reviewers $241.20
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.17
8.13
7.0
4882618_125dc_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4