about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 70-300MM F/4-5.6 LD Macro AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 260295 Mar 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
84% of reviewers $166.41
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.20
9.31
7.3
70300mm

Specifications:
This is the definitive lightweight, compact telephoto macro zoom with a maximum magnification ratio of 1:2 at the 300mm setting -- ideal for shooting subjects that are difficult to approach such as sporting and theatrical events. The lens also features special effects such as the capability to provide beautifully blurred backgrounds to highlight the main subject in protraiture, or "compression effects" that make the most of the telephoto lens. By switching to maco mode, subjects as close as 0.95m can be shot within the focal range of 180-300mm, for true macro photography. The optical system incorporates a LD (Low Dispersion) lens, resulting in clear sharp images free of chromatic aberration.

Model 572D
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 9-13
Angle of View 34-8
Type of Zooming Rotation
Diaphragm Blade Number 9
Minimum Aperture F/22
Minimum Focus 59.0in. (1.5m)

37.4in. (0.95m)/Macro

Macro Mag. Ratio 1:2
Filter Diameter 62
Weight 15.3oz. (435gm)
Diameter x Length 3.0 x 4.6in.
(76.6 x 116.5mm)
Accessory Lens hood
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
dogbone00
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 16, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jul 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Price
Cons:
Slow

I am reading these lens reviews and would like to just point out the obvious, this lens is an excellent buy if you are not a professional photographor. A friend of mine has the Canon 75-300mm (non USM) and this thing is way better than that. I cannot comment on the Canon USM and of course it would be just plain silly to compare it with an L series lens. I just bought it and used it on our family vacation last weekend and shot well over 200 pictures, yes some (very few) are soft but have found this to be do to user error not the lens itself. I have tons of photos that are excellent image quality even at 300mm and if you would like to see some of them before you buy this lens just send me an email.


Jul 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dogbone00 to your Buddy List  
mehal2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 105
Review Date: Jun 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $140.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Inexpensive, good range
Cons:
Still a little soft, autofocus cannot be relied upon

The best thing about this lens is its price. Its great for people who spent plenty on the camera body and don't have the budget for an L lens. Images are a little soft from about 200-300 but its still acceptable. Overall, when bought with a good cheap wide-angle, you'll have a good starter collection of lenses

Jun 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mehal2 to your Buddy List  
Rasmusdc
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 24, 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: Sharp images, seldom bad images, Cheap.
Cons:
Slow Focus.

Now i have read all the reviews i could find on this lens, but ended up buying it anyways. mostly because of the pros. like sharp images, have actually not seen that much CA, if any at all.

My budget dont allow canon "l" or other quality marked lenses, and this was cheap.

But the lens impresses me, have had a lot of good shots, that i cant put a finger on. i manually focus mostly, but i can se the problems if using the lens for fast moving shots, at auto.

My photografer friend that buys lenses for easily 2000$ + actually didnt believe me when emailed my test images to him. he found the lens quite usefull, not saying that he would exchanges his own for it.

tested this lens against the Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM which is marked at 260$ in Denmark, and the tamron won without a battle. so this lens is gonna end up in my collection, until the money for the "l" lenses starts showing up on my paycheck.

another thing. dont know if i did just get lucky, but the build quality is kinda good, melts good with my 350D, the rubber around the focus ring, feels good, and the zoom, and focus runs smooth. one minus though is, the macro butten i hard to turn on or off if the lens is zoom close to the 180 or 300 limit, and if the focus is at max. but you get what you pay for.


May 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rasmusdc to your Buddy List  
intechpcx
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Review Date: Mar 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Image Quality, Construction, Included Hood, Value for Price
Cons:
Focus Slow and Hunts a bit, especially in MACRO mode

All in all I am very happy with this lens. I've been able to capture some incredible shots even at the longest focal lengths. It has worked well for me doing psuedo Macro work as well as night moon and star shots. The sharpness has been right on, my pictures are very crisp and I've found that the only limitations I've run into with this so far are my own mistakes. I have not found any detectable distortions or aberration with this glass.

The downside is definitely the auto focus performance. The focus ring has such a long turn that focus speed is slow. The motor is not as quiet as a USM Canon but not bad and certainly not over-bearing.

For the price I don't think this lens can be beat. It is an incredible value and I'd recommend it to anyone.


Mar 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add intechpcx to your Buddy List  
xRun
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 16, 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 3
Review Date: Feb 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

Pros: Range, sharpness
Cons:
Slow focusing speed

This lens outperforms the Canon EF 75-300mm versions with and without USM, and even the IS version.
It even seems slightly sharper than the Canon EF 100-300mm.
It's especially sharp when used on macro, with slight softness at 300mm and distant contrasty subjects, f.example dark tree branches against a white sky, but that's a torture test even for the best of lenses.
It's excellent value for money, and as stated, outperforms brand lenses 2-3 times the price.

Now if it would only focus a little faster it'd be really good, cause it focuses a bit slow.

Comes with a hood.


Feb 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add xRun to your Buddy List  
hir0
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 373
Review Date: Jan 22, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $170.00 | Rating: 5 

Pros: good zoom range, built in macro function, cheap
Cons:
slow af, hunting, chromatic abberations, softness at 300mm

this lens is ok for someone who does not really care for optical quality but would like a lens that gives a good zoom range . i have managed to get some decently sharp photos out of this lens, but it is soft above 200mm. chromatic abberations are a very big problem for this lens despite the "LD" glass. the macro function can be handy for closeups, but by no means is a good alternative to a true macro lens. the af is loud and slow and hunts a lot. other than that, the lens is light, and works pretty well below 200mm.

Jan 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hir0 to your Buddy List  




Tamron 70-300MM F/4-5.6 LD Macro AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 260295 Mar 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
84% of reviewers $166.41
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.20
9.31
7.3
70300mm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3