about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 35mm f/2

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
132 358791 Apr 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $400.06
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.53
9.05
8.8
ef35mmf2_1_

Specifications:
Fast 35mm wide-angle lens. With a minimum focusing distance of only 0.8 ft. (25cm), you can approach the subject closer and still obtain a more natural wide-angle effect. You can even obtain good background blur for portraits.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 
          
Lensman99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Apr 16, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp optics. Reasonably fast, yet compact. Good handling in the field.
Cons:

This lens is one of the better values in the Canon EF prime series. Images are quite sharp, with good contrast. I find it a great lens for street photography, offering a maximum aperture of f/2, yet remaining compact in size and light in weight. Bokeh is relatively good to my tastes, but here I am spoiled by the ten-bladed apertures of my rangefinder lenses. Flare has not been a problem for me, but I habitually use the Canon matching hood. I also use it for landscapes, normally stopping down to at least f/11, and the resulting images just pop.

Build quality is acceptable. Autofocus is somewhat sluggish but not annoyingly so.

If your priority is on sharpness, you won't be disappointed. At this price/performance ratio, it deserves a spot in your camera bag.


Apr 16, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lensman99 to your Buddy List  
Mark Jamison
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 4, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1651
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $243.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Image quality really quite good.
Cons:
Abysmal Build Quality, No USM

AN Ok lens if all you shoot is in nice conditions. This is horrible build quality and doesn't have the price tag that other bad builds have (Canon 50mm F/1.8).

So the Quality to pice comparison is only usefull if you don't plan to take this out of the city, or out in the cold.


Apr 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mark Jamison to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $175.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Image quality
Cons:
NONE

For the money, this is a superb lens. No, it's not up to "L" build quality, and no, it does not have USM, but again, you aren't paying for those features either, and you still get great image quality.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
Photon
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 10006
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: image quality
Cons:
not USM

The optical quality is first rate, and the focusing is quick, but because it is not one of Canon's USM designs, manual focusing requires use of the switch. Build quality is only fair, comparable to the 50/1.4, rather than to the L series lenses.

[I purchased mine used; the prices for new ones would be higher than what I paid.]


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Photon to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 35mm f/2

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
132 358791 Apr 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $400.06
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.53
9.05
8.8
ef35mmf2_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9