about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 196782 Jul 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $429.40
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.47
9.47
9.4
lens_1_

Specifications:
Di: Digitally Integrated Design, is a designation Tamron puts on lenses featuring optical systems designed to meet the performance characteristics of digital SLR cameras.



Tamron introduces a new version of the famous 90mm macro lens for film and digital photography. Tamron's 90mm macro lens, often referred to as "the portrait macro" and loved by photographers all over the world, is now reborn as a Di lens that is perfect for use with both film and digital cameras.

Model 272E
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 9/10
Angle of View 27
Type of Zooming --
Diaphragm Blade Number 9
Minimum Aperture --
Minimum Focus 11.4in.(0.29m)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:1
Filter Diameter 55
Weight 405g (14.3oz)
Diameter x Length 2.8 x 3.8in.
(71.5 x 97mm)
Accessory Lens hood, Case
Mount Canon, Minolta-D, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
      
babu
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 22, 2005
Location: India
Posts: 38
Review Date: Apr 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: | Stunnning sharp | A good Portrait lense |
Cons:
| Slow AF | AF Hunts a lot | Growing barrel |

Well, this was my first Macro lense. To say about this lens, it is stunning sharp. I had taken many nice shots with this lense. I also should admit, it is an excellent portrait lense, can produce images on par with any 'L' series lense of Canon.

Some of them are here

http://www.foto.rajkumar.info

Worth the money. Few reasons, why I left this lense is

[1] It hunts and extending barrel, which most times scar the insects

[2] 90mm: The working distance was not just enough for typical insect macroshots.

[babu]


Apr 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add babu to your Buddy List  
Kari Post
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 660
Review Date: Apr 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $470.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp, fast AF for a macro lens, easy to switch from AF to manual, very smooth focusing, recessed front element prevents damage to lens, good color, beautiful bokeh, limiter switch convient for AF, digitally integrated to reduce problems in D-SLRs but still compatible with 35mm SLRs, little or no fringing and minimal flare, comes with lens shade and soft case
Cons:
drops to 5.6 at extreme close focusing

I just got this lens and I love it. Images are super sharp. The AF focus is faster than most macros, so its easier to double this lens as a prime for regular use. The 90mm (135mm equivalent on a Nikon model) is good for portraits (105mm Nikkor and Sigma are 157.5mm equivalents make a little too much compression for portraits on digital cameras). The lens is designed so you push the focus ring to switch from manual to AF which is very convient and much easier to use than the switch on the camera body. Focusing is very smooth and images "pop" into focus. Out of focus elements are very smooth and rounded. Color reproduction is good. It is a very good looking lens with gold and blue writing. The digital integration works very well. I shot some images through tree branches into the sun on a hazy day without the lens shade and found no purple or green fringing on my photos. There was also very very little flare.

The one thing I don't like about this lens is that it loses f-stops when focused close in extreme macro. At 1:1 ratio the lens is only a f/5.6! While this generally isn't too much of a problem because DOF is paper thin at 1:1 so you generally want to aim for a larger f-stop (f/8 and up), it may be a pain when shooting in low light. At distances greater than a foot or two you have full f/2.8 speed to the lens.

Overall this is a great lens with many positive attributes and I highly recommend it. I wish I could directly compare it with the 105mm Nikkor and 105mm Sigma, but I really don't think they could outclass this lens in any way except for maybe the loss of apeture at extreme macro and that the tad bit extra length they give might help with insect shots. I chose this lens based on images I saw taken with it and the fact that it is digitally integrated (but I liked the fact that it could double for portraits and had fast AF, since I shoot a lot of sports, as well).


Apr 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kari Post to your Buddy List  
Johnny Bravo
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8869
Review Date: Feb 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp lens, fast focusing, I like the manual to autofocus switch method used on this lens. Great lens for macro, and fine results used as a 90.
Cons:
A little 'plasticy' feeling, but given the cost, and the utility of this lens--not a worry.

I use this lens primarily for macro--it's very sharp. I purchased it on advice from fm'ers, and I'm quite pleased with it. It's also a very sharp prime that rounds out my focal length ranges. The rest of my bag is 'L' glass and this lens doesn't have to hide in that company. It's a great performing lens at an excellent price.



Feb 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Johnny Bravo to your Buddy List  
sulka
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 25, 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very sharp, light lens.
Cons:
The autofocus system is obviously no match for Canon's USM lenses, I occasionally get pumping action. The focus distance can be limited to close or long ranges which obviously helps this.

A very sharp good lens for macro photography. I'm using it exclusively to photograph subjects with near 1:1 magnification so can't comment on shooting larger subjects, however I'm got some amazing insect photos from close subjects.

Attaching Canon macro flashes works by adding a 55mm UV filter and a 55mm to 58 mm step up ring. Screw both in, mark the top on the step up ring, put the ring on flash. Mark the spots where the attachment nubs touch the ring and file away from each spot on the ring until the flash sticks. Much cheaper than the Canon adapter and works just as well.


Feb 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sulka to your Buddy List  
hir0
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 373
Review Date: Jan 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $490.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: razor sharp lens, lightweight, nice bokeh, smooth manual focus
Cons:
not internal focus, lens grows

this is the sharpest lens i own, it is plastic, but really well built. the switch from af to mf is very easy, and the mf is nice and mooth. it's nice and light - the front element is deeply recessed, so the lens hood is not needed (i've never used it). the autofocus speed is acceptable, and fairly reliable. i would recommend this lens to anyone. the lens pictured for this review is not the tamron sp90 di.

Jan 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hir0 to your Buddy List  




Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 196782 Jul 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $429.40
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.47
9.47
9.4
lens_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4