about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tamron 17-35MM F/2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical (IF)

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
34 127593 Sep 30, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $336.76
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.18
9.18
8.7
1735mm

Specifications:
Di: Digitally Integrated Design, is a designation Tamron puts on lenses featuring optical systems designed to meet the performance characteristics of digital SLR cameras.

Advent of an ideal Ultra wide-angle zoom lens well balanced in all aspects. With its superb image quality, compact size and excellent operational ease, this ultra wide-angle zoom lens lets you enjoy dynamic image composition by exaggerating your main subject against a wide background.


Tamron's new ultra wide-angle zoom lens starts at 17mm when used with a conventional 35mm SLR camera. When mounted on an APS-size digital SLR camera, it provides a focal length coverage equivalent to a 28-55mm (on a 35mm format camera), covering the desirable wide-angle to
standard range.

Model A05
Lens Construction (Groups/Elements) 11/14
Angle of View 104-63
Type of Zooming Rotation
Diaphragm Blade Number 7
Maximum Aperture F/2.8-4
Minimum Focus 0.3m (11.8") (entire zoom range)
Macro Mag. Ratio 1:5.4 (at 35mm)
Filter Diameter 77
Weight 440g (14.4oz.)
Diameter x Length 83.2mm x 86.5mm

(3.3in x 3.4in)

Accessory Flower shaped lens hood
Mount Canon, Minolta, Nikon-D, Pentax


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
snap_dragon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $495.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp and fast with great color and very little barrel distortion.
Cons:
A little slower than my "L" lens

This is my first non-Canon lens and I only purchased it because I had an emergency and needed a wide-angle lens for shoot at the last minute. (The customer added some requirements a few hours before the shoot started.) I had been budgeting to buy the Canon L wide-angle but didn't have enouph money yet and even if I did, this was the only wide-angle lens available locally. I purchased it with the understanding that if I didn't like I it could return it within 7 days. After seeing the pictures it takes, not only is it not going back, but I stopped saving for the Canon L. I can't image the pictures looking any better and refuse to return this one. The customer loved the photos I took and I have taken a few others with it that have been very popular.

The detail is great, there is virtually no distortion even when I am close to the subject. As for speed, I live near a theme park and yesterday was able to take 4 pictures of one set of people going over an outside roller coaster loop and have sharp enouph detail in the photos to see the differention between the big toe and the rest of the toes for the people that rode barefoot when I zoom in. Considering the full shot not only included the full multi-story loop, but also foreground at the bottom and sky at the top, I consider that getting good detail. At the same park, I also took a close-up of a flower was sharp and colorful, and some glassware in a store that I really admired. I have to remind myself this is a wide-angle lens, not a general purpose one. The pictures it takes are so good that if you don't need the zoom, it can be used as a walking-around lens.

One last thing, it feel more comfortable in my hand than most of my Canon lenses. The material is just more skin friendly and there is very little weight compared to many of my other lenses.


Sep 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add snap_dragon to your Buddy List  
Exile
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 22, 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 8
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very, very sharp across the range. Warm. Fast focusing. Acurate focusing. Minimal hunting. Relatively fast for the price.
Cons:
Massive difference in quality between lenses - try different units before forming a judgement. Focus ring rotates when focusing in auto focus mode. Variation in maximum aperture available at different zoom settings.

A great lens for use indoors in small locations - I use it mostly for fine detail product photography. I've not tried it for landscape photography as that is not my specialty.

Before buying I took camera and lap top in to the store and tested five of these lenses. There was a dramatic (read unacceptable) difference in sharpness between each of them (quality control???). In the end I opted for the shop display lens as it surpassed the others by a considerable margin. Of the 5 lenses I tested, 3 were less sharp then my Canon EFS 18-55 kit lens cheapie.

The unit I settled on is extremely sharp across the range at all apertures. I get stunning detail out of complex combinations such as lace, silk and fake fur.
The warmth of the image is pleasant after the relatively muted colours of my Canon L series lenses and suites the tastes of my target market.
Focusing is only a fraction slower then my L's and I've never experienced any focus hunting.

The best of these is very, very close to the quality of image produced by my Canon L lenses but at a much more favorable price.

The moral of the story is try before you buy - the good ones are extremely good - the bad....


May 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Exile to your Buddy List  




Tamron 17-35MM F/2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical (IF)

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
34 127593 Sep 30, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $336.76
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.18
9.18
8.7
1735mm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3