about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
73 226990 Jan 12, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $340.72
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.68
9.47
9.1
05_105mmEX_1_

Specifications:
The Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro delivers superb, distortion-free images throughout its broad focus range, from infinity telephoto to 1:1 (life-size) macro, as close as 12.3" without accessories.

Its non-rotating front lens group makes it easier to work with polarizing filters and has a focus limiter (eg. Full Range; - 15.8 in.; 14.6 in. - 12.3 in.).

A "focus-free" mechanical design allows the lens to auto focus without any interference from the manual focus ring. This makes it easier to hold the lens without affecting the speed or normal operation of the autofocus function. Rugged mechanical construction also makes it durable enough for even the heaviest use required by professional photographers.

The Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro features the new deluxe external EX finish. These features and other Sigma optical advances, including an uncommonly broad range of focus, make this an ideal lens for a wide variety of applications, from nature photography to portraits.

A handy screw-in type metal sunshade makes it easier to rotate
a polarizing filter.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 
          
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Dec 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great price, Fantastic images. A blast to play around with
Cons:
For the price, none.

What can you say, for the money it can not be beat! Very nice photo's from this lens.


Dec 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
Z_28
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Aug 18, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1449
Review Date: Oct 16, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, lightweight, 2.8 , cheap filter size, just perfect macro/short-tele/portrait lens !
Cons:
Sometimes AF very slow (AF can choose opposite direction first)

If you haven't one yet - buy it ! Satisfaction guaranteed Smile

Oct 16, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Z_28 to your Buddy List  
pro67photo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 1, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Review Date: Oct 3, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: razor sharp, well build, so far my favourite sigma EX lens...well done Sigma!!!
Cons:
NONE!!!!!

I bought this lens in the UK, and so far I have never regreted...#1 in macro, and very good in portraite too....

Oct 3, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pro67photo to your Buddy List  
pricklyman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Review Date: Aug 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price - sharp - rugged
Cons:
none

I've had this lens since I got my 10D four weeks ago and it hardly every leaves the camera. Almost all of my ~1000 images were taken with it. My other lens is the Sigma 28 - 70 2.8. I've found it to be very fast to focus, especially using the center focus sensor only. If you're into macro, you can't go wrong with this lens.

Aug 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add pricklyman to your Buddy List  
FredericB
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 248
Review Date: Aug 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, cheap
Cons:
Slow AF but it's a macro lens so who cares ?

Very sharp from f:4 to f:11, still very good from f:16 to f:22 (forget using it down f:22).
Colour and contrast are excellent - won't see the difference w/ the canon until f:22 and lower.

AF is slow but macro is not about AF anyway so it never bothered me.


Aug 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add FredericB to your Buddy List  
Brendan Getchel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1990
Review Date: Jul 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: As sharp as any Nikon or Canon ~100mm macro. Sub-$300 price tag. Another Sigma EX winner -- keep the good glass coming!
Cons:
S-L-O-W focusing! Very noisy. Length nearly DOUBLES at 1:1. Poor AF/MF selection method. Suspect build quality.

Optically, this lens is a full, unreserved 5/5. I have owned both the Nikkor 105/2.8D AF Micro and the Canon 100/2.8 Macro USM and this Sigma gives nothing away to either in optical quality. In fact, it may even be a hair better along those lines. For the money, this is the best ~100mm macro lens on the planet. If your budget is tight, and you want a medium-length macro, then don't hesitate to get this Sigma.

However... if you have the extra money I would still recommend the "brand name" lenses over this one. You do get something for the large premium in the way of better design, faster, quieter AF, and superior build. My Canon 100/2.8 Macro USM is better in every way -- optics aside -- than this Sigma. AF is MUCH faster and more sure-footed, where the Sigma induces hunting when you try to use it for other purposes, such as portraiture, etc. AF/MF selection on the Sigma is a confounded "push-pull" operation with the focus ring. Also, that brings me to another Sigma design flaw. The Canon is completely internal focus (IF), which is very nice. The Sigma extends heavily as you approach 1:1 and nearly doubles the length. Also, the Canon and Nikkor models have superior build quality and tolerances. However, I did smack my Sigma pretty hard up against a rock and it showed no ill effects, so perhaps this is more subjective than anything.

All-in-all this is an excellent, fast optic with stellar performance, and that's the reason you get one to begin with.

I heartily recommend this lens as a cheaper alternative to the pricey brand-name versions.


Jul 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Brendan Getchel to your Buddy List  
Canonizer
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 21, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 256
Review Date: Jun 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, good contrast, good build quality, good handling in the field, comes with nice lens hood and lens bag.
Cons:
None

I have used this lens on my 10D but not my EOS 3 as of yet. This is one great lens for the dSLRs. On the 1.6x bodies, you have a 168mm f/2.8 macro lens, which is a blast to use. I mostly use manual focus but find the AF also works well. I have used it with extension tubes and a 1.4x telextender with outstanding results. It gives you plenty of working space from the subject. I'll let some images I took with it tell the rest of the story:

http://www.pbase.com/image/18067637
http://www.pbase.com/image/18099058
http://www.pbase.com/image/18099165
http://www.pbase.com/image/18099282
http://www.pbase.com/image/18066341


Jun 21, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Canonizer to your Buddy List  
lou
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 4, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2277
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, at least my unit is after work by Sigma. Good color and contrast and sharp from corner to corner.
Cons:
i would like to see the build quality a litter better.

Lens was just upgraded by Sigma for use in the 10D. I had used it on a D-30 with no problem, however it gave me an Error 99 message. Sigma re-chipped it, cleaned and had it back to me in three days. I have found that since they re-chipped the lens, the focus is now faster than it had ever been. Color is excellent and focus is very good, although i had been only manually focusing in the past, I now find that 99 percent of the time, auto focus is right on.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lou to your Buddy List  
erikff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1281
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp
Cons:
slow focussing

The first EX Sigma lense I ever bought and loved it since the day I got it. Sometimes i find it a bit slow in focussing but I can live with that or in difficult situations I just set it to MF. A great, affordable macro lens that deffinitely gets my vote

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erikff to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
73 226990 Jan 12, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $340.72
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.68
9.47
9.1
05_105mmEX_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5