about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 157082 Sep 19, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $234.36
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.21
9.48
9.1
05_02_1_

Specifications:
To maintain high optical performance from infinity to close-up 1:1 (life-size) macro photos without accessories, the new Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX incorporates a "floating" element focusing system.

Designed as a quick-focusing macro lens the AF speed of 50mm, f2.8 EX Macro is 1.4 times faster than previous 50mm f2.8 macros. It features a non-rotating front lens group which makes it easier to work with polarizing filters and has a focus limiter (eg. Full Range; - 9.8 in.; 9.1 in. - 7.4 in.). The Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX Macro lens also features the new deluxe EX external finish.

A handy screw type metal sunshade makes it easier to rotate
a polarizing filter.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
Lasse Eriksson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 13, 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2773
Review Date: Sep 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Good price, 1:1 macro
Cons:
none



Sep 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lasse Eriksson to your Buddy List  
Ron Fischer
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 5, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I have had this lens for 7 months now and I love it! It is very sharp, and the colors are fantastic. I use this lens as my "walk around" lens. It rarely leaves my camera. To see what this lens can do for macro photography, take a look at the pictures posted to my web gallery at: http://www.betterphoto.com/gallery/gallery.asp?memberID=125176 This picture captured first place in the macro category in BetterPhoto's January, 2006 monthly contest: http://www.betterphoto.com/gallery/big.asp?photoID=1618768&catID=&style=&rowNumber=84&memberID=125176
Cons:
To acheive 1:1 macros you must be about 2 inches from the subject. This can be difficult if you want to shoot insects. Also, the lens "hunts" in low light conditions.

For those looking for an economical macro lens that will give you outstanding 1:1 shots, and will also serve as a good "walk around" lens, look no longer - this is the lens for you!

Jul 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ron Fischer to your Buddy List  
mlade10
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 7, 2005
Location: Serbia & Montenegro
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, contrast = UNBEATABLE...good EX built quality...,1:1, match this value for the money?!...
Cons:
...slower AF focusing (as per most macro's)... ...NONE for the price.

WINNING LENS!...start enjoying the colors!

Apr 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mlade10 to your Buddy List  
rocketpop
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1300
Review Date: Apr 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good build, super sharp, great color and contrast. Accurate focusing. Optimized coatings, no vignetting, and good CA. (DG Version)
Cons:
Extends quite a ways when focusing. Not blazing fast at focusing, either (use the focus limiter! It helps). Would like USM and would REALLY like full time manual focus. The non-dg version may not work with the 20d (depends on the year). I had to return a non-DG and get the DG.

As previously stated, I'm using the DG variant.

Some of the non-dg versions work with the 20d/10d/etc, but some won't. The used version I got wouldn't, so I returned it for the DG.

The color, contrast, and sharpness of this lens are second to none. It is best of any 35mm lens I own, or have owned (100mm F2.0 was previously the nicest). We plan to start using this lens some in the studio. I've already taken it on location for weddings, and it performed admirably for detail shots.

It is a macro, and like all macros, it doesn't focus very fast. Use the limiter switch, and you'll see a great improvement. The extending barrel is a bit annoying for macro, but not overly. I do wish it had a full time manual focus ring.

Overall: Great lens! Best picture quality of any lens I own.


Apr 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rocketpop to your Buddy List  
Lars Johnsson
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2003
Location: Thailand
Posts: 33640
Review Date: Mar 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $270.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, 1:1 life size macro, cheap price, nice finish
Cons:
lens barrel extends a lot

I bought the EX DG version after using the non-DG for a week. But I can't really see any diference in image quality.
It's a sharp lens for a very good price


Mar 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lars Johnsson to your Buddy List  
KLH2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Dec 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp Lens. For the price, I would say outstanding. Well built.
Cons:
Don't care for the finish.

I think that this lens is outstanding for the price and works well with the Canon Digital Rebel XT. The Focus is a little noisy but not all that bad. Do not have hunting problems with it at least.

It is sharper than the Canon 50MM lens and the color saturation is very good.


Dec 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add KLH2 to your Buddy List  
Lani Kai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 782
Review Date: Dec 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $185.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Dangerously sharp. Beautiful, creamy bokeh and beautiful price too. Lightweight and good build.
Cons:
Working distance, slow AF (though that doesn't really matter on a macro lens).

I got this lens from someone on this site, and although I've only had it for a week and a half, I really love it. It is by far the sharpest lens I have, and it's a very good deal for the price. I don't shoot insects so I don't really mind the short working distance, but if you do, then you may want to go for something longer, like the 105mm. The screw-in hood makes using a polarizer easy, but it also means that it can't be attached backwards while not in use. Not really a big deal.
In short, I'm really impressed by this. If anything, this is a far better choice than the EF 50mm f/2.5 compact macro because this does 1:1 for a lower cost, and it's EXCELLENT. Truly worthy of the EX badge.


Dec 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lani Kai to your Buddy List  
dcains
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7377
Review Date: Nov 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing sharpness, contrast/color, and beautiful bokeh. Great price, too.
Cons:
Noisy focus motor, perhaps the durability of the finish?

It's hard to describe how impressed I am with this lens. If Sigma charged $500, I'd still be happy with it, but at less than $200 (new lens purchased from an eBay dealer), I'm ecstatic. I'm using this lens on my 10D and it's not only a great macro lens, but also a nice "walking around" lens for landscapes and portraits, too. I guess I'm most impressed by the ease with which I can manipulate the depth of field on my shots, and the resultant bokeh is the smoothest I've ever seen. The background colors just seem to melt into one another seamlessly, absent the slightest hints of ghosting or graininess. Focus is noisier than Canon's USM, but not bad, and it's just about as quick on my 10D. For 1:1 macro's manual focus is the way to go, anyway. My only worry is that the "fuzzy" finish Sigma uses on it's lenses might not be as durable as the smooth paint Canon has on its lenses. I also appreciate that the lens is very well-made, compact, and lightweight. Comes with a lens hood, too, but not a bag or case for the lens.

I always shoot in RAW, and I find myself leaving many (sometimes all) of the pictures nearly untouched in post processing, other than the conversion from RAW to JPEG. The colors and contrast are that good. Many times just a touch of CS2's USM is required, but much less than I'm used to.

I bought this lens based on the other reviews here, and also because I am so happy Sigma's 15-30mm f/3.5-4.5 EX DG I recently purchased. These are the first non-Canon lenses I've owned, and I'll be happy to try Sigma lenses again in the future.


Nov 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dcains to your Buddy List  
Entropia
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 28, 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bokeh! Very sharp, solid build, pretty nice portrait lens with APS-C sized sensor bodies
Cons:
It extends quite a bit when focused to 1:1 level

I think this lens is fantastic! 2.8 aperture with the wonderful bokeh combined with APS-C sized sensor digital bodies makes it a nice portrait lens. It's a great walk-around lens also. The one I've been using is my uncle's but this baby is the first thing on my have to have-list, and I'll get it as soon as I get the money. I can't think anything bad about it.

Some pics I've taken with it and my D30:
http://esd.sytes.net/~entropia/kuvaus/bokeh.jpg
http://esd.sytes.net/~entropia/kuvaus/teraevae.jpg
http://esd.sytes.net/~entropia/kuvaus/citizen.jpg

No radical post-processing in any of the above shots, just basic resizing and a little unsharp mask. teraevae.jpg (sharp.jpg) is a bit unsuccesful due to camera movement just before taking the shot (the tip of the screw isn't sharp).


Oct 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Entropia to your Buddy List  
PaulRobin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super net and contrasted, one of the best
Cons:



Oct 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PaulRobin to your Buddy List  
ToxicBug
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 36
Review Date: Jul 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $190.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, even wide open. Great optical quality, great colors, awesome bokeh. One of the sharpest lenses ever. Nice EX finish, feels like a real piece of good glass.
Cons:
The autofocus is slow and noisy. Not enough working distance for some serious macro work.

I've bought this lens because I needed a 50mm and wanted to try out macro photography, but didn't have money for lens especially made for macro. Now I use it as my main lens since its optical quality is amazing and everything can be shot with it, except for sports. It has a metal mount and is built very well. The optical quality and versatility is what this lens is all about.

Jul 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ToxicBug to your Buddy List  
adydula
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 13, 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 196
Review Date: Jun 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $239.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, price, price Comes with a hood! Good build quality...
Cons:
Working distance.... Bokeh is nice Useable autofocus on 20D, very useable...

I was stunned at how great pictures are coming from this lens combination and my Canon 20D.

Autofocus is very useable and manual focus is easy to us as well.

This lens is sharp, contrasty and color is very, very good..the vibrant flower macros of deeply saturated purples and oranges etc look very much like the origninal in a calibrated screen.

Easily hand held on a bright day down to 1/30 and 1/60 for me...even better on a tripod etc...

Wondeful bokeh and easily blurs the background....

I hesitated for long time to by a non-Canon lens and this was a birthday 'lark' that turned into a 'swan'!!

I got the DG verision...I actully ordered the non-dg version but 17th street photo sent me a DG version...ok with me works just fine!

A.



Jun 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add adydula to your Buddy List  
isawuonmontel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jun 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: the EX finish, free metal lens hood, inexpensive, macro thrown in for fun, and this is a photodo 4.2 rated lens
Cons:
ok, this baby will hunt, use the limit switch, helps a lot, kinda big for a 50mm

this is the first lens that i picked based on reviews i saw on the net and i now recomend that everyone read before you buy. since i got this one a couple of old softies have gone bye-bye. reliability has been great, although with that black finnish i am worried whenever i get into really hot and sunny weather, a lens left in a car for example can cause the lubricant in the lens body to leak onto the lens surface ( totaling the lens ) the secriet to white lenses revealed. the glass seems top notch, i am now spoiled with being able to blow up to 12x18 most of the time.
no rechiping needed on my elan 7e, f4 to 11 best,


Jun 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add isawuonmontel to your Buddy List  
joele
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 2, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smooth creamy bokeh, great colour and contrast, very sharp even wide open once stopped down it is amazing, fantastic value for money
Cons:
Does extend a bit too far when 1:1

nice ;-)

Apr 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add joele to your Buddy List  
Geert Soenens
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 25, 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 76
Review Date: Apr 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nicely build, cheap and razer sharp between f5,6 & f16.
Cons:
Non.

The first lens from Sigma i ever bought! (Was a bit afraid actually). I am using Canon and Leica glass. Owned the Canon macro EF 100mm f2,8 USM. (I sold it because macro is not really my thing and i have lots off other Canon glass). I own Leica elmarit macro 60mm f2,8 wich i use on my Canon digital body's with adapter from Novoflex. (Not any more)! My Leica glass is not giving me better pictures then this Sigma. I really was suprised with the quality of this lightweight. Don't be afraid to buy it! Very nice lens!

Apr 7, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Geert Soenens to your Buddy List  

Offline
Review Date: Dec 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rich, creamy bokeh, excellent color and contrast, sharp as a tack, 1:1 for $220.
Cons:
AF hunts and is a bit on the slow side.

I've owned the canon 50mm macro, 100mm macro and now this one. While I no longer own the other two to compare side by side, I generally found the canon 50mm's 1:2 range not quite enough, and the 100mm was to prone to camera shake without a tripod at anything approaching a macro range, so this lens is a perfect fit for one who likes, but is not overly serious about macro photography.

For general use it's also quite impressive if you like the focal length. Sharp sharp sharp, with excellent color and contrast to boot. Considering it's only $220, don't hold back.


Dec 15, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add  to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 157082 Sep 19, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $234.36
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.21
9.48
9.1
05_02_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next