about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
353 744426 May 9, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $3,231.35
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.82
8.19
9.4
ef70-200_28lisu_1_

Specifications:
Incorporating Canon’s second generation Image Stabilization technology, this telephoto zoom responds in as little at 0.5 seconds, while providing up to three stops of correction for camera shake. Its AF system has been refined for better response time and tracking speed. And even the new 8-blade circular aperture offers a more pleasing out-of-focus image. Constructed to pro standards, this fast zoom is also highly resistant to dust and moisture, too.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 138
Review Date: May 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp pictures,fast, accurate and silent AF, very well built, good IS
Cons:
expensive (but worth it), heavy,focal range is more suited for full format than APS-C (but it is according to your use)

Pictures are cristal clear, very sharp, excellent even at 2.8. Un piqué splendide ! as we say in French. Bokeh is nice, contrast and color are wonderful. Before buying it wouldn't believe the reviews and the hype about the lens, but I must I am deeply impressed. I don't use it as a walk-around lens as it is too heavy and on trips I rather use Sigma 50-150 which is lighter but with focusing not always accurate and without IS), yet good pictures quality. This 70-200 L IS is a jewel.

May 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  
JanPhoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 27, 2006
Location: Ethiopia
Posts: 32
Review Date: May 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well build, quick focus, supper optics ... CANON CLASSIC ...
Cons:
Do not see any ....

This lens which I have purchased in addition to f4.0 IS, is truly awesome .... the F2.8 plays a big role here since I love shallow dept of field in images plus of course speed increase due to F2.8 ....

@ As far as color reproduction I say SUPER!
@ Sharpness PERFECT!
@ Focusing dam QUICK!
@ Image Stabilization FANTASTIC!

Over all the BEST 70-200mm lens I have ever owned ! Highly RECOMMENDED!


May 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JanPhoto to your Buddy List  
stopper
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 1, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, Image quality
Cons:
None

I had the F4 version. Good lens but I needed the F2.8 for hockey games.
I considered the non IS but the IS version gives me more flexibility.
It is up to you personally if you want to spend the extra money on the IS.

Great lens.
I highly recommend it.


May 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stopper to your Buddy List  
jj sach md
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 22, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 42
Review Date: Apr 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All been said before: solid build, picture quality, f2.8, IS, focal range.
Cons:
Easy to criticise on price but once you start using it to earn money you are rewarded with quality photos and happy customers.



Apr 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jj sach md to your Buddy List  
Murray Thompso
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6
Review Date: Apr 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I have had this lens for a few months now, upgraded from 70-200 F4L. F4 was good but this goes way beyond. Colours jump out of image, and IS is a boon. Build quality is great. A bit conspicuous to carry around, but you get used to it.
Cons:
None, Quality costs, and this is worth every penny.



Apr 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Murray Thompso to your Buddy List  
novadude
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 18, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, crystal clear picture,
Cons:
heavy, pricy

Owned more than a year, Crystal clear picture, at zoom 200, I can see my running dog's hair, it works like a telescope without using your own eyes. Used with 1.4x as well, result still pretty ideal. This is the a lens you must have if you like sports photography. Wish had owned it earlier. Sometimes the auto focus doesn't always point to the subject I like to shoot, I'm not sure if setup problem or lens'. Anyway, its no big deal since I can always re-lock it before shoot.

Apr 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add novadude to your Buddy List  
lextalionis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1076
Review Date: Apr 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Probably the most useful lens in my bag!
Cons:
Feels like twice the mass as the f/4...but worth every ounce!

Great lens...but you do have to spend some $$ for it! This is one of Canon's 3 "Holy Grail" zooms. Here are some sample photos:

Sample Photos

-Roy


Apr 17, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List  
angel_d_saint
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 9, 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 27
Review Date: Apr 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: BUILD, IS, f2.8, it's WHITE (",)
Cons:
none found yet

i think that weight and price should never be real issues here. if the competition can produce a lens of this caliber that is a leap in price and weight, then i might reconsider. if someone wants a lighter or less expensive zoom, then take a look at the 70-300 IS. hope you know where this is going...

f2.8 is acceptable, but i'd like to shoot @ f3.2 down to f4 w/ higher ISOs in low light whenever i can. so the IS helps here (no, i don't shoot sports).






Apr 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add angel_d_saint to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: IS, 2.8
Cons:
Heavy , costly

I think the idea is good, however the resolving power is not as good as the original.
I am a little disappointed with the weight of this lens. As an all day carry lens it gets very tiresome.
Ever so slightly soft at 2.8, but overall 7 out of 10.


Mar 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
ShutterLover
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 6, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 613
Review Date: Mar 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, contrasty, amazing IS, flexible, build quality
Cons:
Costly, weight makes it a serious tool not a casual stroll-around

I moved up from the non-IS F4 version. That lens, one of the cheapest Ls is a marvel in itself. Beautifully sharp and every bit as good WITHIN ITS LIMITS as any other L.

I wanted something that could hack it indoors, in low light, and have a wider aperture for even greater subject isolation.

The 70-200 2.8 IS hasn't disappointed after a couple of months of use. The IS is ridiculously effective. With steady technique you really can pull off unfeasible tripod-less shots. It's the first Canon IS-lens I've owned. If Canon's other IS offerings are this good then, wow.

Before I bought I was worried about the 'soft copy' stuff you hear on web forums. I believe 90% of this to be pixel-peeping nonsense as so often people post 100% crops fretting that they have a 'soft' copy that look perfectly normal. The 10% with genuinely slack copies can easily get them fixed by Canon. All zooms are sharper stopped down, the question is whether wide open gives a usable result. The 70-200's 2.8 is very, very good - in a word, sharp. You can use it with confidence.

As an outdoor portrait lens it's superb. For creative wedding work it gives you the confidence that you're going to love what you take. It puts that beautiful 'L-series' cinematic gloss on everything.

I like zooms. I've always used zooms since I was a kid. Zooms are part of my creative process. Yeah, maybe one day I'll get heavily into the prime thing but with lenses like the 17-40, 24-70 and 70-200 2.8 IS around I'm in no hurry.


Mar 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ShutterLover to your Buddy List  
aegean2
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Greece
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality, sharpness, low light performance, overall versatility
Cons:
Price, size, weight. (not for me though)

The absolutely best photographic lens out there. La creme de la creme, the mother of all lenses.

True, there are other sharper lenses, other with biggel focal lengths, lighter ones, cheaper ones, more expensive ones too. But NONE of them combine everything the way this baby does.

It is my favorite lens, and since I bought it a year ago, it has come with me no matter where I go, be it a party, a wedding, concert, the islands, the races, or just general sightseeing. Yeah, it's big and heavy, but so am I, so it doesn't really affect me. I have never shot from a tripod with this lens (main reason I bought it with IS), and have taken the tripod ring off. It is a great handheld lens, and after a while you get used to the weight and can hold it for extended periods of time.

I also bought the 1.4X Canon extender, and have found the pictures taken with it to be just as sharp as without it, except at the very lowest of lighting situations. Even then, it's better than anything I have shot so far.

You can't find a better lens than this at any price, and I will keep it till I am old and brittle, unless Canon comes up with a 10-400mm f1.8 lens at some point in the next 50 years.


Mar 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aegean2 to your Buddy List  
Santoso
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 23, 2007
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: USM, Fast Focusing, Sharp and gets the job done.
Cons:
IS is compensated by its weight, but hey it encourages you to go to gym more often heheheh

Truly Canon de la creme for low light shooting. Once you use the white lens, you'll wonder how you ever live without it.

Feb 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Santoso to your Buddy List  
plunkett_uk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 29, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This lens is my favorite (had if a month) - sharpness, speed, build, feel, it's just the dogs ....
Cons:
It's a brick but hey who cares this is a class act!



Feb 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add plunkett_uk to your Buddy List  
aVOLanche
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 159
Review Date: Feb 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp IS is great One of the best lenses $$ can buy!
Cons:
weight(but no heavier than comparables)

One of the truly great lenses available.It's PQ,build,etc are all state-of-the-art.I had the f4 and went to the 2.8IS-a great move up.Shooting anything from sports to weddings to portraits on a 30D is superb.Highest recommendation.

Feb 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aVOLanche to your Buddy List  
eosing
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 12, 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 12, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super lens
Cons:
havent found one yet

What a super lens!!!
this is a must have lens for every event shooters.
very sharp even wide open.
if you add on the 2x converter, it perform at its best at F9


Jan 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add eosing to your Buddy List  
tomoshi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 9, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 20
Review Date: Jan 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, good IS
Cons:

This lens is very good for weddings and event. The IS saved me a couple of times when flash photography is disallowed. at 200mm with IS on, i can take pictures at 1/30th of a second handheld, and sometimes even 1/15th of a second. f/2.8 is a must. Even after adding an 1.4x teleconverter, the focus is still fast. When wide open, the shots are decently sharp and very usable.

Jan 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tomoshi to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
353 744426 May 9, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $3,231.35
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.82
8.19
9.4
ef70-200_28lisu_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next