about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 190377 Jan 22, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $285.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.92
9.7
exef14_1_

Specifications:
This tele extender can be used with fixed focal length lenses 135mm and longer (except the 135mm f/2.8 Softfocus lens), and the EF 70-200 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS, 70-200 f/4.0L, and 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS zoom lenses. Superb optically, it preserves the image quality of the lens it's mounted to and multiplies its focal length 1.4x. Effective aperture is reduced by one f-stop; autofocus is possible on any EOS camera when combined with a lens having an f/4 or faster maximum aperture. The new version II maintains the outstanding optics of the previous version, and adds enhanced weather- resistant construction, and improved anti-reflective surfaces in the barrel.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
          
MISUR
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Feb 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $285.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: WRONG PLACE TO POST "?"
Cons:
NONE

ANSWER IS "NO" AND "YES" - THIS ADAPTOR CAN BE USED ON ANY LENS OVER 135 MM - YOU WILL LOOSE 1 F-STOP - AND AUTOFOCUS ON ANYTHING ABOVE F4
HAVE ONE - LOVE IT


Feb 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MISUR to your Buddy List  
shadow11
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 18, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Can this converter be used with NON "L" lens and get good results, like the 17-85mm IS lens and 300mm standard 4.0-5.6?


Feb 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shadow11 to your Buddy List  
imeod
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Review Date: Jan 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $289.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great build, weatherproof, image quality
Cons:
one f-stop loss

This is a great way add that extra boost to your telephoto lenses. I use it with my 70-200mm IS 2.8 lens on my canon 20D; it add the conversion factors together and I get a 156-448mm f4 IS lens! How can I complain about that? The image quality is also great.

Jan 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add imeod to your Buddy List  
Shaitan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 2, 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 5
Review Date: Jan 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great built (water-proof), Image quality
Cons:
Slight loss of AF speed, Report its presence to the body (which is a problem if you use f5.6 lenses with a non 1 serie body, Price

I am using this extender with the 70-200L IS f2.8 lens. The results are trully spectacular (images are as sharp), especially when stopped down a bit (i.e., f.5.6)

However, the loss of AF speed is an issue if you try to shoot birds in flight.



Jan 2, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Shaitan to your Buddy List  
jan zlin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 23, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Oct 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great transfer of image of 70-200 mm f/4 with-out loss of sharpness and color rendition
Cons:
Don't see any!



Oct 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jan zlin to your Buddy List  
barjanto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 27, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, build, performance
Cons:
price :)

Price almost the same as my Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8. But besides it - no complaints. Images (combined with 70-200mm f/4L USM) are still very sharp. Auto focus just little bit slower - but sometimes feels as fast as without the TC. Wish the 2x can give the same results and performance. Smile


Owned it just less than 2 days. Sample of pictures 70-200mm f/4L + 1.4 TC II @ http://www.pbase.com/boedi/ef_tc


Oct 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add barjanto to your Buddy List  
DEvianT
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 2, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jul 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality, Build Quality, Weather proofing
Cons:
None

Has a superb build quality with weather proof gaskets when used with L lenses. Comes in soft pouch with front and rear caps to seal it. I have been using mine with the 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS with great results doesn't seem to show any of the softness i've found with some cheaper teleconvertors and IS, exposure and autofocus work with no issues. Recommend without reservation.

Jul 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add DEvianT to your Buddy List  
milesd
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 9, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality
Cons:
none

I have read a lot positive comments about the 1.4x II extender. Yet it was really a (nice) surprise when I compared the pictures taken with and without this extender (Lens: Canon 70-200/2.8 L IS USM). There is virtually no loss in image quality.

Jun 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add milesd to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quality / strength
Cons:
none

Optically i find it very very similar to the first version, I sold that one and bought this. Cannot fault this converter. I use it on my 135f2L...spectacular results..and also on my 300f2.8L. I have even satcked it with my 2x and shot the moon wide open..results blew me away. Some CA with both converters stacked, but apart from that excellent sharpness...using a 1DmkII.

Mar 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  

Offline
Review Date: Jan 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great -- No complaints
Cons:
none

best lens product i have ever bought from canon. i used it all year on the 400 2.8 and 70-200 2.8. I notice no virtually no image quality drop off. it is a product i use at virtually every sports shoot i do. only 'small' complaint might be that the front cover looks like a camera body one but is a little deeper. wish it was exactly the same as they get mixed up when you are breaking down from an event in a hurry.

Jan 19, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add  to your Buddy List  
Vettesight
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Review Date: Jun 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Compct and light weight.
Cons:
Doesn't AF on my 10D, although this is a 10D issue not a TC issue

I find it to be sharp, but even sharper when stopped down to f 11 or 13. Sure wish it could AF on my 100-400 IS. I use the tape trick but modify it as i don't like the seeking of the AF. I manual focus with the contacts taped and use the beep and AF light indicator function to confirm AF. I am getting pretty good at this and the images are sharp.

Jun 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Vettesight to your Buddy List  
TwoBoy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 25
Review Date: Jun 12, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good image quality - I am most happy with this. WELL WORTH BUYING.
Cons:
Expensive item but you get what you pay for.

My review is based on Canon 10D + 100~400L lens. I have not tried it with any other lens.

I am very "anti-extender" so I might be forgiven for trying to find fault any way I can. With my 100~400L IS USM lens it works very well and the IS handles it well at full zoom. AF is automatically disabled with the stated lens so don't expect it - the only negative. It feels as though it belongs with this lens. At time of writing I have only tried it in disgusting light and it has come through this small test like a very good thing.

Kruger Park results - 10D (1.6) + 100~400 + 1.4 X II = a 224~896mm lens which is still hand holdable by strong people - that's dammed good going by any glass. No drop off in image quality was noticed, if there is it's not really noticeable. This is an essential for the wildlife photographer.

It would be a big plus not to lose AF with the 100~400L lens, there must be some way for Canon to address this without user resorting to taping contacts which may cause other serious problems long term.


Jun 12, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add TwoBoy to your Buddy List  
wkoffel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: May 11, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tight optical coupling yields very little loss of light, good color, great sharpness.
Cons:
Works with a very limited range of lenses.

I use this extender all the time on my Digital Rebel with a 70-200/2.8L IS lens, giving an effective focal length of 448mm !

My only regret is that this extended has the deep glass which juts out too far to use on many other lenses. A more generic manufacture would help turn things like my 50mm into a 100mm, and give a more useful walking-around range to my 17-40/4L

Also, it's a little annoying that the standard Canon lens cover doesn't fit on this. I always have to be sure I keep the deeper lens cover with this extender, rather than swapping around indiscriminately.


May 11, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wkoffel to your Buddy List  
Lars Johnsson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2003
Location: Thailand
Posts: 33649
Review Date: Nov 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, Build quality
Cons:
Expensive

It works fantastic together with my EF 135 f/2 and EF 300 f/4 IS.

Nov 21, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lars Johnsson to your Buddy List  
Dave Hughes
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 11, 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 240
Review Date: Aug 16, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The Optical quality is very good, it's small and fits in any bag.
Cons:
Slight loss of sharpness as expected.



Aug 16, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dave Hughes to your Buddy List  
Henk Bos
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 28, 2002
Location: Jordan
Posts: 4153
Review Date: Jun 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Never notice it except for the increase in focal lenght. In other words: superb!
Cons:



Jun 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Henk Bos to your Buddy List  

   



Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 190377 Jan 22, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $285.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.92
9.7
exef14_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next