about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 189501 Jan 22, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $285.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.92
9.7
exef14_1_

Specifications:
This tele extender can be used with fixed focal length lenses 135mm and longer (except the 135mm f/2.8 Softfocus lens), and the EF 70-200 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS, 70-200 f/4.0L, and 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS zoom lenses. Superb optically, it preserves the image quality of the lens it's mounted to and multiplies its focal length 1.4x. Effective aperture is reduced by one f-stop; autofocus is possible on any EOS camera when combined with a lens having an f/4 or faster maximum aperture. The new version II maintains the outstanding optics of the previous version, and adds enhanced weather- resistant construction, and improved anti-reflective surfaces in the barrel.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
      
Stephen Cooper
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 14, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extends without any noticeable loss (to me!) in quality.
Cons:
Non really

Overall very pleased with this extender. Currently i can only use it with my EF70-200 f/4. It drops a stop down to f/5.6 but it the lens is still very usable at this aperture.

This shot: http://www.scphoto.co.uk/pages/pictures/737landing.jpg was taken in the rain on an Eos 5D EF70-200 f/5.6 1/320 iso 500 Focal length was 280mm.

The price quote above is a rough conversion of GBP to USD. The actual price I paid was 201.50 from Calumet.

To answer a question below the recent edition of EOS magazine had a correction stating that the 1.4EX works with the new 70-200 f/4 IS lens works with all Canon Extenders (the previous edition claimed it didn't).

Conclusion:

Superb accessory. Might not get a great deal of use but for a relatively low(ish) cost your get an extra .4 of a lens.


Jan 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Stephen Cooper to your Buddy List  
chris frank
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 12, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sounds good, better then 2x
Cons:
Does it work w/ 70-200 F/4 L IS??

The info for both the 1.4x & 2.0x Canon Extenders state that they work w/ F 70-200 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS, 70-200 f/4.0L, BUT what about the 70-200 f/4.0L IS?? neither review state anything about the f4 w/ IS. I assume it works w/ that lens, but wanted to confirm.
Thanks


Jan 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chris frank to your Buddy List  
ukcolin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 12, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superb performance - loss of quality hardly noticeable
Cons:
Restricted compatibility with the range of Canon lenses



Oct 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ukcolin to your Buddy List  
JanPhoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 27, 2006
Location: Ethiopia
Posts: 32
Review Date: Sep 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Blasting Quality !!!
Cons:
Nono ....

I am using it with 70-200 /2,8 IS and it's good, really good ...

Sep 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JanPhoto to your Buddy List  
LgnAdams
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 27, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 219
Review Date: Sep 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: It gets you closer.
Cons:
One stop light loss, slight loss of contrast.

I've used two of these converters. The first was rented from Rentglass.com and was visibly soft when mounted on my 70-200 2.8, I could tell in the viewfinder. Stop it down to an effective aperture of f/8, though, and it's sharp as can be.

I got lucky on the second, though. It was new from B&H and was sharp as a tack. I shoot it wide open and the images are incredible. Very happy with it.

My advice would be to buy one from a dealer that lets you return it for a different copy until you get a sharp one. NOTE: They also seem to hold their value extremely well, you can see them get sold here and on eBay for about what I paid for one brand new.


Sep 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LgnAdams to your Buddy List  
rslee
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 57
Review Date: Jul 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $279.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Steller performance
Cons:
None

If you are in need for 1.4x, look no further. This is it!

Jul 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rslee to your Buddy List  
nputtick
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 17, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11
Review Date: Jun 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: It works, simple as that. Great build quality and fit. Small size ideal for travelling.
Cons:
None that I can see if used with Canon L lenses. Perhaps a little expensive. Only works with L lenses owing to protruding front element.

I am using this with a 5D full frame dSLR.

My initial test shots suggest that the IQ when used with the 300mm f4 L IS is not noticeably decreased (viewing at 100%). That suggests that the prime lens on its own is outresolving the sensor, and that adding the convertor (which will reduce resolving power), does not reduce the actual total optical resolution below that of the sensor.

With this lens the AF and IS still work perfectly.

It also works well with my 70-200mm f4 L zoom, though I would only use it for part of its range, from about 140 - 200 as marked (so effectively 200 - 280mm) to avoid duplicating focal lengths. There would be litle point in using it at a marked 100mm (effective 140mm) with the convertor, as that
is part of the native range of the lens - why intentionally reduce the aperture and (theoretical) resolution?

Someone below comments on its use with the 100mm f2.8 USM macro. I would point out that it does not fit that lens, as the protruding front element of the convertor will not fit in the lens mount recess of the macro lens - so don't try it!


Jun 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nputtick to your Buddy List  
incdigital
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: May 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $175.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Best 1.4x tele converter for canon L glass, Retains most of the IQ that the lens its mounted on, WeatherProof, L Build
Cons:
none



May 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List  
wendyc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 29, 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6
Review Date: Apr 20, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Difference between older and II version?
Cons:

Sorry, can I ask a question please? I can get the older version for a third of the price, is it worth getting it do you think? its not the II, just Canon Extender EF 1.4x.
Thanks in advance
Wendy


Apr 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wendyc to your Buddy List  
Tristan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 18, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 264
Review Date: Apr 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solid as a rock, little or no degradation in image quality. Saved makes your long primes longer :)
Cons:
None.

Great product, does what it says on the tin.

Apr 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Tristan to your Buddy List  
beerslammer666
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 12, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros:
Cons:

In response to the previous post, you need the Sigma dedicated 1.4x teleconverter with the Sigma 70-200mm.

Apr 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add beerslammer666 to your Buddy List  
tracksphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $240.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: N/A
Cons:
N/A

I just bought this off Ebay and it works fine on my Canon 300mm F/4 lens but will not connect to my Sigma 70 - 200 f2.8 lens.

Should this work on my Sigma lens?


Mar 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tracksphoto to your Buddy List  
tracksphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $240.00

Pros:
Cons:

I bought a used Canon extender and it works fine on my Canon 300mm f4 lens, but I also have a Sigma 70-200 f2.8 lens and it will not connect.

I am shooting a canon 20D

Is there a reason?


Mar 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tracksphoto to your Buddy List  
go4it
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Sep 2, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 746
Review Date: Mar 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $288.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: It's basically an "L" quality extender for several high-quality Canon single length telephoto and zoom lenses. Deadly sharp!
Cons:
Almost 300 bucks for an extender doesn't thrill me (but the quality does!) Held steady, I can't see a loss of image quality.

Losing the AF on my 100-400 with this extender wasn't a big deal. I tried the "tape trick" on the correct contact points and, OK, the AF was restored ... but the lens was too touchy and "snoop-focused" anyway so ... no gain, some pain.

With the 100mm f/2.8 macro, this thing is wickedly sharp. With the 70-200 and the 100-400, it gives you two lenses that are a real handful to control. Biggest tripod you have is required.

All in all, it's a "must have" accessory in my bag.


Mar 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add go4it to your Buddy List  
joeyseager
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 19, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 67
Review Date: Mar 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Can't fault it for optical quality or mechanical construction. The best available.
Cons:
Limited applicaiton - compatible with only a narrow range of Canon lenses

I only own one lens that I can use this with: the 300mm f/4 L IS lens. The converter degrades the image slightly but this means the images I get from the lens are superb rather than perfect...

This unit is a world apart from lesser third party converters. It is built like a tank and optically it is so well matched to the lenses for which it is designed that the images made with it are up to professional standards.

It's quite expensive but much cheaper than buying an extra lens.

There's been some comment about why it's a 1.4x converter and not a 1.5x converter. The answer is in the maths. 1.4 (to one decimal place) is the square root of 2. A 1.4x converter therefore reduces the area covered in the field of view of the lens by a factor of 2 - or the linear dimensions of the field of view by a factor of 1.4. A 2x converter reduces the area covered in the field of view of the lens by a factor of 4, not 2. There have been some 1.5x teleconverters marketed but I believe these were actually 1.4x converters benefitting from 'creative marketing'.


Mar 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add joeyseager to your Buddy List  
coppertop
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1434
Review Date: Feb 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: You don't loose any quality.
Cons:
Why couldn't it be a 1.5x

Bought this to use with my Canon 70-200 f4L. Absolutely no reduction in clarity. The AF does get sensative in low light conditions but in average to bright light, no difference.

Never understood why companies built 1.4x and 2x teleconverters. Why not 1.5x and 2x?

This is a good compliment to any telephoto L lens.


Feb 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add coppertop to your Buddy List  




Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 189501 Jan 22, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $285.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.92
9.7
exef14_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next