about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 124872 May 27, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
72% of reviewers $510.18
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.33
7.87
7.8
2145NCP_180

Specifications:
New cosmetic design
Exclusive Silent Wave Motor enables ultra-high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful super-quiet operation
VR operation offers the equivalent of using a shutter speed 3 stops faster at 120mm
2 Extra-Low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for minimized chromatic aberration
G Type DX Nikkor is designed exclusively for use with Nikon SLR models where aperture is controlled from body
Nikon D-Type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes
2 Aspherical lens element for low distortion
Internal Focus (IF) design for smoother focusing and great body balance
Rounded diaphragm to make out-of-focus elements appear more natural
First Nikon wide-angle zoom lens with Vibration Reduction (VR)
Compact and lightweight
Fully compatible with D1X, D1H, D100, F5, F100, N80, N75 and N65

Filter Size 77mm
f/Stop Range 4-22
Minimum Focus Distance 1.5' (0.45m)
Magnification Not Specified by Manufacturer
Angle of View 84 to 2030' (61 to 1320' in DX-format)
Groups/Elements 13/17
Length 4.1" (103mm)
Maximum Diameter 3.3" (84mm)
Weight 23.6 oz (670g)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
phiggys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Review Date: Jan 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Good Zoom range AFS and VR sharp quality optics.
Cons:
None what so ever.

This is now my standard lens its certainly lightweight in comparison with the AFS 28mm-70mm f2.8 that I also own.
I may well replace/trade in for another 24mm-120 VR.
Yes I think its that good!


Jan 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List  
yurasocolov
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: Nov 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, sharp, VR, inexpensive (relatively), lightweight and compact.
Cons:
None per se.

It's an excellent everyday zoom. VR is very helpful, i like this lense better at the tele end, as opposed to the wide end, mostly due to some image distortion at the wide end.

Yes, it's consumer grade, but this is probably the best combination of zoom rage, glass quality and price possible.

Overall, i am very happy


Nov 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add yurasocolov to your Buddy List  
henkm
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 1, 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sep 8, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast AF, very usefull range, VR is superb.
Cons:
None, if you consider the price.

I love this for a walk around lens, decent tele, decent wide, fast.
Maybe not the sharpest, but the best you can get in this pricerange, given the fact you get VR with it.

Performance/price ratio very good!


Sep 8, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add henkm to your Buddy List  
Chad Gladstone
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Review Date: Jul 1, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $510.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Extremely useful range - even for aps/digital; minimal distortion at tele end and controlled CA throughout the zoom range; fast af-s focusing on virtually any body; VR very practical at the long end - even in moderate lighting; size and weight very managable for its difficult zoom range; lens hood is included.
Cons:
Not the sharpest lens out there and some distortion at wide angle (could greatly benefit from DXO); consumer grade design (variable aperture and reversed zoom/focus rings).

When I first received this lens I was a little disappointed by its sharpness but that was solely because I was shooting a legendary pro VR lens exclusively up until that time. When compared to other consumer grade optics this lens performs extremely well - especially considering the difficult zoom range it covers. That versatility, coupled with the practicality of VR makes this lens one of the finest optical compromises (a size and budget conscious) consumer can buy. It is simply the best wide to medium tele travel lens Nikon currently has to offer and despite the QC problems that some early adopters reported, I have not had, nor heard of such problems by other consumers in some months.

Jul 1, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chad Gladstone to your Buddy List  
bstrle
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 13, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 600
Review Date: Apr 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $565.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Phenomenally sharp images, very fast focus, nice wide aperature
Cons:
None

I purchased this lens after playing with one at a Nikon School seminar. I have had a love affair ever since. This has become my "standard" lens. It remains on my D1X for most of my "utility" shooting. Buy one, you will be delighted with it!

Apr 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bstrle to your Buddy List  
scorpio_39
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2003
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 6
Review Date: Mar 22, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $485.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Glass and optic design outstanding, weight to size ratio very good meaning it's easy and light to carry around. VR works very well ! AF excelent for my needs.
Cons:
None.

Having read several dozen reviews about this lens and it's predecessor (mostly negative or not so good), I was very wary of buyng it.

Nevertheless, looking at replacing my AF-n Nikkor 28-85mm f/3.5-4.5 -or rather to upgrade to more modern technology- I believed that this lens would be my best possible choice as I do a great part of my shots mostly at dawn and dusk and the VR would hopefully help.

I got my lens two weeks ago and have used it for my last two assignements.

I use Fuji S-2 Pro bodies these days, and at least as far as my particular lens is concerned it is outstanding in optical performance.

I feel that the focus ring should have been at the front instead of behind the zoom ring as my fingers tend to always go the the focus ring first this ring being closer to the camera body where my hand is supporting the camera.

I am mostly a wide angle shooter but my medium tele has been a 180 2.8 Nikkor for the last 20 years and so wouldn't have been impressed by the 24~120mm zoom if not by the very high optical quality of this lens.

Since I am subject to the 1.5 factor with my Fujis, the 24~120mm acts as a 36~180mm.

My zoom lens array begins with the 12~24mm DX Nikkor followed by the 24~120mm (18~36mm and 36~180mm respectivelly in the Fuji).

This lens has become a piece of equipment I automatically include with the equipment to take and has proven to be positive addition to my current set of lenses.

Really outstanding !



Mar 22, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scorpio_39 to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Dominican Republic
Review Date: Jan 23, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 2 

Pros:
Cons:

This lens was out of production for a while. When it came back, I bought one. Before I even got the first shot off, I had to send it back. There were some oily-looking sections in the coating of one of the internal lenses.

It looks to me like Nikon is having some severe production problems with this one. When it first came out, some people got good ones, some got awfull ones. After that, they weren't available for a number of months. It just came back for the US market again. The salesman I asked said it had no problems. I paid $30 more for the USA warantee than it would have cost for the gray market lens because I am worried about the quality.

If they can send me another lens with no defects, I will review it again. Until then, I can't say anything good about it.


Jan 23, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
tschach
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 20, 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 73
Review Date: Jan 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: The perfect lense for travelling...
Cons:
nothing to say...

I'm really surprised about this lens and it's quality...nothing bad so say about it.

I took it as a alround lense when travelling and didn't want to carry any other lenses. It covers a great focal length and the VR helps to use this lense even with the worse f-stop...It's sharp and has a fast AF...

I use it with either a D100 and a F100...so digitally and conventional film...


Jan 2, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tschach to your Buddy List  
gavin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 7, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 468
Review Date: Dec 7, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: I really wish I could find some
Cons:
Soft!

We use several differant lenses for our work and put it this way, me guys don't want to use the body (D100's) with this glass on it.
It is just so inconsistant, it makes it almost unusable. I am playing with differant camera sharpness/hue/constast ect to get it to do a decent job.
I also got the new Sigma 24-135 and WOW! what great piece of glass.
I will be exchanging the Nikor for another Sigma.
Gav


Dec 7, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gavin to your Buddy List  
stromm
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 30, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 441
Review Date: Oct 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: If you can only take one lens this is the lens to take. Sharpness,quick focus,contrast,it's all there. The vibration reduction is awsome,
Cons:
None!!!

I shot a wedding with this lens on my D100, and I could not beleive the snap and Sharpness. I shot some deer in the field yesterday at 120mm wide open at 5.6 and a 1/30 of a second at iso 400 hand held with the Vibration reduction on and I was shocked at the sharpness. No cam movement at all. Check out my Photos in My Gallery.

Oct 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stromm to your Buddy List  
Art B
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 2, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1294
Review Date: Jun 23, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very fast to focus (like the predecessor, AF 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6D). Slightly lighter weight. VR. The IF functionality of the lens does not rotate a polarizer during zoom. Sculpted (or cut away) lens hood.
Cons:
Zoom ring has changed places with the manual focus ring. Less size distinction between the two adjustment rings.

I've owned this lens for several months and a few thousand shots now. Very pleased with the focus speed -- about the same as it's predecessor [refer to "pros"]. AF is also very fast. Barrel distortion on this lens, while not completely absent, is much much better than the non-VR version.

A very visible difference between the VR 'On' and VR 'Off'. Excellent results at the following conditions on a D100: iso 200; 1/45 sec; f/22; focal length 120mm ( x 1.5 for DSLR ); hand held; auto focus. Great to have in low light conditions.

If you want to travel, and carry just one lens, put this one on your short list. [Updated: 22 March 2004]


Jun 23, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Art B to your Buddy List  




Nikon 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 124872 May 27, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
72% of reviewers $510.18
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.33
7.87
7.8
2145NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3