/forum/topic/929565/3804

1       2       3              3804      
       3806              4377       4378       end

georgms
Total Posts: 3493

Ronny _Olsson wrote:
Hi guys
Been thinking for a while about getting a 300mm ED ai-s .. but perhaps found a
300 f2.8 Ai-s for a good price that will be in good condition ..
What say you? Anyone have experience with it?
comes with convertor Tc-14b + Tc-301

Hi Ronny, I have no personal experience with the 300/2.8 Ais, but fellow shooters have one as well as the first AF 300/2.8 and prefer the Ais over the old AF-model. You will absolutely love the super-smooth focusing-ring.
Go for it!

Lieutenant Z
Total Posts: 3039

The Bartholdi fountain (Bartholdi also made the Statue of Liberty in NY) and the city hall of Lyon in the background :

asiostygius
Total Posts: 2680

asiostygius wrote:
jhinkey wrote:
Faster 400mm?

Though I love my 400/5.6 ED AI there are times I wished I had more shutter speed or lower ISO and hence a faster lens. I've considered the 500/4 AI-P, but with the increased magnification I'm really right back to f/5.6 ISO and shutter speed territory for what I shoot (long distance Puget Sound ferry shots).

So, there are faster 400mm lenses out there - preferring to stay with MF if possible as I don't use AF with my 400mm shots anyways.
- 400/3.5 ED-IF AIS
- 400/2.8 ED-IF AIS
- 400/2.8 AF-I D

The f/3.5 does not get the highest review by Bjorn and the one copy I tried did not do the D800 justice (I heavily crop many times). The f/2.8 AIS gets a rating equal to my 400/5.6 ED which would be great.

Anyone of you MF folks have direct experience with the 400/2.8 AIS or the AF-I for long distance shots?

John, if you like, as tomorrow is holydays over here, I can test my 400/2.8 AF-I vs. my 400/5.6 ED non IF at infinity.
Just let me know (don't tell Curtis ).
Of course, live view focusing for best focus possible, heavy tripod and remote shutter with mirror lockup and 5 s delay.

jhinkey wrote:
Faster 400mm?