Canon 580exII v. 600ex on 1D IV
/forum/topic/1178811/0

lite25e
Total Posts: 381

I found a good deal on a Canon 600ex. I currently use a 580ex II on my Canon 1D IV.

I have no intentions of upgrading to the 1D X anytime soon, so the better compatibility with the 5D III or 1D X isn't really an issue. I also don't need and won't use the wireless capabilities of the 600ex.

All of this being said, anyone know whether the 600ex offers anything else for me? Will it offer better AF capability or more accurate ETTL? I don't shoot with flash that often, and I admit that I'm not very experienced with it, as most of my shooting is available light. When I'm shooting with flash, it's typically a party or something else where friends have asked me to take pictures.

Thanks for any advice,
Dan

3iron
Total Posts: 453

It may offer a more clear operating menu than the 580II. I don't have the 580 so can't say for sure.
It also has a slightly stronger flash and may be a little more precise in ETTL mode.
That's about all I am aware of.

jcolwell
Total Posts: 20895

I have 580EX, 580EX II and 600EX-RT flash. The only reason I bought a 600EX-RT was for its "better compatibility" with the 1DX; otherwise, I don't think it's a worthwhile expense when you already have a 580EX II. If you get to the point that a second flash makes sense, then maybe...

RichardLavigne
Total Posts: 5353

For you.... no. stick with the 580's. The only possible difference you'd see is the extra power of the 600 vs. 580, but that's probably not worth the $$$ if none of the other benefits will be used by you.

lite25e
Total Posts: 381

Thanks everyone for your help. I bought a 600EX from Overstock.com, here in the United States, for $488. It shipped from New Jersey, and the product info on the website talked about the wireless capabilities, 1 year warranty, etc.