Help me spend my money! (Another 6d vs. 5dmiii - sorry, but I really need help)
/forum/topic/1177566/0

2       end

Ghostrdr
Total Posts: 29

Sorry for the long post, but I could use some advice.

I'm an amateur (meaning I don't get paid to take photos), but I enjoy photography immensely.

My current gear is: 50d body; 24-70 L lens; 70-200 2.8 IS L lens; 50 1.8.; 580 ex flash

The 24-70 is on my camera most of the time and I mostly shoot candids and portraits of my kids (ages 8 and 10), my family, and our friends. During soccer season and tae kwon do belt testing, I do shoot some action shots. Also, at different events, piano recitals, school plays, etc., the lighting is very dark and I do shoot some with the help of a monopod.

I love shooting portraits, and I love making my pictures interesting. I take advantage of the rule of thirds, and I like candid moments. I also have been known to shoot at like 45 degree angles to make the shot more interesting, or to help tell the story (like convey motion, etc). When I shoot, I play with the focus points a lot. I will often shift and have the focus point on the left outermost focus, or if I'm composing a shot and the subject is on the right side, I will then have the focus point on the right outermost focus. I sometimes will have the focus point be on the top or sometimes on the center.

I used to center-focus and re-compose, but then I found it faster to just make the focus point on the one I wanted and then shoot away, so I have gotten away from focusing and re-composing as the center of the frame not often the part I want to emphasize being in focus (the face, for example).

I'm interested in upgrading to full frame. I almost pulled the trigger on the 5d mark iii a number of times (always seem to miss those ebay sales from authorized retailers), and I'm intrigued by the 6d. Here are some of the things I'm considering in no particular order: