Is my 5D on the way out?
/forum/topic/1173075/0



JPJ2007
Registered: Oct 27, 2009
Total Posts: 178
Country: United States

I have a 5D classic, It's had the shutter replaced under the Canon Recall.
It had 5k after canon checked the true shutter count for me, and I put maybe 10k on it... so maybe 15k clicks total...

I noticed a few days ago when I got back from my Honeymoon, The Long exposure shots I took
are showing up real weird. There are rbg dots all over..... Is my sensor going bad?

Here's what it looks like in Browsing Bridge.... I had to take a screen shot because as soon as I open it up
in Photoshop cs5 extended, It all disappears. I'm wondering if cs5 is Auto noising or auto correcting it
before I can even stop it. Because as soon as I open the raw file, It's there and then it all disappears for a moment.
But, their on every picture.

And, their not stars....

Heres the bridge screen shot....

Note: I'm using this photo because it shows them the best... Obv it's not a good photo....



So once it's opened, all those dots go away after 2 seconds. And their visible on all of my 30 second exposure.



Here is another long that you can see the dots.....



Beni
Registered: May 31, 2005
Total Posts: 8306
Country: United Kingdom

On long exposure shots you will get a bunch of pixels 'maxing out' before the others and getting stuck. The raw converters map these out so you don't see them in the final shot but it is very normal.



JPJ2007
Registered: Oct 27, 2009
Total Posts: 178
Country: United States

Alright thanks

I still may use it as an excuse for the wife for me to upgrade bodies.

I showed her lastnight and got the "Ok how much will a new one be"

lol.



Beni
Registered: May 31, 2005
Total Posts: 8306
Country: United Kingdom

Heck it's hard to decide to upgrade from a 5Dc. Such an incredible camera.



sbeme
Registered: Dec 23, 2003
Total Posts: 17287
Country: United States

I upgraded to a Mark II. I needed the extra pixels.
Still prefer the look of the Mark I files. I wish I hadnt sold by 5D, but I needed the cash to justify the upgrade.
Keep it if you can. Tell your wife you need it as backup!
Scott



Brit-007
Registered: Jul 22, 2004
Total Posts: 2219
Country: United States

I shoot for money and still use the 5D. Will not give it up till it dies.



Jman13
Registered: May 02, 2005
Total Posts: 10449
Country: United States

All cameras have hot pixels like those. They develop more as they age. Good news is that most modern RAW converters automatically get rid of them. Many newer cameras also will do pixel mapping in camera, so when you select that function it will find which pixels are hot and permanently map them out.



Ian.Dobinson
Registered: Feb 18, 2007
Total Posts: 11637
Country: United Kingdom

JPJ2007 wrote:
Alright thanks

I still may use it as an excuse for the wife for me to upgrade bodies.

I showed her lastnight and got the "Ok how much will a new one be"

lol.



JP , so your newly wed as these are from your Honeymoon , and your new wife has said " ok how much?"
Get in there quick and upgrade my friend . In a couple of years I bet the go ahead won't be quite so easy to get

But seriously I don't think DPP cuts the hot/dead pixels out , run your raw's thru a different software and I bet you won't see the pixels .



Garry Burton
Registered: Dec 30, 2007
Total Posts: 622
Country: Australia

Commonly known hot pixel fix for Canon:

Remove your lens from the bayonet and slide on a body cap (I've also done it with the lens on body and lens cap in place YMMV).

Activate your sensor cleaning setting. This disconnects your sensor and remaps your sensor. I usually leave it in clean mode for 60 seconds or so.
Then turn camera off, mount the lens and try a long exposure and see if the hot pixels have been remapped.
Works 99% of the time.

If you find that you still have hot pixels, try the above again but remove the camera battery for a minute or so as well.

Just do it after you've bought your 5DMKII (or MKIII) so you can get away with buying a new body ... haha.

Cheers Gaz



morganb4
Registered: Nov 03, 2005
Total Posts: 5313
Country: Australia

Beni wrote:
Heck it's hard to decide to upgrade from a 5Dc. Such an incredible camera.


+1

I own a 5Dc, a 5DIII and a 1DIV. You can take the 5Dc out of my cold, dead hands.



Jefferson
Registered: May 29, 2009
Total Posts: 4534
Country: United States

Just get some good glass in your preferred focal length...keep the "c"