First time Sports (swimming)
/forum/topic/1168371/0

Dago
Total Posts: 60

Normally i am a People/Lifestyle/Fashion photographer but now I've tried some sport shoots.

Last week i got a phone call from a swimm club guy. He was angry and told me he lost his sports photographer, because he did not want to shoot in there very dark indoor pool. I told him that i am not a sports photographer but he did not care. It was an emergency.
So I wrote a mail to the photographer and asked him what went wrong last time. He answered me quickly. He said it was just too dark and he could not manage to photograph it in the hall. He used a 7D and a 100-400mm Canon Lens. I thought he is a whiner, so i accepted.

A few days later i went out to try it. And it was worse than I thought.
It was cold outside and hot inside. Like a sauna club. My lenses mist up immediately and I could not take pictures. I was on ISO 16.000 @ f/4, a 1/200sec and 300mm was to short... Shutter Speed to Slow, ISO to High and Lens to Short...
And it just got worse. The Light inside was just stupid. The bulbs constantly changed the color temperature. From green to yellow to magenta. Each picture was different.

To get a faster shutter speed and a lower ISO i decided to use a faster (but shorter) lens and crop afterwards in Lightroom.

Main Problem was the color temperature. I could not use the same color temperature for every picture. So i hat to set the color temperature individually in Lightroom for each picture...

Fashion and People Photography is much more easy.

Here are the results:

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

1200px

I think I stay with the fashion business...

suggestions for improvement always welcome!

gazzaf1
Total Posts: 191

When I shoot indoor swimming I always show up at least 30 minutes early and leave all my gear in my bag.

Was flash not allowed? Where I shoot only off the blocks is where flash is not allowed.