OT: Help my LR 4.2 fly - whats in your box?
/forum/topic/1162286/0

1
       2       end

morganb4
Registered: Nov 03, 2005
Total Posts: 5313
Country: Australia

***this is not a 'I deleted my preferences file and its all better' thread. This is purely about the hardware platform on your PC if you have a copy of LR that has no/little slider lag in the develop module.

Do you have an installation of Lightroom 4.2 on your PC that in your opinion is well fast and has excellent responses in the develop module.

If so please post (privately if you want) your MB model & socket, RAM model and CPU. I am particularly interested in single-die quad-core solutions on gigabyte boards but I will take what I can get.

TIA
Ben



Scott Mosher
Registered: Oct 23, 2006
Total Posts: 2447
Country: United States

I'm running
- Asus P8Z77-M Pro motherboard
Intel i7 2700k @ 3.5gh
Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) dual channel memory (4x4GB modules)
OS, LR, some programs installed on SSD #1
SSD #2 scratch disk with LR/windows cache

LR 4.2 flies on my machine. Almost no delay when changing images in develop pane.



morganb4
Registered: Nov 03, 2005
Total Posts: 5313
Country: Australia

Thanks!....Even the noise sliders are good?



SloPhoto
Registered: Feb 18, 2008
Total Posts: 2755
Country: N/A

Im running..

i5 2500K @3.6ghz (I think, could be 3.8)
16gb ram
2 ssd drives

I would NOT say that it flies, and unfortunately upgrades from where I am get pricey fast.

(I do use a custom built nas for files, but the cache is on the second ssd and my delays are mostly cpu based it seems)



D. Diggler
Registered: Dec 27, 2011
Total Posts: 5940
Country: United States

morganb4 wrote:
Even the noise sliders are good?


How do you define "good"? When looking at an image at 100%, what's acceptable lag for display of a noise-reduction change?



Scott Mosher
Registered: Oct 23, 2006
Total Posts: 2447
Country: United States

Noise sliders are great. I can move it back & forth and see the change happen almost instantly



amonline
Registered: Jul 16, 2006
Total Posts: 6980
Country: United States

I know my specs are beyond what you inquired on, but I thought you may be able to compare to others.

Intel i7-980X Extreme Gulftown 3.33GHz Six-Core Processor Overclocked to 4.0GHz
ASUS Rampage III Extreme 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboard
Corsair Dominator-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1866 RAM with Airflow Fan
(2) Intel X25-M Mainstream 2.5" 160GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) in RAID0
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

I didn't list my storage drive because I typically run everything from the OS drive and manually backup to the internal drive sporadically. Regardless, it plays no role in the performance.

As I've mentioned in the past, I've tried the SSDs as JBOD and RAID0. There was no difference. I was just too lazy to swap back to JBOD after I setup the RAID. Obviously, newer SSDs would be able to improve that area.

The machine is obviously scorching fast. During LR4.1 I deleted the preference file and purged all memory. That was the main thing that fixed LR. LR4.2 has retained the speed without a hiccup. My mobo also allows me to do all the BIOS-side tweaks mentioned across the web. I did similar adjustments when I built the machine a year ago. Running tests against others with similar spec levels has shown that the only bottleneck is now the processor. Since it's Intel's 3rd fastest processor (at one year old), I have no desire to upgrade for at least another year or two. (knocking on wood)

With regard to your inquiry, I have no delays in development at all. No sliders delay for me at any time. They did on the initial release of LR4.0. The only thing that will slightly slug for me personally is the brush if I have it set to auto-mask. Of course, this is where I'm my own worst enemy. I do my healing and cropping on my last pass. Swapping back and forth between these two tools is probably the hardest thing on the system. However, I still get through a wedding (cropping & cloning) in about an hour. That's cropping an average of 500 images and cloning probably 20-25% of them.

LR still exhibits the few seconds delay upon the first load of the develop module. Apparently, this is something Adobe cannot fix as it's done this for the entire LR4 release so far. It started that with the new process in 4.0. However, that is the only delay I experience. Moving image to image is practically instant.

Hope that helps in some way.



D. Diggler
Registered: Dec 27, 2011
Total Posts: 5940
Country: United States

Scott Mosher wrote:
Noise sliders are great. I can move it back & forth and see the change happen almost instantly


At 100% view?



Scott Mosher
Registered: Oct 23, 2006
Total Posts: 2447
Country: United States

D. Diggler wrote:
Scott Mosher wrote:
Noise sliders are great. I can move it back & forth and see the change happen almost instantly


At 100% view?


Yep



amonline
Registered: Jul 16, 2006
Total Posts: 6980
Country: United States

The one slider that takes a second to show the difference is my luminance slider in the noise reduction. I sometimes bump that to about 20 on very high ISOs. That takes about 1.5 seconds to show.



BGP1
Registered: Oct 06, 2008
Total Posts: 902
Country: United States

Scott Mosher wrote:
D. Diggler wrote:
Scott Mosher wrote:
Noise sliders are great. I can move it back & forth and see the change happen almost instantly


At 100% view?


Yep


Mine too. Similar specs except it's not a "k" processor(which I guess you can overclock?) mine is just an off the shelf Dell XPS 8500 I7 with 16 gigs of ram. No SSD to speak of as of yet and I pulled some images up zoomed to 100% and went to town with the sliders and changes happen real time.



amonline
Registered: Jul 16, 2006
Total Posts: 6980
Country: United States

lol I just checked and found my problem. If you type in numbers in the luminance, it takes longer. My sliders actually do work almost instant. I'd say it updates in less than half a second. I gotta get a hold on my OCD and number typing.



SloPhoto
Registered: Feb 18, 2008
Total Posts: 2755
Country: N/A

I cleaned up my catalog and preferences and my system does a bit better.

I may start culling and editing on the ssd before I push files out to the nas.



morganb4
Registered: Nov 03, 2005
Total Posts: 5313
Country: Australia

Thanks:-) It is helpful. Scotts build is interesting me....


amonline wrote:
I know my specs are beyond what you inquired on, but I thought you may be able to compare to others.

Intel i7-980X Extreme Gulftown 3.33GHz Six-Core Processor Overclocked to 4.0GHz
ASUS Rampage III Extreme 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboard
Corsair Dominator-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1866 RAM with Airflow Fan
(2) Intel X25-M Mainstream 2.5" 160GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) in RAID0
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

I didn't list my storage drive because I typically run everything from the OS drive and manually backup to the internal drive sporadically. Regardless, it plays no role in the performance.

As I've mentioned in the past, I've tried the SSDs as JBOD and RAID0. There was no difference. I was just too lazy to swap back to JBOD after I setup the RAID. Obviously, newer SSDs would be able to improve that area.

The machine is obviously scorching fast. During LR4.1 I deleted the preference file and purged all memory. That was the main thing that fixed LR. LR4.2 has retained the speed without a hiccup. My mobo also allows me to do all the BIOS-side tweaks mentioned across the web. I did similar adjustments when I built the machine a year ago. Running tests against others with similar spec levels has shown that the only bottleneck is now the processor. Since it's Intel's 3rd fastest processor (at one year old), I have no desire to upgrade for at least another year or two. (knocking on wood)

With regard to your inquiry, I have no delays in development at all. No sliders delay for me at any time. They did on the initial release of LR4.0. The only thing that will slightly slug for me personally is the brush if I have it set to auto-mask. Of course, this is where I'm my own worst enemy. I do my healing and cropping on my last pass. Swapping back and forth between these two tools is probably the hardest thing on the system. However, I still get through a wedding (cropping & cloning) in about an hour. That's cropping an average of 500 images and cloning probably 20-25% of them.

LR still exhibits the few seconds delay upon the first load of the develop module. Apparently, this is something Adobe cannot fix as it's done this for the entire LR4 release so far. It started that with the new process in 4.0. However, that is the only delay I experience. Moving image to image is practically instant.

Hope that helps in some way.



swoop
Registered: Feb 11, 2005
Total Posts: 1492
Country: United States

Lightroom 4.2 runs fairly well on mine. I haven't check the response times for lag but it works well enough that it doesn't bother me.

Lenovo X230 laptop
12.5" 1366x768 LCD
2.9Ghz Dual Core i7
16GB of DDR3 RAM
480GB SSD



Jon-Mark
Registered: Dec 12, 2011
Total Posts: 347
Country: Canada

LR 4.2 runs beautifully for me. Windows 7 home built solution

Running Quad core i-7 Ivy Bridge 3770
Asus Sabretooth Z77 mobo
16GB OCZ 1600MHz DDR3 RAM
Running 7 drives in my tower, 3 of them SSD and 2x 24" monitors ( 1920x1200 ) off a Radeon HD 4870



morganb4
Registered: Nov 03, 2005
Total Posts: 5313
Country: Australia

Jon-Mark wrote:
LR 4.2 runs beautifully for me. Windows 7 home built solution

Running Quad core i-7 Ivy Bridge 3770
Asus Sabretooth Z77 mobo
16GB OCZ 1600MHz DDR3 RAM
Running 7 drives in my tower, 3 of them SSD and 2x 24" monitors ( 1920x1200 ) off a Radeon HD 4870



Can you please tell me a bit more detail about your ram?



brett maxwell
Registered: Jan 07, 2007
Total Posts: 1784
Country: N/A

mine works great

BIOSTAR TZ68A+ motherboard
2500K at 4.4ghz
16gb (4 sticks) G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600
OS on SSD
LR catalog/cache on other SSD
raw files on 1tb WD Caviar Black



Manzelle
Registered: Mar 03, 2005
Total Posts: 175
Country: United States

ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard
Intel Core i7-3770S Ivy Bridge 3.1GHz @ 3.6GHz
Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 670
Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD
HGST Deskstar 7K3000 2TB @ 7200 RPM w/ 64MB Cache

Those are the vital guts and it laughs at everything I throw at it...so far.



Jeff Simpson
Registered: Apr 29, 2010
Total Posts: 739
Country: United States

it flies

Intel Core i7 @ 5.0GHz
CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
GIGABYTE GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB
Kingston HyperX 120GB SATA III SSD
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
Apple 27" LED Cinema Display (via displayport)

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10101562637259325.3230612.12431374&type=1&l=085fc1c935



1
       2       end