girl in a railroad tunnel looking for pointers
/forum/topic/1157783/0

rennocneb
Total Posts: 244

Looking for some constructive criticism im new to this style of photography but trying to improve.

rennocneb

one last one a bit different mood here

ben egbert
Total Posts: 5442

First point, don't stand on the tracks!!

I like the 2nd and last best. I don't do this stuff so its just a civilians reaction.

Mister Bean
Total Posts: 558

I like the lighting in all of them.

The model seems somewhat awkward. Like she's bored and doesn't really want to be here.

Bob Jarman
Total Posts: 5765

Not my area of interest but I will offer my opinions, and take it for that, just one person's opinion.

#1 is soft, backlighting too bright and looks as is you caught part of the box, reflector, or whatever it is.
#2 - pose is not flattering, looks as if she does not care, her left knee is awkwardly placed, graffiti at left of frame detracts
#3 - what is it with the hands-to-mouth thing? Curve of tracks intersects her head and leads the eye away from subject.
#4 - pose is not flattering, her facial expression shows disinterest,
#5 - best of the set, lighting is flat

In general, I second Mister Bean's observation about the model.

Her hair is a mess, the wardrobe selection does not flatter her physique (bare shoulders & arms, imo, do not work here, neither does the short skirt). The pouty expressions convey anything but what I'd want from a portrait were I the subject

Lastly, check out tutorials on the "liquify tool" (as pointed out to me by @AuntiPode in a recent post re images of several vocalists). With judicious and tasteful, subtle application, I think you can greatly improve the images.

General question - what is it about railroad tracks? Nearly every set of portraits/senior pictures, etc. at some point includes the ubiquitous railroad shots...

Anyway, my opinions. Why do I not focus on portraits? Not worth losing friends over images they do not like or appreciate.