Formula for posing groups/wedding party?
/forum/topic/1156606/0

form
Total Posts: 3762

Posing groups is just one of the many things that distinguishes refined photography from work that looks unsophisticated, uneducated, etc...and I know I am not very good at this. Do you follow a formula or some kind of logic when posing groups? I often notice everyone in a formal group photo on here has their own poses, each person is doing something different or doing similar things differently, but I suspect there are some very particular rules being followed in order to make the complete composition...and I am wondering what those rules are.

ckhagen
Total Posts: 2132

Do some googling on triangle posing. I always keep the triangles in the back of my head while posing groups.

It's an old technique but still has application in today's style.

RichardLavigne
Total Posts: 5340

^^^Agreed.... I also think the longer the focal length, the better, if you can shoot the group with a 200mm lens, do it.

ckhagen
Total Posts: 2132

Definitely ^^

Compression is your friend with groups. It eases all the distractions while still allowing you enough depth of field to get everyone in focus.

dayinmay
Total Posts: 184

For family group photos, I generally try to:

- Slightly angle everyone inwards
- Ensure suit jackets are buttoned properly (buttoning primer)
- Ask men to put their outside hand into their pant pocket
- Ask guests to put down their purses, ceremony programs, jackets, other miscellaneous stuff
- Ask taller people to stand towards the back, BUT I try to keep family units together (which can lead to unbalanced 'height' groupings, but I'd rather keep families together, y'know?)
- Position people such that the 'totem pole' effect is minimized (ie - avoid head stacking ; position heads so they are in between the two heads of the row in front of them)