New lenses have user upgradeable firmware?
/forum/topic/1155184/0



skibum5
Registered: Jan 21, 2005
Total Posts: 16216
Country: United States

Just noticed that when I tried to load ML firmware and had Canon's newest release on the body it suddenly asked if I wanted to update the body or the lens firmware and it listed the current firmware for each. I've never seen that before when any other lens was on.



WebDog
Registered: Dec 20, 2003
Total Posts: 1343
Country: Sweden

This feature comes up when you do have an upgradable lens mounted on a 5D3 or 1Dx.
Seems the option to upgrade lens disappear when using older lenses.



RobDickinson
Registered: Sep 25, 2009
Total Posts: 3404
Country: New Zealand

The 40,24 and 28 can be done I think (40 already has one out).

I assume the mkII supers can but no one is allowed to...



skibum5
Registered: Jan 21, 2005
Total Posts: 16216
Country: United States

RobDickinson wrote:
The 40,24 and 28 can be done I think (40 already has one out).

I assume the mkII supers can but no one is allowed to...


24-70 II as well



Photon
Registered: Jan 19, 2003
Total Posts: 10008
Country: United States

RobDickinson wrote:
The 40,24 and 28 can be done I think (40 already has one out).

I assume the mkII supers can but no one is allowed to...

This is what doesn't make sense to me. Is the FW update for the 300/2.8 II (for example) tied in with some kind of mechanical update? Why wouldn't I be able to do the update myself on my 1DX? It seems silly to have to ship the lens to Canon for FW.



dehowie
Registered: Oct 22, 2004
Total Posts: 985
Country: Australia

It does make sense as the lenses after the upgrade REQUIRE a lens focus calibration for THIS upgrade.
Other upgrades in the future may not require a focus recal and hence be done on camera but for this one they do.
I think this has been written by several who ave done the upgrade and had it explained by a lens tech.
It's apparent the message re the FW upgrade on the supers is still not out.