Question for T&I Shooters
/forum/topic/1153890/0

Frank Lauri
Total Posts: 3937

How do you all handle the kids with eyeglasses and the possibility of light reflection in the lens? Do they wear them or take them off.

If they wear them, do you pose them or position the lights a certain way to eliminate the reflection.

If you do get a reflection, do you edit the images to remove the reflection?

Thanks in Advance
Frank

scottiet
Total Posts: 435

Hi Frank,

I remove them when possible. If not I try to get my lights up high.

Marty Bingham
Total Posts: 2422

If they insist on wearing their glasses you can get them to raise the ear pieces to tilt the glass slightly downward. That will eliminate the glare most of the time.

Marty

P Alesse
Total Posts: 11483

I'm not an expert, but I have noticed some things. You'll know right away whether there is going to be a problem or not. You'll see the reflection off the lenses from your modeling lamp or even the house lights right away. It has nothing to do with the thickness of the glass but more to do with the curvature and quality of the glass itself. Sport goggles are the worst. They have nearly a 180 degree angle of refraction.

But, getting to the question. You really can't ask the kid. You have to ask the parent paying the check. If I see zero refraction of light. I just shoot it. I know I will be okay. If I see some potential problems, I will start widening out the lights and all the way to 180 if I need to. Since the softbox causes the greatest amount of light reflection, you may have to angle them away from the softbox a bit. There is no set rule regarding what to do. All lenses reflect differently and you have to play with it. Also, be advised that as you widen the lights, you may have to open up the aperture to eliminate any effects of raccoon eyes.