Nikon Capture NX2 won't convert D4 files
/forum/topic/1152537/0

2       end

Matt OHarver
Total Posts: 3922

So this morning on my way to work I shot an accident for the newspaper with my D4. Grabbed my laptop to download and upload to the server. Only to realize I shot in Raw, I don't have lightroom 4 on here(Windows XP) so I downloaded a trial of NX2 from Nikon's site.

Installed and when I try to open the NEF files it won't, it tells me there are no Updates to the program.

I've never used it before, can someone tell me what I might be doing wrong. I need to get these to the office and don't want to drive the 45 minutes home to get that done if possible.

Matt

Bruce Sawle
Total Posts: 4131

Did ou download the latest version 2.3? Have you tied downloading viewNX2 it's free and will allow you to convert the RAW files.

Matt OHarver

I do have 2.3.1 and I will download viewNX2 and see if it will. But I don't remember if it will or not.

Matt

Kittyk
Total Posts: 4405

you are using obsolete version,
Nikon Capture NX 7.5 equivalent can be found here:

http://www.phaseone.com/en-us/Downloads/CaptureOne.aspx

Bruce Sawle
Total Posts: 4131

View NX2 will give you basic editing abilities exposure, color saturation, contrast etc.

vpik01
Total Posts: 587

2.3.4 should work, it does with D600 files... but it is hard to find, use google and search 'Nikon NX 2.3.4 download' and you might get it. The thing that bothered me about it was that when you open up NX2 and ask it to update itself it didn't identify the 2.3.4 load as available.

Mishu01
Total Posts: 2325

Hi Matt,

For dirty jobs (open, crop, resize, convert and many other basic adjustments) you can download a free software FastStone Image Viewer 4. (www.faststone.org). Its very "slim", fast and secure... Works as a charm with RAW files from D4 & D800. Very simple to use.

Good luck!

Matt OHarver