Sigma DP2 Merrill: Have any of you tried it?
/forum/topic/1150855/74

1       2       3              74      
75
       76              91       92       end

rattymouse
Registered: Feb 04, 2006
Total Posts: 4887
Country: China







tsdevine
Registered: May 26, 2006
Total Posts: 1177
Country: United States


DP2 Merrill



-Tim



dovey
Registered: Feb 05, 2012
Total Posts: 112
Country: Australia

I continue to be amazed by this camera but I have found that there it occasionally produces a faulty image with half green and half red. Any ideas?
I am totally blown away by the resolution of the view of The Western Lookout from the Island at Werribee Gorge today. The colours are so accurate and the image is crystal clear with the sharpening turned down to -2 in SPP.

Any advice on getting rid of the red green half and half would be much appreciated.

WesternLookout-2 by doveychicken, on Flickr


_SDI0174 by doveychicken, on Flickr


_SDI0134 by doveychicken, on Flickr



Makten
Registered: Jul 14, 2008
Total Posts: 4045
Country: Sweden

That's most likely an issue with the card. Try a different one.



GeorgW
Registered: Apr 06, 2013
Total Posts: 4
Country: N/A

Im sorry but in this case i dont think its the card. I had the same issue (even worse but also green red halfs). It was also in the raw file and same in JPG.

I sent my camera to sigma. They couldnt reproduce the error but sent me a new one!

Have seen this more than once on the internet now.



tsdevine
Registered: May 26, 2006
Total Posts: 1177
Country: United States

Never seen this in either my dp1m or dp2m. I agree with the person who mentioned the card...try a different brand.



GeorgW
Registered: Apr 06, 2013
Total Posts: 4
Country: N/A

tsdevine wrote:
Never seen this in either my dp1m or dp2m. I agree with the person who mentioned the card...try a different brand.


If its the same error in JPG and raw (if both were taken) i guess its more the camera...

Here is how it looked at my camera (top jpg ooc, bottom jpg from raw)











And here a link to a similar problem with the DP3 (which is worthless for the most here cause you have to be registered to see it. You can see the color blocks even in liveview on that picture!):
http://www.dslr-forum.de/showpost.php?p=10949788&postcount=5



Its not exactly same but close...


tsdevine
Registered: May 26, 2006
Total Posts: 1177
Country: United States


Okay, but it's not outside the realm of possibility that the camera is writing the previously processed image to the card while it's starting to process the next shot. If there's a hiccup writing to the card, it's theoretically possible that it's corrupting the processing of the next shot (which would also impact the JPEG.)

Outside of the card, the only other item you really have control over is the battery...and I doubt that's it. Not sure there is much you can do, especially if you sent it back and got another. If it's an issue across all cameras, then maybe there will be a firmware update coming. I've never run into this so I've been lucky. If it's finicky about SD cards, then I would expect that some people would run into the issue and some may not....hence the suggestion. It very well be a wild goose chase though.

-Tim



edwinIII
Registered: Apr 15, 2011
Total Posts: 262
Country: United States

Still trying to get a workflow down for the DPM's. Here is an image from along the James River in Virginia taken with the DPM1.







neilvan
Registered: Aug 30, 2004
Total Posts: 504
Country: Canada

I am really enjoying using the DP2 Merrill for around-town/street photography, something I have never really like in the past!

2:3

Watered Down by Neil Vanderwolf, on Flickr

Golden Ratio

Over Under by Neil Vanderwolf, on Flickr

5:4

Open by Neil Vanderwolf, on Flickr



rattymouse
Registered: Feb 04, 2006
Total Posts: 4887
Country: China

I have never seen corrupted images like that with my DP2M.



kosmoskatten
Registered: Oct 11, 2005
Total Posts: 3023
Country: Sweden

Maybe try to reset the camera to factory default and see if the problem persists?

If the problem is apparent on the LCD prior to shooting it could be the camera and if the problem is apparent when trying to view the pictures it could still be the camera - or the card. If the card is somehow mucked up it would affect both Jpeg and RAW I guess.

Have your tried the half and half with 3D-glasses on? Sorry couldn't resist. The other images look great though.



sculptormic
Registered: Feb 05, 2012
Total Posts: 1466
Country: Netherlands

dovey, Sorry to hear your problem with corrupted files.

Never encountered this problem with my copy of the DP2m.

Here some streetscenes from Cuba.













dovey
Registered: Feb 05, 2012
Total Posts: 112
Country: Australia

Thanks for all the advice, I will try with a new card and if that fails a factory reset.
The preview on the camera does not show this flaw, nor does it in the preview on SPP, it is only when it loads the file info from the hard drive.
I converted to monochrome and that line of demarcation is very clear on this.
Will let you know what happens.
If nothing gets better, time to use that warrantee from Sigma.



Kibsgaard
Registered: Aug 21, 2007
Total Posts: 214
Country: Denmark

ricardovaste wrote:
Why can't they just make these things quick/responsive ? It surely can't be that difficult I'm sure people would pay a little extra for a quicker processor.



Foveon sensor is different from Bayer Mosaic, and engineering art is not yet developed to handle these files quickly - Bayer Mosaic've been there a long time.



GeorgW
Registered: Apr 06, 2013
Total Posts: 4
Country: N/A

Kibsgaard wrote:
ricardovaste wrote:
Why can't they just make these things quick/responsive ? It surely can't be that difficult I'm sure people would pay a little extra for a quicker processor.



Foveon sensor is different from Bayer Mosaic, and engineering art is not yet developed to handle these files quickly - Bayer Mosaic've been there a long time.


Yes. And its much more data. Its not even slow. You can continue shooting while it works...
I wouldnt pay extra...



tsdevine
Registered: May 26, 2006
Total Posts: 1177
Country: United States


Compared to the original DP1, the Merrills are lightning fast.



Kibsgaard
Registered: Aug 21, 2007
Total Posts: 214
Country: Denmark

tsdevine wrote:

Compared to the original DP1, the Merrills are lightning fast.


The developement is there, it is just a matter of time.



Kibsgaard
Registered: Aug 21, 2007
Total Posts: 214
Country: Denmark

GeorgW wrote:
Kibsgaard wrote:
ricardovaste wrote:
Why can't they just make these things quick/responsive ? It surely can't be that difficult I'm sure people would pay a little extra for a quicker processor.



Foveon sensor is different from Bayer Mosaic, and engineering art is not yet developed to handle these files quickly - Bayer Mosaic've been there a long time.


Yes. And its much more data. Its not even slow. You can continue shooting while it works...
I wouldnt pay extra...


I would, and I also shoot with high MP/ Bayer-sensor, and it is much faster, so you have to get used to it, but because of the IQ I accept it, and are even thinking about buying one Merrill more.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10839
Country: United States

dovey wrote:
Thanks for all the advice, I will try with a new card and if that fails a factory reset.
The preview on the camera does not show this flaw, nor does it in the preview on SPP, it is only when it loads the file info from the hard drive.


This points to a computer problem in my experience. I have seen this before with software corruption and/ or hard drive issues (and SD problems). See if you can replicate the issue on a different system to rule out this variable.



1       2       3              74      
75
       76              91       92       end