I honestly hope no one will laugh at my method..
/forum/topic/1149024/0

arloc1959
Total Posts: 48

I was a film photographer for most the years of my life.. 7 kick-@$$ years living in Germany. Photographing everything! I had a peculiar way of picking my light. I lightly close my eyelids and spin around till i see it. I mean not see it, but oh the h*!! with it. Ive had 3 weeks worth of Mavens crash courses (this digital sh!7 can kis my - ) and I am tired and so here it is da+=it.. .. <---- on his second shot of fine single malt.. This digital stuff is freaking me out guys! Come on!!! Where the hell is the wheel thing and that you stick that .... screw it.. lol ... where TF is that brush thingy you use for .. never mind. found it.. (^@#! .... And where the h#(( are all my pictures going to!!! Someone answer that! Hey guys. Glad to break the ice.. Hoooaaah!

Umm... What the h#(( did i want to say? Oh yeah. How does my digital attempt at this portrait look.. Should I go back to my trusty F1?

arloc1959

OMG it's so da^% big!

no_surrender
Total Posts: 1149

Musta been some nice single malt!

whitewash
Total Posts: 90

Only two shots, really? Dude.

dmacmillan
Total Posts: 4791

whitewash wrote:
Only two shots, really? Dude.

It usually takes four shots to get me that incoherent.

ESC in KC
Total Posts: 2694

Regarding the photo - the ambient is very low and maybe that is what you wanted. But to me, I would have liked it more if you balanced the ambient more with your off cam flash.

arloc1959

Not like shooting the landscapes I'm accustomed to doing.. Do I even have a fighting chance at portraits? I should have diffused my flash too. We had 20 mph winds. Otherwise I'd used one of the few large round collapsable diffusers I have.. As far as post proccess ------- this damn headache ..... "where did I set my Glenlivet"?

arloc1959