Canon EOS 7D Firmware 2.0.3 released!
/forum/topic/1148252/0

1
       2       end

Fred Miranda
Registered: Dec 31, 2001
Total Posts: 17701
Country: United States


Canon just posted a new firmware update for the EOS 7D. (v2.0.3)

Firmware version 2.0.3 incorporates the following fixes:
1. Fixes a phenomenon in which the camera stops working when the auto power off setting takes effect.
2. Fixes a phenomenon in which the maximum number of images that can be captured in a burst may be less than the actual number displayed in the viewfinder.
3. Corrects some errors in the message displayed on the LCD screen when saving RAW images developed in the camera.

The fixes listed above are corrections for the phenomena experienced with firmware version 2.0.0. These phenomena will not occur in firmware version 1.2.5 or before.
Updating the camera's firmware to version 2.0.0 / 2.0.3 from version 1.2.5 or before, will incorporate many new functions into the camera. For the details of these new functions, please see the "Version 2.0.0 improvements" in the history of past firmware updates.

Download it from the Canon "Drives & Software" page.



StarNut
Registered: Aug 30, 2004
Total Posts: 1630
Country: United States

Thanks, Fred!



rebelshooter
Registered: Apr 14, 2006
Total Posts: 877
Country: United States

So, are people actually having issues? Mine has worked flawlessly.



PatrickSweeney
Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Total Posts: 380
Country: United States

Just sent mine in for cleaning, asked for the V2.0 upgrade, and got the V2.0.3 upgrade.

So I can't report on problems with 2.0. Which is fine by me.



andyjaggy82
Registered: Jan 25, 2006
Total Posts: 1286
Country: United States

I had issues yes in regards to number 1. Camera would stop responding after auto power off.



Gochugogi
Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Total Posts: 9604
Country: United States

FW2 was perfect on my 7D. Maybe I shouldn't fix it if it ain't broke...



Wahoowa
Registered: Feb 13, 2011
Total Posts: 1526
Country: United States

Updated mine already. It now works like a 7D to me.



joesmosax
Registered: Jun 21, 2003
Total Posts: 643
Country: United States

Mine has stopped tethering properly to lightroom 4....anyone else having this issue?

Joe



Pixel Perfect
Registered: Aug 16, 2004
Total Posts: 19792
Country: Australia

rebelshooter wrote:
So, are people actually having issues? Mine has worked flawlessly.


Why do you think they release updated FW addressing several issues if no one was having issues. Mine locked up permanently after FW 2 update and has been at Canon for nearly 3 weeks, awaiting new FW to fix it.



sritri
Registered: Jul 04, 2004
Total Posts: 3201
Country: United States

2.0.3 seems broken for me It does not seem to 'remember' custom settings done on CF-II & CF-III. It also seems to forget the ALO setting. It seemed to work correctly with 2.0



Gochugogi
Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Total Posts: 9604
Country: United States

sritri wrote:
2.0.3 seems broken for me It does not seem to 'remember' custom settings done on CF-II & CF-III. It also seems to forget the ALO setting. It seemed to work correctly with 2.0


Do mean it flushed out your prior settings and you had to reset them? Or the C1, C2, C3 no longer work (retain settings)?



WesN
Registered: Jan 30, 2005
Total Posts: 2002
Country: United States

Shreeni,

It does not seem to 'remember' custom settings done on CF-II & CF-III. It also seems to forget the ALO setting.

Meaning it cleared your old CF-II and CF-III settings? Or you can no longer save CF-II/III settings as it always now clears them?

Wes N.






greetobegine
Registered: Apr 08, 2002
Total Posts: 9
Country: United States

Just Upgraded my 7D from 2.0.0 to new 2.0.3 firmware. No problems with either updates.



sritri
Registered: Jul 04, 2004
Total Posts: 3201
Country: United States

Gochugogi & Wes N - My way upgrading is - I clear all custom functions, clear 'all' settings, remove the backup battery for atleast 2 hours and start with the upgrade without any lens on. Over the years and many EOS bodies it has worked well, even for 7D version 2.0.

However with 2.0.3, 'EVERYTIME" I switch off the camera and switch back on, the settings are not retained. Everytime ALO, CF-II & CF-III are forgotten

Another thing to add now is EOS utility (the new one) flashed busy everytime I click on the settings icon



Gochugogi
Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Total Posts: 9604
Country: United States

I left all my CF and C settings intact and, after the FW2 update, they were still there and working fine. I wore my lens and battery during the update and was shooting images in downtown Honolulu a few minutes later.

One thing to consider, perhaps your backup button cell bought the farm. I had one go in another EOS and it was only a short time and a FW change, and I starting blaming the FW for lost settings until I checked the obvious.



dwweiche
Registered: Apr 19, 2009
Total Posts: 1419
Country: United States

Gochugogi wrote:
...

One thing to consider, perhaps your backup button cell bought the farm. I had one go in another EOS and it was only a short time and a FW change, and I starting blaming the FW for lost settings until I checked the obvious.


This is what I also first thought when reading the description. It certainly sounds to me that a bad backup battery could be the culprit. Has it ever been replaced?

Not sure if you have a multimeter and can check the voltage on the battery, but regardless, I would certainly invest a few bucks for a fresh battery and see what happens. I tend to think your problem would be solved.



sritri
Registered: Jul 04, 2004
Total Posts: 3201
Country: United States

Yes I did when updated to Version 2. Brand spanking new from Shack. And BTW, the issue is only with these 3. It happened again as I write



dwweiche
Registered: Apr 19, 2009
Total Posts: 1419
Country: United States

sritri wrote:
Yes I did when updated to Version 2. Brand spanking new from Shack. And BTW, the issue is only with these 3. It happened again as I write


Well, give it a few posts and pretty soon someone will let you know that because theirs is fine, you must just be hallucinating

Hope you get it figured out w/o too much pain... I haven't gone to 2.0.3 yet but will when I get some free time.



Gochugogi
Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Total Posts: 9604
Country: United States

Yep, a multimeter works great for battery testing. I have a guitar tuner that uses buttons cells and have gotten DOA batteries a few times and the multimeter was very helpful.

Anywho, I just updated my 7D from FW2 to 2.0.3 and took a half dozen pics outside and all is well so far. I think it needs a few hard days of use to know for sure but I suspect it will be fine since FW2 didn't give me any problems. I had to reset the time/date but all my button assignments, CF and C settings were intact and functional.



jchin
Registered: Jan 02, 2005
Total Posts: 2696
Country: United States

Thanks. I'll go download now.



1
       2       end