Sony RX1 FF Mirrorless (fixed lens)
/forum/topic/1147292/179

1       2       3              179      
180
       181              192       193       end

fredmirandafan
Registered: Aug 07, 2013
Total Posts: 97
Country: Canada

It seems the lens hood (step-down ring design) for FE 35mm lens can be used on RX1 since they both share 49mm size filter ring? But knowing Sony, they'll probably design the mounting differently to prevent users from bypassing the $200 RX1 hood



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10811
Country: United States

fredmirandafan wrote:
It seems the lens hood (step-down ring design) for FE 35mm lens can be used on RX1 since they both share 49mm size filter ring? But knowing Sony, they'll probably design the mounting differently to prevent users from bypassing the $200 RX1 hood


Because the FE 35 hood is designed for that specific lens (and because of it's unique design) , you would very likely get a little vignetting on the RX1 since it's a brighter lens (faster aperture, F2 vs F2.8) with a larger front element.



sebboh
Registered: Nov 02, 2009
Total Posts: 10680
Country: United States

Tariq Gibran wrote:
fredmirandafan wrote:
It seems the lens hood (step-down ring design) for FE 35mm lens can be used on RX1 since they both share 49mm size filter ring? But knowing Sony, they'll probably design the mounting differently to prevent users from bypassing the $200 RX1 hood


Because the FE 35 hood is designed for that specific lens (and because of it's unique design) , you would very likely get a little vignetting on the RX1 since it's a brighter lens (faster aperture, F2 vs F2.8) with a larger front element.


doubtful, manufacturers usually give a lot of leeway in their hoods. the r1 lens is a fair bit wider than 35mm though. any idea what the actual focal length of the new lens is?



millsart
Registered: Apr 29, 2009
Total Posts: 4879
Country: N/A

Tariq Gibran wrote:

Because the FE 35 hood is designed for that specific lens (and because of it's unique design) , you would very likely get a little vignetting on the RX1 since it's a brighter lens (faster aperture, F2 vs F2.8) with a larger front element.



Hard to say, but I think it very well could work since the RX1 seems to work well with a stop down ring as a hood, so its a similar design principle.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10811
Country: United States

I have my doubts about this hood working but perhaps I'm wrong. I have a similar hood on one of my Pentax lenses and it's designed very specifically not only for the focal length but for the small size of the lens (and, more importantly, the slow aperture). Looking at this FE 35 hood, I see potential problems. I believe that rectangular mask would cover some of the front element on an RX1.









carstenw
Registered: Dec 26, 2005
Total Posts: 15827
Country: Germany

The full image circle is not used, right, so it would depend how far down it would go...



douglasf13
Registered: Apr 09, 2008
Total Posts: 6080
Country: United States

I was wondering about that hood, myself. The thing about the RX1 is, the front element doesn't appear to be as large as it looks, because there is a masked off portion (grey band in pic below) around the outside, although the lens also seems to be a bit wider than 35mm, so who knows?









Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10811
Country: United States

Imaging-Resource had this side by side with the RX1 and the A7r + FE 35 with hood which gives us an exact size of the hood in relation to the RX1 lens.







The hood does crop the front element top and bottom but that may not cause an issue. I'm curious to see someone test this hood out on an RX1.

Quick PS putting hood on RX1 (this actually has both hoods on the RX1):






sebboh
Registered: Nov 02, 2009
Total Posts: 10680
Country: United States

i have to say that if it fits i think it'll work. i think i'm just going to turn out the center of on of my metal screw in lens caps to use as a hood for my rx1 though. that way i can get the exit diameter as small as possible while keeping the hood super slim and super strong.



douglasf13
Registered: Apr 09, 2008
Total Posts: 6080
Country: United States

Tariq Gibran wrote:
Imaging-Resource had this side by side with the RX1 and the A7r + FE 35 with hood which gives us an exact size of the hood in relation to the RX1 lens.







The hood does crop the front element top and bottom but that may not cause an issue. I'm curious to see someone test this hood out on an RX1.

Quick PS putting hood on RX1 (this actually has both hoods on the RX1):






Tariq, do you see what I'm saying about how the entrance to the front element of the rx1 isn't as big as it looks, because of the matte portion just inside the front element?


sebboh
Registered: Nov 02, 2009
Total Posts: 10680
Country: United States

douglasf13 wrote:
Tariq Gibran wrote:
Imaging-Resource had this side by side with the RX1 and the A7r + FE 35 with hood which gives us an exact size of the hood in relation to the RX1 lens.







The hood does crop the front element top and bottom but that may not cause an issue. I'm curious to see someone test this hood out on an RX1.

Quick PS putting hood on RX1 (this actually has both hoods on the RX1):






Tariq, do you see what I'm saying about how the entrance to the front element of the rx1 isn't as big as it looks, because of the matte portion just inside the front element?

i think that is actually behind the second element, can't find the diagram to double check. i've always been curious about it's optical significance, but i'm not sure it negates the size of the front element functionally.



twoeye
Registered: Jan 14, 2011
Total Posts: 429
Country: Norway

The hood of the FE35 has a bayonet outside of the filter thread so it will not fit on the RX1 filter thread:

The hood adds roughly 10mm to the overall length of the lens. It can be left attached to the lens in all situations including storage and when filters are fitted. (The filter ring is located inside the bayonet mounting for the lens hood.)



sebboh
Registered: Nov 02, 2009
Total Posts: 10680
Country: United States

twoeye wrote:
The hood of the FE35 has a bayonet outside of the filter thread so it will not fit on the RX1 filter thread:


so does the rx1 hood though and since the filter thread is the same size it stands to reason that the bayonet could be the same size too.



twoeye
Registered: Jan 14, 2011
Total Posts: 429
Country: Norway

sebboh wrote:
so does the rx1 hood though and since the filter thread is the same size it stands to reason that the bayonet could be the same size too.


OK, my bad. Having bought a used RX1 with third party hood I wasn´t aware of that.



Jochenb
Registered: May 25, 2010
Total Posts: 1812
Country: Belgium

It wasn't really planned, but I have the RRS grip on the way. Someone on a local forum was selling one very cheap, so let's try it out.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10811
Country: United States

douglasf13 wrote:
Tariq Gibran wrote:
Imaging-Resource had this side by side with the RX1 and the A7r + FE 35 with hood which gives us an exact size of the hood in relation to the RX1 lens.







The hood does crop the front element top and bottom but that may not cause an issue. I'm curious to see someone test this hood out on an RX1.

Quick PS putting hood on RX1 (this actually has both hoods on the RX1):






Tariq, do you see what I'm saying about how the entrance to the front element of the rx1 isn't as big as it looks, because of the matte portion just inside the front element?

I do see that but like Derek, I don't know if more than that matte portion of the front element is still not necessary. I don't think we will know for 100% sure until someone tests it. One thing which gives me doubt though that this FE hood will work without any vignetting is that if I use a step down ring with an empty 39mm filter on top, I get a little vignetting. Granted, this is a little further out from the lens but it also does not crop into that front element at all when viewed straight on.













fredmirandafan
Registered: Aug 07, 2013
Total Posts: 97
Country: Canada

Thanks for all your insights on the hood. I guess we'll just to wait for someone to test one to be sure, that's if Sony actually sells it separately, fingers crossed..

On a separate note, the EVF that I ordered two months ago finally arrived on Friday, what a difference it made to my shooting?! Now I can actually do critical focus at f2 when it was impossible before on a tiny LCD screen.

But one problem I notice is the "jaggies" along diagonal and even straight lines. Occasionally smearing and color moire can be seen too. Before my EM1, I probably wouldn't have noticed these issues. But comparing it to the EM1, it's almost like night and day! EM1 has a smooth "natural" look but the Sony EVF has too many digital artifacts. Has anyone else using EM1 noticed this? I just want to make sure I didn't get a faulty one.



carstenw
Registered: Dec 26, 2005
Total Posts: 15827
Country: Germany

Isn't the E-M1 EVF higher resolution?



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10811
Country: United States

fredmirandafan wrote:
Thanks for all your insights on the hood. I guess we'll just to wait for someone to test one to be sure, that's if Sony actually sells it separately, fingers crossed..

On a separate note, the EVF that I ordered two months ago finally arrived on Friday, what a difference it made to my shooting?! Now I can actually do critical focus at f2 when it was impossible before on a tiny LCD screen.

But one problem I notice is the "jaggies" along diagonal and even straight lines. Occasionally smearing and color moire can be seen too. Before my EM1, I probably wouldn't have noticed these issues. But comparing it to the EM1, it's almost like night and day! EM1 has a smooth "natural" look but the Sony EVF has too many digital artifacts. Has anyone else using EM1 noticed this? I just want to make sure I didn't get a faulty one.


I have not used the EM1 but I have noticed these issues with the Sony EVF. Supposedly, the A7r EVF is a big improvement(and similar or closer at least to the EM1) - which is why I hope Sony updates the RX1 EVF.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10811
Country: United States

carstenw wrote:
Isn't the E-M1 EVF higher resolution?


Both have the same resolution - 2359K/2360K dot...ok, one dot off!.



1       2       3              179      
180
       181              192       193       end