Sony RX1 FF Mirrorless (fixed lens)
/forum/topic/1147292/127

1       2       3              127      
128
       129              192       193       end

Jonas B
Registered: Jun 05, 2005
Total Posts: 2421
Country: Sweden

Yes, Jochen, this doesn't look good.
Thank you for your additional thoughts as well.



sebboh
Registered: Nov 02, 2009
Total Posts: 10571
Country: United States

Jonas B wrote:
Yes, Jochen, this doesn't look good.
Thank you for your additional thoughts as well.


i try to keep myself to a strict policy regarding how often i can buy a new camera (not till summer), but i'm having trouble stopping myself from picking up one of the RX-1s on b&s...



Muizen
Registered: Mar 31, 2006
Total Posts: 23
Country: Belgium

sebboh wrote:
Jonas B wrote:
Yes, Jochen, this doesn't look good.
Thank you for your additional thoughts as well.


i try to keep myself to a strict policy regarding how often i can buy a new camera (not till summer), but i'm having trouble stopping myself from picking up one of the RX-1s on b&s...


To be honest it hurts somewhat when I state that my RX1 generates far better image quality than my Leica M9 which I enjoyed using very much for three years! And then I only talk about image quality!
If you would ask me what I might dislike about the RX1 then my answer is: "the absolutely lousy Sony user manual"
For the rest I am very pleased indeed with the RX1 which became, in my rather large hands, even better to handle after I purchased the Gariz half case.
Harry



philip_pj
Registered: Apr 03, 2009
Total Posts: 3103
Country: Australia

I really like my a99 and it's new and very good, but it worked against me in that the RX1 images I was seeing here and elsewhere (often in good hands) looked very familiar, but with a compelling factor X added to the mix...and the 35mm FL with f2 or so is pretty important to general photography..I 'only' have the 35-70 CY, a little slow. It has soft global contrast but very high 40lpmm fine detail. It's a landscape specialist for me.

I'll do a tripod test soon, the RX1 will win hands down re 'sharpness' due to the SLT and 35mm is not the zoom's best FL, nevertheless I want to see. Esp for the rendering comparison, colour, depth, dof at f4-f8. The 35-70 grows on me the more I try to dislike it, even after years with it. It handily sees off my other 50mm lenses for what I want, despite lacking their qualities in other areas.

I'd like to see a RX1 and ZE 35/2 comparison also for these qualities. The thing is: the little camera has two and half more stops of DR at base ISO than a 5Diii. I used to easily see the difference between say, Velvia and Astia, that was about 1.5 to 2 stops. Maybe I am missing something, the extremes might be marginal in appearance...



philip_pj
Registered: Apr 03, 2009
Total Posts: 3103
Country: Australia

You can now buy a 'woodie' for your RX1, no further comment from me:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.349641588481050.1073741825.163362573775620&type=1&l=75a45db908



Jochenb
Registered: May 25, 2010
Total Posts: 1793
Country: Belgium

That grip...

The dynamic range of the RX1 completely destroys my 5DII. If Nikon's D600 & D800 had better liveview and the possibility to use a better focusing screen... I'd be thinking about switching. Just for the similar sensor.



carstenw
Registered: Dec 26, 2005
Total Posts: 15677
Country: Germany

The D800 just got a live view firmware update. You might want to double-check that it doesn't do what you want. It doesn't remove the lineskipping though, but this is more an aesthetic than practical problem in my experience.



Jochenb
Registered: May 25, 2010
Total Posts: 1793
Country: Belgium

carstenw wrote:
The D800 just got a live view firmware update. You might want to double-check that it doesn't do what you want. It doesn't remove the lineskipping though, but this is more an aesthetic than practical problem in my experience.

Oh ok, I wasn't aware of that. Thanks. I'll look into it.



wayne seltzer
Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Total Posts: 4134
Country: United States

philip_pj wrote:
I really like my a99 and it's new and very good, but it worked against me in that the RX1 images I was seeing here and elsewhere (often in good hands) looked very familiar, but with a compelling factor X added to the mix...and the 35mm FL with f2 or so is pretty important to general photography..I 'only' have the 35-70 CY, a little slow. It has soft global contrast but very high 40lpmm fine detail. It's a landscape specialist for me.

I'll do a tripod test soon, the RX1 will win hands down re 'sharpness' due to the SLT and 35mm is not the zoom's best FL, nevertheless I want to see. Esp for the rendering comparison, colour, depth, dof at f4-f8. The 35-70 grows on me the more I try to dislike it, even after years with it. It handily sees off my other 50mm lenses for what I want, despite lacking their qualities in other areas.

I'd like to see a RX1 and ZE 35/2 comparison also for these qualities. The thing is: the little camera has two and half more stops of DR at base ISO than a 5Diii. I used to easily see the difference between say, Velvia and Astia, that was about 1.5 to 2 stops. Maybe I am missing something, the extremes might be marginal in appearance...


Yes, last year I got a D800E for the extra DR, resolution for landscapes, and better high iso performance over my old 1ds3. I have said before that my RX1 would give my D800E and ZF35/2 a run for its money. I am planning to do a comparison some time when I have the time but am too busy with work and prefer to use my spare time shooting.
The other day I shot my RX1 along side with my 1ds3 with ZA135/1.8 converted to EF mount while walking around Chinatown and was brutally reminded about the big differences in DR. As I still have a lot of alt EF mount glass, I still hope Canon gets its sensor act together and delivers a new high rez sensor camera with comparable DR as the Sony sensor in my D800E. Still enjoying my RX1 a lot and would like to take a trip to Japan and meet the designer at Sony who was the master mind behind this camera. I remember Philip posted a link awhile back about him. I forgot his name. Would be cool to get an image with him and my RX1!



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10656
Country: United States

carstenw wrote:
The D800 just got a live view firmware update. You might want to double-check that it doesn't do what you want. It doesn't remove the lineskipping though, but this is more an aesthetic than practical problem in my experience.


Yeah, that last D800 firmware update fixed the main reason I returned by D800E a number of months ago. The soft/blurry 100% LV preview was a distant second, but for me, not a deal breaker. I also had a copy that could not AF consistently but I suspect a different sample would have fixed that. Another colleague of mine recieved a new 7100 that could not AF correctly and a replacement was perfect. Nikon quality control seems to leave a lot to be desired lately.

The Zeiss 35/2 is a nice lens but, after using one extensively on my Sony a900, it's not without flaws and not the best at the corners - or even wide open (due to aberrations)...and that was on 24MP. I strongly suspect the newer Sigma 35 1.4 would be superior and a much better match for a D800.



wayne seltzer
Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Total Posts: 4134
Country: United States

The new D800 FW update doesn't fix any of the LV problems.
Still dark in low light with line skipping movie mode operation with slow feedback/delay for MF'ing.
No wsy to config the camera to use the largest aperture for LV. Doesn't fix left AF sensor problem either.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10656
Country: United States

wayne seltzer wrote:
The new D800 FW update doesn't fix any of the LV problems.
Still dark in low light with line skipping movie mode operation with slow feedback/delay for MF'ing.
No wsy to config the camera to use the largest aperture for LV. Doesn't fix left AF sensor problem either.


Really? I understand that it fixed the always on exposure preview when using Live View. This was a huge problem for me when working with strobes in the studio or on location indoors since the LV preview only reflected the actual exposure settings. Thus, when I shot at say F11 @ 250sec low ISO with strobes, the LV image was completely black/dark/ underexposed. My understanding is that now, in the same situation, the LV image would automatically adjust for whatever the ambient light is. Always On Exposure Preview in LV was one of the major issues Nikon claimed was fixed with the firmware anyway.



carstenw
Registered: Dec 26, 2005
Total Posts: 15677
Country: Germany

Yes, that is what I understood. I will have to try it out. I have updated it already, but haven't tried it yet.

The particular problem which I wanted solved was the problem of black live view when using studio lighting (flash) with the lens stopped down quite a bit (f/8) in M mode.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10656
Country: United States

carstenw wrote:
Yes, that is what I understood. I will have to try it out. I have updated it already, but haven't tried it yet.

The particular problem which I wanted solved was the problem of black live view when using studio lighting (flash) with the lens stopped down quite a bit (f/8) in M mode.


Exactly. It's amazing to me, given the pro target market, that this issue was there to begin with. Pretty much every studio/ commercial photographer that uses strobe had to really wonder what the hell Nikon was thinking.



wayne seltzer
Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Total Posts: 4134
Country: United States

Carsten, pls let me know if they did fix that LV problem.
Here is a list of what they fixed:
http://nikonrumors.com/2013/04/02/nikon-releases-new-firmware-upgrades-for-the-d600-and-d800-cameras.aspx/

Dpreview and Nikon websites had the same list.
I was very dissappointed that Nikon did not fix this LV problem.



carstenw
Registered: Dec 26, 2005
Total Posts: 15677
Country: Germany

Tariq Gibran wrote:
carstenw wrote:
Yes, that is what I understood. I will have to try it out. I have updated it already, but haven't tried it yet.

The particular problem which I wanted solved was the problem of black live view when using studio lighting (flash) with the lens stopped down quite a bit (f/8) in M mode.


Exactly. It's amazing to me, given the pro target market, that this issue was there to begin with. Pretty much every studio/ commercial photographer that uses strobe had to really wonder what the hell Nikon was thinking.


Yes, I found myself switching between P and M all the time. I hope this is gone now. I will try it.



wayne seltzer
Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Total Posts: 4134
Country: United States

Tariq Gibran wrote:
carstenw wrote:
Yes, that is what I understood. I will have to try it out. I have updated it already, but haven't tried it yet.

The particular problem which I wanted solved was the problem of black live view when using studio lighting (flash) with the lens stopped down quite a bit (f/8) in M mode.


Exactly. It's amazing to me, given the pro target market, that this issue was there to begin with. Pretty much every studio/ commercial photographer that uses strobe had to really wonder what the hell Nikon was thinking.

what about Aperture priority mode?? I thought the workaround was to switch into M mode to be able to see and focus and then switch back to A mode and take the shot Canon LV works correctly for me and never had to worry about anything. Selecting between LV using the selected aperture for the shot or using the widest aperture to allow focus in low light and then stop down for the shot should be programmable
Fact they don't means they can't quickly change the aperture before recording the shot in LV becsuse they are maybe using some movie mode which doesn't support changing aperture while recording.



Tariq Gibran
Registered: Oct 01, 2006
Total Posts: 10656
Country: United States

wayne seltzer wrote:
Tariq Gibran wrote:
carstenw wrote:
Yes, that is what I understood. I will have to try it out. I have updated it already, but haven't tried it yet.

The particular problem which I wanted solved was the problem of black live view when using studio lighting (flash) with the lens stopped down quite a bit (f/8) in M mode.


Exactly. It's amazing to me, given the pro target market, that this issue was there to begin with. Pretty much every studio/ commercial photographer that uses strobe had to really wonder what the hell Nikon was thinking.

what about Aperture priority mode?? I thought the workaround was to switch into M mode to be able to see and focus and then switch back to A mode and take the shot Canon LV works correctly for me and never had to worry about anything. Selecting between LV using the selected aperture for the shot or using the widest aperture to allow focus in low light and then stop down for the shot should be programmable
Fact they don't means they can't quickly change the aperture before recording the shot in LV becsuse they are maybe using some movie mode which doesn't support changing aperture while recording.


I don't know about Aperture mode since anytime I'm shooting with strobes - in the studio or on location- I'm using manual mode. Changing aperture and/or shutter speed for every shot just to preview the image with LV (often under pressure with a client there) is not something I'm willing to put up with on a 3K camera. On a job, there are enough things to think about and the last thing I want to deal with is correcting a flawed camera by being forced into using a work-a-round for every shot. It just adds an unnecessary variable/ layer to the complexity of a shoot - one more thing that can go wrong.



wayne seltzer
Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Total Posts: 4134
Country: United States

Yeah, sorry after I hit send I remembered with strobes I would be in m mode. The other problem is when I taking landscapes in low light like a forest or at dusk in A mode.



wayne seltzer
Registered: Dec 22, 2007
Total Posts: 4134
Country: United States

Then your M mode problem is fixed like Carsten mentioned:
With live view photography in [M] (Manual) exposure mode, exposure preview was always on.  This issue has been resolved.Read more on NikonRumors.com:  http://nikonrumors.com/2013/04/02/nikon-releases-new-firmware-upgrades-for-the-d600-and-d800-cameras.



1       2       3              127      
128
       129              192       193       end