Help With Pricing Ideas on Event Photography of Conferences.
/forum/topic/1145660/0

blutch
Total Posts: 848

I am a semi-professional photographer and relatively new to the field.

My main gig is to provide event photography for a major international musical organization at their annual International Conference. This conference usually last 4 days and is chalked full of events and concerts. It is a huge undertaking to document it all well photographically.

We typically publish 1 or 2 photos from each event online for anyone to see. This is good PR for the organization. We also print several images in their print journal as a part of the conference report.

The photography is getting to the point where we are often asked by artists to share high-res photos for their use and we have always complied and never charged for it.

I have several ideas on how we can commercialize these efforts and would like to get responses from the pros on here about how to price and whether it would be worth it to start charging for our work.

If this is possible, what I would want to sell is a CD or DVD of all the images from the entire event. These would be "medium res" images similar to those we publish for free on our web site. The difference would be there would be a lot more of them. How would you price this?

Then, we would like to sell prints and/or high res digital images of individual photos through Smugmug or Zenfolio or some similar service. Again, how would you price this?

Thank you for your feedback. I'm going to post this on the cafe as well.

B

alohadave
Total Posts: 843

How are you being paid now and who gets the pictures?

I can't imagine too many people buying a set of pictures from an event.

blutch
Total Posts: 848

I am salaried as webmaster and photographer by the org.

I agree that we won't get rich selling images from the events, but it might be enough to recoup some costs for photography gear.

b

sic0048
Total Posts: 247