I'm a newbie to FM. I'm selling nice equipment but I think people are afraid?
/forum/topic/1144993/0

billrudd
Total Posts: 5

I'm found out about FM to sell some of my equipment. I think people are afraid to buy from me since I don't have a history. I don't understand their apprehension but I need to get this equipment sold. Any suggestions? And any suggestions for me to protect myself from scammers. I've never bought or sold used equipment online. Thanks for any input.

anthonysemone
Total Posts: 4494

Bill,

welcome to FM Making this post is a good thing, and further that you've filled out your profile with information that allows a prospective buyer to know who you are, where you live, what your photographic interests are: all good things, as you can see here - http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1132043/0?keyword=new,member#10807257

Each one of us was a first-timer here and speaking at least for myself I can tell you what I value most of all in B&S transactions: Communication, Communication, Communication, and, if you've not got it yet, COMMUNICATION - PM's take 30" to signal your purchaser; and, if you fall down and break both legs while en route to FedEx, for goodness' sake, have someone in your family PM the purchaser to advise them of the delay.

Be accurate in your description of the items you want to sell and take pictures of them or post a link to a site where they can be seen. Establish a fair price.