What is the definition of a professional photographer
/forum/topic/1142127/0

2       end

Gary Harfield
Total Posts: 1880

The article is written by a professional fire photographer.
I did comment on the article but I'm hoping this guy can get some more feedback from other visitors.

http://firephotomagazine.com/2012/08/what-makes-a-fire-photographer-a-professional/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+FirePhotographerMagazine+%28Fire+Photographer+Magazine%29

He seems to think that you could be a professional photographer even if you are not making any money. Another words because you act professional you are professional.

My background is news photography and seven years in the fire service as well as wedding photography.

goosemang
Total Posts: 1677

is a fine art photographer a professional photographer if nobody buys their prints and they generate zero revenue?

Bernie
Total Posts: 4145

The dictionary definition doesn't even discuss running a business or living off the proceeds. It's a question of approach to the field and intent.

time2clmb
Total Posts: 351

I'm sure there are alot of people who will totally make up their own definition of what it means and add whatever suits them to this list....

Definition of PROFESSIONAL
1a : of, relating to, or characteristic of a profession b : engaged in one of the learned professions c (1) : characterized by or conforming to the technical or ethical standards of a profession (2) : exhibiting a courteous, conscientious, and generally businesslike manner in the workplace
2a : participating for gain or livelihood in an activity or field of endeavor often engaged in by amateurs <a professional golfer> b : having a particular profession as a permanent career <a professional soldier> c : engaged in by persons receiving financial return <professional football>
3: following a line of conduct as though it were a profession <a professional patriot>