Telephoto recomendations for a 20d
/forum/topic/1071319/0

2       end

Chainshot
Total Posts: 213

Looking for recommendations on a telephoto lens for a 20d. Thinking about shooting more wildlife and nature subjects. I'm just a hobbyist. I tried a 55-250 and wasn't too impressed. Could have been because I had it zoomed all the way to 250. Any pics that I took at 250 were just terrible though. I want something with IS/VC/OS. Canon, Tamron or Sigma. Seems like Canon is always a tad sharper from what I've looked at and read about though. I'm thinking something up to the 300mm range. The big dog 400+ lenses would be overkill for me. Unless, something like the Sigma 50-500 has good IQ ? The 70-200s are always for sale...haven't tried one...kinda' scares me to buy one for that reason. Maybe I'm dreaming and you need 300+ for detailed shots.

Thanks for the suggestions and real world experiences.

JimboCin
Total Posts: 1102

Any particular price range in mind?

There are a lot of possibilities.

My personal reco would be the Canon 400 f/5.6 if you want 400 mm or more (with a 1.4 teleconverter - but you loose AF), the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS Mk II with the 1.4 teleconverter if 200mm up to 280 mm is long enough for you.

---

The Canon 400 f/5.6 is very sharp, and is a favorite of birders and wildlife photographers. It does not have IS. (I don't own this lens).

The Canon 3.0 f/4.0 IS lens is very nice. It takes the 1.4 teleconverter quite well when needed. It was my favorite tele lens until I got the Canon 70-200 f/2.8 Mk II.

The new Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS Mk II is a phenomenal lens. Great performance, great IS.
With the 1.4 teleconverter it is 280mm, and is almost as sharp as my 300 f/4.0 IS lens. The IS on the 70-200 Mk II is a four-stop, and is really phenomenal - much better than the IS on the 300. The 70-200 is more versatile than the other lenses, but also more expensive.