Canon 5D Markii Issue...
/forum/topic/1069308/0

2       end

2DeAnn
Total Posts: 80

Looking for some help and advice on my new Canon Markii camera body. This is less than 2 months old and purchased new from reputable local camera store. Since purchase I have noticed the shutter sounds specially loud (compared to my 7D). Recently I have been attempting some lower light photography. I can't seem to get my shutter speed up. It doesn't increase, no matter how high I take my ISO settings. I have taken my ISO up to 2500, and even attached the 580 flash. Neither has helped with increasing the shutter. Still moves VERY slow. The lens I am using is the 24-105 canon lens. While I am very new to this camera, I know this isn't right.

I guess my question is...do you think there is a issue with this camera, and if so what? I'm looking for any advice prior to taking this into the camera store tomorrow.

Thanks in advance, for any advice.
Terrie

gtg844f
Total Posts: 165

You can't increase the shutter speed even in manual mode?
Doesn't 5D2 go up to 1/8000 sec?

artsupreme
Total Posts: 1689

It's probably your lens being too slow (f4). Put it in M mode and crank the shutter speed way up. Does it shoot at the shutter speed you select?

2DeAnn

That's it. I increase the shutter speed, or ISO and the shutter is still very slow! It never improves with the settings changing. I've tried all I could in changing my settings and it just doesn't improve. Still very slow movement of the shutter. Is the shutter suppose to be very loud? It's quite a bit louder, than my 7D's shutter.

artsupreme

If your shutter speed is not increasing as you increase it in M mode then yes something is wrong...is it stuck at a certain speed?

2DeAnn

It increases to view on the camera settings. But the camera is not responding as it should, when the settings are changed. I was afraid something was wrong, but I thought I'd rule out user error (me), before taking it in. I appreciate the help

artsupreme