How do I replicate Photoshop actions on a different image?
/forum/topic/1063723/0



rashley
Registered: Aug 02, 2006
Total Posts: 286
Country: United States

I need a matched set... I Photoshopped this image and like the results but I cannot replicate the process on another image. Is there a way to take a snapshot of the actions and plug them into a new image?



sbeme
Registered: Dec 23, 2003
Total Posts: 17382
Country: United States

Rita,
I love this!
I dont do enough PS to know the answer but I wonder if there is a way to copy from the History panel and then record.
I'll be waiting to see what the PS gurus say.
In the meantime, great shot and very creative, warm, beautiful processing with a wonderful style.
Scott



rashley
Registered: Aug 02, 2006
Total Posts: 286
Country: United States

Thanks, Scott. I am sure there is a way to do it, but I am so Photoshop naive, I'd need a step by step to get 'er done. The car is a 1937 Mercedes-Benz 540K Special Roadster. I took the shot with horrible lighting at the Portland Oregon Museum exhibit, "The Allure of the Automobile."



AuntiPode
Registered: Aug 05, 2008
Total Posts: 6778
Country: New Zealand

I uncertain whether I properly understand the question. I don't know a way to take a snapshot of actions. You can somewhere manually record what you did for the and then do it again while recording an action. Then you can apply that action as often as necessary. If there's another way, you may have more luck by asking on the post-processing forum.



rashley
Registered: Aug 02, 2006
Total Posts: 286
Country: United States

Auntipode... The issue is I don't have the steps. I want to discover if they are embedded somewhere in the image so I can replicate the process, step by step. There is a history function but... Thanks for the advice on the other forum.



oldrattler
Registered: Aug 04, 2009
Total Posts: 5145
Country: United States

Try post processing forum.. They have helped me a bunch.. Do not feel lonesome in not being able to duplicate, we have all (I have) done it..



Bob Jarman
Registered: Feb 04, 2007
Total Posts: 6309
Country: United States

I thought the History Log might work but that is only file level data...afraid you're at square one unless someone knows where an xmp file of parameters might be stored?

Love the image tho!

Bob
Later ... Any processing done in ACR can be saved in a settings file to be retrieved and applied to other images. This at least permits a common baseline.



cgardner
Registered: Nov 18, 2002
Total Posts: 9376
Country: United States

Photoshop has an actions recorder as part of the Actions dialog window interface which allows you to record actions as you perform then then play them back with a single mouse click. I used them for creating adjustment layers for tonal adjustment, skin smoothing, conversion to sRGB, etc. But you would have needed to record while you were doing the edit for the first time.

There is also the History Log and Snapshots in the History window. Set-up under Preferences > General See: http://help.adobe.com/en_US/Photoshop/11.0/WSfd1234e1c4b69f30ea53e41001031ab64-7497a.html#WSfd1234e1c4b69f30ea53e41001031ab64-7492a



AuntiPode
Registered: Aug 05, 2008
Total Posts: 6778
Country: New Zealand

Unfortunately, all of which can be of little value after-the-fact. Hindsight is far less powerful than foresight.



mrchile
Registered: Oct 28, 2009
Total Posts: 2442
Country: United States

Unless you saved the image with all of the layers on which you did each step of the process, I think the best you will be able to do is try to recreate what you did on another image and record that as an action.
I would do each step on a separate layer and do not flatten or merge any of the layers until after you stop recording the action.
With such extensive processing, you may find that some tweaking of the different layers may be necessary for different images.