Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2007 · Canon 5D and Zeiss lenses - What to look for?

boris ilky

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 5D and Zeiss lenses - What to look for?

I am interested in trying some of the old manual focus Contax Zeiss lenses on a Canon 5D.

Can you give me a basic advice of things to look for?

Whats "MM" and whats "G" type? Are there further types of Contax Zeiss mounts and which ones will work?

Thanks for helping a total newbie!

Jan 23, 2007 at 04:07 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 5D and Zeiss lenses - What to look for?

You should look for manual focus Contax/Yashica (C/Y) mount Carl Zeiss T* lenses. They're most often called Contax Carl Zeiss. The AE (autoexposure) and MM (multimode) designations are versions of this mount that will work on your 5D, with the appropriate adapter. On the right Contax body, the AE lens allows manual and aperture-priority exposure modes (e.g. RTS II), and the MM lens allows manual, aperture-priority and shutter-priority exposure modes (e.g. RTS III), with auto-aperture (i.e. the camera closes the aperture to the value that you set when you take the shot). On your 5D, the AE and MM will only operate with manual aperture, but the camera will provide aperture-priority exposure mode (i.e. you compose and focus with the aperture wide open and then stop-down using the aperture ring to take the photo; in Av mode, the 5D will set the correct shutter speed for the stopped-down aperture). See these pages by Bob Atkins and NK Guy for more info on using manual focus lenses on EOS cameras.