Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2011 · Softbox vs Umbrella for Outdoor Shots?

Stephen Elms
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Softbox vs Umbrella for Outdoor Shots?

I have been using umbrellas for most of my off camera flash stuff (I am fairly new to this). I am having huge issues using the umbrellas outdoors for obvious reasons (ie the slightest bit of wind makes them act as huge sails and they blow over constantly). I would assume that a softbox would be a better solution for these situations? The aerodynamics alone make it look as though they would be more stable, and even easier to handle for an assistant. Am I correct in this assumption?

I should say that I am trying to keep my gear as "portable" as possible...I understand I can get sandbags etc for the umbrella but that is a lot of extra weight to carry on engagement sessions etc which often take me off the beaten path...

Mar 01, 2011 at 09:32 PM
dpcassil
• • •
p.1 #2 · Softbox vs Umbrella for Outdoor Shots?

A soft box will help a little bit. most of the ones i have seen made for speed lights are really flimsy though. if you can find one that is well made and tight you will be much better off. I also made a white nylon showcap-ish think for my 32" umbrella (to make it act more like a soft box) I have not tried it in the wid but imagine it would help some with the wind. or consider something like this http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=umbrella+softbox+cover&hl=en&safe=active&prmd=ivns&biw=1600&bih=1038&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=7302272856343952727&sa=X&ei=hWltTbn2HoP98AbAkt2MDQ&ved=0CHgQ8wIwBg#

Mar 01, 2011 at 09:48 PM
24Peter
• • •
p.1 #3 · Softbox vs Umbrella for Outdoor Shots?