FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2011 · Off Camera Flash

saneproduction
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Off Camera Flash

Hi All,

I have been reading a lot about off camera flash at the strobist and other sites and I am thinking of getting started with flash photography. I tend to shoot available light or continuous light like kinos or tungsten for portrait shots. I am a professional video producer and have access to lots of lighting and grip for work stuff. Lighting for video is pretty tricky w/o taking a lot of time and manpower so the strobist small-fast-light approach appeals to me for my personal still work. Also super excited at having powerful battery powered daylight sources for cheap! HMI we use for video are outrageous!

What route would you suggest I go, TTL or manual? I am waffling between getting a strobist pro single light kit (lumopro 160 + 2 pocket wizards) as a base or going with a 580EX II and adding some wireless TTL units a bit later and seeing how the canon wireless works for me to start (I shoot 60D for my personal camera and 5Dii at work). In the second case I would probably go with the pocketwizard mini tt1 transmitter and flex tt5 receiver. I have some old flashes that I may use later as 2nd or 3rd heads.

I really don't want to buy anything that is junk, buy cheap, buy twice as far as I am concerned. My problem is my budget is a bit tight for this first purchase, so I am looking at $5-700 to start. I could probably scrounge up some stands, gels, modifiers etc, but the strobist kit seems well though out and has some decent stuff.

Anyway, maybe the TTL is a waste of time and I should just go manual... Not sure. I do a lot of lighting for video and everything is manual for us Manual Focus, manual Iris, and shutter and iso are fairly well fixed. Going back to stills is pretty liberating! I figure David Hobby is a big Nikon guy, so I am seeking a second opinion from Canon users.