Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

1       2       3              737      
       739              1049       1050       end

Leica M/X/T Picture Thread

Mitch Alland
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.738 #1 · p.738 #1 · Leica M/X/T Picture Thread

rscheffler wrote:
...Mitch the 21 Lux does require more focus precision for exact focus wide open, but it's going to be nowhere near the same as any longer lens. It's still fairly forgiving at most street-scene distances but depth of field will still be pretty shallow. I have no experience with the 21 Elmarit versions, but when I started off with the M9 and ZM21/2.8 found that f/2.8 was sometimes fairly limiting for indoor/night hand held scenes. While one can hand hold such a lens at fairly low shutter speeds, the problem is often subject movement and the extra couple stops from
...Show more

Looking at your pictures with the Summilux-21 in p.526 #1 it's interesting to see how one can avoid the "lens" look of a super-wide angle lens by closing up the back plane in the picture, as opposed having the perspective go off into infinity, as in the second picture in p.526 #3, which has that wide-angle look. People often feel that 21mm is too wide but, by closing off the back plane and occasionally not doing so, gives you a lot of flexibility. This also goes for the 28mm lenses. Along this line, the first picture below is shot with the Summicron-28, which, in my view, doesn't have a wide-angle feel to it, compared to the second picture shot with the Summilux-50.