Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2010 · iPad or air card?

Ralph Thompson
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · iPad or air card?

Here's the deal....I'm a Sports Photographer (mainly T&I). I grew my business as an action photographer and still do a a couple baseball tournaments a year. I use the tournaments (mainly state level and above) to recruit new T&I customers.

Here's my delemma.... I'm doing two tournaments this summer and would like to offer some products that need to be printed off-site (I don't want to bring a "poster" size printer to the field). I use Costco to print these large prints because they charge less than it costs me to print...and they are faster that me...

I've toyed with buying an iPad (not only for this but...) I was told it has a built-in air card that you can turn off & on via ATT (they are my current cell provider). Therefore, I could use this to upload to my print provider.

I also have laptops (PC based) which I'm using for my on-site printing (a couple dye sub printers) & editing. I could just pick up an aircard and use the pc....

My question are:
1. can you plug an external hard drive into a iPad?
2.Has anyone tried to upload photos from a iPad is it quick and "doable"?
3. For aircard users (ATT) how fast are the uploads (I realize that depends somewhat on the vendor on the recieving end)?
4. Can you turn an aircard off & on like an iPad (turn it on for a month and then turn it off etc...)
5. I don't currently use an iPhone, but can you use an iPhone as an aircard?

I know these are loaded questions but with the vast amount of experience of those in this forum, I feel I can get some feedback. I know I'm not the only one facing this decision.

Thanks,

Ralph