Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       end

Archive 2009 · UV filters, what do they do?

wordfool
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · UV filters, what do they do?

JohnJ80 wrote:
I've also heard that replacing the last lens in most lenses is not very expensive - like $75; I'd like to confirm this. J.

I have no direct experience, but I highly doubt you could get a front element replaced on a profession lens for $75. Heck, Canon charges a minimim of about $150 to even look at an L lens

More importantly IMO is the time needed to replace a front element. Drop your lens and send of to Canon/Nikon for new front element and you have no lens for a week.

May 20, 2009 at 01:57 PM
billsamuels
• • • •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · UV filters, what do they do?

I used to use only Hoya's until I got one B&W just to see what the fuss is about and they're worth every penny and then some. However, $300 for a UV, I don't know about that. I just bought several of the B&W UV MRC Pro w/ Nano's for about $50-$60 each, 77mm sizes.

The same filters in a circular polarizer with the nano are about $160. I got a few of those as well. B&H is having a - get 3 or more and get 10% off sale now.

I decided to cover all of my Canon L lenses and my new Zeiss with B&W UV filters and leave them on all the time, and get B&W circular polarizers for them as well, stacking the polarizer on the UV just to keep the dust off the lens once and for all.

By the way, I broke my rule and also got a Hoya Moose Circular Polarizer. Anyone use this before? Good, bad, indifferent?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/195614-REG/Hoya_B77CIRPLW_77mm_Moose_Warm_Circular.html

Dec 24, 2014 at 09:22 PM
dcains
• • • • •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · UV filters, what do they do?